5,603,981 Members 45,498 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Which (wired) headsets are compatible?

Tip us?
 
fallenguru
Old
#1  
fallenguru's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 211
Join Date: Apr 2011
Question [Q] Which (wired) headsets are compatible?

So I gather there's at least two different "standards" out there for headsets with 3.5 mm plugs, which all use 4 pins (3 rings + the tip of the plug), but with different pin outs - let's call them 'iPhone style' and 'Nokia style'.

Which one does the Legend use? Is there a list somewhere of headsets that are known to be working 100%?

TIA
 
LeifAlbor
Old
#2  
LeifAlbor's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 25
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Launceston
From what I'm aware of I don't know of any third party wired headsets that allow the same full functionality of the HTC supplied ones.

I'm pretty sure all iPhone compatible headsets will work for audio / mic / call answer button, however I don't think volume control works (on headsets equipped with it).

Sent from my Legend using XDA App
 
sda2
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 74
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Löhne
As I looked for a headset with a 90° plug, I found the Nokia HS-125 wired HS.
I ordered and found out - not working. I opened the little plasticcase and swapped
those two wires (Pin 3&4).

Now its working perfectly and its possible to play/pause and select the next track (double press). And call functions also work.
My name is Robin and I have ORD
SDA II -> Qtek 9090 -> HTC S710 -> HTC TyTn II -> HTC Legend -> HTC HD2 -> HTC One S


HTC One S // AOKP Android 4.2.2
HBOOT: 2.15 // RADIO: 1.11es
Super-CIDed // S-OFFed
The Following User Says Thank You to sda2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dr.Romca
Old
#4  
Dr.Romca's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 209
Posts: 765
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Prague
What I did is that I bought the "cheap headset" and 3,5mm jack earphones from sonyericsson (I was able to buy those earphones without the SE adaptor...)

Now I have a great sound plus the ability to play/pause and it only cost me around 17 EUR (with shipping) try and search some local e-shops I'm sure you'll find something!
HTC One, ViperOne, Nokia X3-02.5 for work
Before: HTC One X, HTC Desire S (my wife's now...), HTC Legend, Asus P750, SE W800i, SE K700i, SE T610i, Panasonic GD67, Ericsson T10...
_________________________________
Click "THANKS" if your read anything helpfull, that's the least you can do
My BatteryMOD, BootAnim and Splash
 
bonesy
Old
#5  
bonesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 298
Posts: 2,089
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall, united kingdom

 
DONATE TO ME
My Iphone headphones are fully functional as are my old hero ones
Old devices: Touch HD > Magic X2 > Hero > Acer BeTouch E400 > Legend > Sensation > Desire > Nexus 7 > HTC One
I won't thank anyone who has "Press Thanks" in their sig.It's a choice to thank
 
fallenguru
Old
#6  
fallenguru's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 211
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks guys, looks like iPhone-compatible ones are worth a try.
 
bonesy
Old
#7  
bonesy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 298
Posts: 2,089
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cornwall, united kingdom

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenguru View Post
Thanks guys, looks like iPhone-compatible ones are worth a try.
Got mine from Gatwick airport and the clarity is awesome.Made for the iphone 4 but is pretty damn great on the legend
Old devices: Touch HD > Magic X2 > Hero > Acer BeTouch E400 > Legend > Sensation > Desire > Nexus 7 > HTC One
I won't thank anyone who has "Press Thanks" in their sig.It's a choice to thank
 
Sunebune
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Copenhagen
The Marshall Minor headset is also compatible (but no volume adjustment) - and both sound and build quality are tremendous. I'm a bit puzzled about the mic button functions though. Using my Legend's stock music player, all I can do is play/pause the music, pressing the Marshall's mic button once. If I press it twice, the phone starts calling the last-dialled number. If I press and hold the button, nothing happens. Using Poweramp, one press means play/pause, press and hold means skip forward. Double press does nothing but play-then-pause, i.e.no auto-dial function. Using Mortplayer beta, one press means play/pause, two means skip forward, three means skip backwards. No press-and-hold and no auto-dial. I'd like to have the Mortplayer functionality as well as the auto-dial function. Anyone knows a music app that does this, or another workaround?

Sent from my HTC Legend using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more

When Using GitHub, Don’t Skimp on Commit History

GitHub has become the epicenter of most open source development work that is posted … more

Verizon Droid DNA to Receive 4.4.2 KitKat + Sense 5.5 OTA This Thursday

The HTC Droid DNAis Verizon’s close cousin to the JapaneseHTC … more

Lucid Browser is Small, Lightweight, and Open Source

If there is one application category that certainly isn’t lacking in Android,and … more