Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Which (wired) headsets are compatible?

OP fallenguru

20th April 2011, 11:22 PM   |  #1  
fallenguru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
So I gather there's at least two different "standards" out there for headsets with 3.5 mm plugs, which all use 4 pins (3 rings + the tip of the plug), but with different pin outs - let's call them 'iPhone style' and 'Nokia style'.

Which one does the Legend use? Is there a list somewhere of headsets that are known to be working 100%?

TIA
28th April 2011, 07:06 AM   |  #2  
LeifAlbor's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Launceston
Thanks Meter: 6
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
From what I'm aware of I don't know of any third party wired headsets that allow the same full functionality of the HTC supplied ones.

I'm pretty sure all iPhone compatible headsets will work for audio / mic / call answer button, however I don't think volume control works (on headsets equipped with it).

Sent from my Legend using XDA App
5th May 2011, 02:41 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Löhne
Thanks Meter: 4
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
As I looked for a headset with a 90° plug, I found the Nokia HS-125 wired HS.
I ordered and found out - not working. I opened the little plasticcase and swapped
those two wires (Pin 3&4).

Now its working perfectly and its possible to play/pause and select the next track (double press). And call functions also work.
The Following User Says Thank You to sda2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th May 2011, 07:50 PM   |  #4  
Dr.Romca's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 209
 
768 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
What I did is that I bought the "cheap headset" and 3,5mm jack earphones from sonyericsson (I was able to buy those earphones without the SE adaptor...)

Now I have a great sound plus the ability to play/pause and it only cost me around 17 EUR (with shipping) try and search some local e-shops I'm sure you'll find something!
6th May 2011, 11:16 AM   |  #5  
bonesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cornwall, united kingdom
Thanks Meter: 301
 
2,103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
My Iphone headphones are fully functional as are my old hero ones
6th May 2011, 11:27 AM   |  #6  
fallenguru's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Thanks guys, looks like iPhone-compatible ones are worth a try.
6th May 2011, 05:23 PM   |  #7  
bonesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cornwall, united kingdom
Thanks Meter: 301
 
2,103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenguru

Thanks guys, looks like iPhone-compatible ones are worth a try.

Got mine from Gatwick airport and the clarity is awesome.Made for the iphone 4 but is pretty damn great on the legend
12th May 2011, 11:30 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Copenhagen
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
The Marshall Minor headset is also compatible (but no volume adjustment) - and both sound and build quality are tremendous. I'm a bit puzzled about the mic button functions though. Using my Legend's stock music player, all I can do is play/pause the music, pressing the Marshall's mic button once. If I press it twice, the phone starts calling the last-dialled number. If I press and hold the button, nothing happens. Using Poweramp, one press means play/pause, press and hold means skip forward. Double press does nothing but play-then-pause, i.e.no auto-dial function. Using Mortplayer beta, one press means play/pause, two means skip forward, three means skip backwards. No press-and-hold and no auto-dial. I'd like to have the Mortplayer functionality as well as the auto-dial function. Anyone knows a music app that does this, or another workaround?

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes