Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more

Prepare Your Build Machines: Ubuntu 14.10 Utopic Unicorn Now Official

Today is an important day for any and all Linux enthusiasts. One of the … more
Post Reply

HTC Homeplug Weather fix - get your LOCAL weather! [New universal patch uploaded!]

OP N2A

24th July 2007, 05:19 PM   |  #11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
HTC Homeplug Weather
Ok, I have got the web site and not the error message.
So there is something wrong.
Thanks for your help.
24th July 2007, 05:25 PM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Befor I can try your nice work, I have a problem with the write protection of the hh_0407_weather... file. I dont get my own file in the folder. I tried some things but it didnt work.

Can you help me? I'm runing a B&B v3.7 Ger beta.

Thanks
Last edited by smallgermanboy; 24th July 2007 at 05:28 PM.
24th July 2007, 05:44 PM   |  #13  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdbtg

Ok, I have got the web site and not the error message.
So there is something wrong.
Thanks for your help.

Reload pocket hosts - it should look something like the attached thumbnail. If it does, try a soft reset. However, if it's still refusing point blank, it's highly possible you're going via a proxy, and that is handling the DNS lookups. To bypass that will require a hack to the HTC plugin itself. I can set it up server side for it (which was going to be my initial approach!), but it'll need an appropriate hostname hacking into the binary. I'll see what I can do on that score tomorrow, both on the home plugin front and the server-side setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smallgermanboy

Befor I can try your nice work, I have a problem with the write protection of the hh_0407_weather... file. I dont get my own file in the folder. I tried some things but it didnt work.

Can you help me? I'm runing a B&B v3.7 Ger beta.

Thanks

I suggest using Total Commander - you can remove the read-only flag from there, and even edit it inside it. Works beautifully.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pockethosts.jpg
Views:	875
Size:	13.4 KB
ID:	44945  
24th July 2007, 05:51 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
I use the Total Com, too. But when I open the file the Internet Explorer opens and displays the xml file. I tried to remove the flag but he didnt adopt it. So I looked at the attributes again and nothing has changed.
24th July 2007, 05:56 PM   |  #15  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallgermanboy

I use the Total Com, too. But when I open the file the Internet Explorer opens and displays the xml file. I tried to remove the flag but he didnt adopt it. So I looked at the attributes again nothing has changed.

I'm assuming that's after you've gone to the file properties. You should be able to unclick "Read-only" and "System" on it.

There's quite a bit of information on doing this scattered around the forums. Is it cooked into your ROM? (It'll have a tickbox by the "In ROM" box if that's the case.) But you want to clear the Read Only and System attributes from the file properties if you can, THEN edit it.

More information on this thread.
Last edited by N2A; 24th July 2007 at 06:23 PM.
24th July 2007, 06:12 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by N2A

I'm assuming that's after you've gone to the file properties. You should be able to unclick "Read-only" and "System" on it.

I did this but when I open the properties again the attributes for "Read-only" and "System" are still on.
Quote:

There's quite a bit of information on doing this scattered around the forums. Is it cooked into your ROM? (It'll have a tickbox by the "In ROM" box if that's the case.) But you want to clear the Read Only and System attributes from the file properties if you can, THEN edit it.

Its in the ROM.
24th July 2007, 06:14 PM   |  #17  
N2A's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Colne, United Kingdom
Thanks Meter: 4
 
513 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
There's your problem. I suggest copying it somewhere else on the device, editing it, and copying it back, but it may have issues doing it.

If you can't copy it back, apparently Resco Explorer is able to do it.
24th July 2007, 06:23 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
I used resco to do it. you have 14 days free trial so you can test it first.
http://www.resco.net/pocketpc/explorer/downloads.asp

And thanks N2A this is realy great. And works perfectly can find all the small places in Norway
24th July 2007, 06:39 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ialu

I used resco to do it. you have 14 days free trial so you can test it first.
http://www.resco.net/pocketpc/explorer/downloads.asp

And thanks N2A this is realy great. And works perfectly can find all the small places in Norway

Thanks for both
I copied it with the resco and now it works perfekt. I tried several small cities in Germany and he found all. THANKS again
24th July 2007, 06:49 PM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Thanks. works great. now i know it's going to rain all week here in abergavenny

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes