Post Reply

USB Host a 2TB Hard Drive (NTFS)

24th May 2011, 01:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Is this possible? I have been reading forums and only catch things here and there
about it but nothing confirming it. I have rooted my xoom and installed the
1.4ghz OC kernel. I have the OTG cable and when I connect it to my xoom with
my hard drive I don't see anything happen. I would appreciate if someone could
confirm if this works or not and point me in the right direction as to how to set it
up.

Thanks in advance
24th May 2011, 01:30 PM   |  #2  
RinTinTigger's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
610 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
i got my USB OTG usb stick working today, thx to @bigrushdog will try a 1tb hard disk toda.

meanwhile, read this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1093720

it should help to clear things up, as you are not the only one with the problem!
24th May 2011, 03:47 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I can`t mount NTFS on Tiamat 1.4.2
On 1.3.2 and 1.4.0 everything was ok
25th May 2011, 05:06 AM   |  #4  
cleblanc92's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjgosha

I can`t mount NTFS on Tiamat 1.4.2
On 1.3.2 and 1.4.0 everything was ok

With this my 1.4.2 worked great with a Seagate 1TB external on a USB powered hub:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...00&postcount=6

Hope the link helps ya out!
25th May 2011, 06:56 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Moscow
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Thanks for the reply

OK i mount 1 TB NTFS Hard Drive but I can`t mount my 64 GB FlashDrive
the output of /dev/block is nothing

On tiamat 1.3.2 Everything was great

Anybody please check your NTFS flash drive

Btrgs
25th May 2011, 09:14 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjgosha

Thanks for the reply

OK i mount 1 TB NTFS Hard Drive but I can`t mount my 64 GB FlashDrive
the output of /dev/block is nothing

On tiamat 1.3.2 Everything was great

Anybody please check your NTFS flash drive

Btrgs

Having exact same issue, can mount the powered drive via usb no problem, but usb sticks - no luck
4th June 2011, 09:25 PM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
im having no luck

tiamat 1.4.4
3.1

Running NTFS Mount, selecting sda1 to mount and it says:

Attempting to mount
Mount failed...


I am trying on a 2GB NTFS Formatted USB Stick.

I am only testing as I gave my 500gb NTFS External to a friend for the weekend and wasnt having any luck with that either although I havent tested it out with NTFS Mount.


Is there anything else I should be doing?
5th June 2011, 12:11 AM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Glendale, AZ
Thanks Meter: 18
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
In 1.4.4. I was able to mount my 160gb NTFS drive, however it would NOT stay mounted...

I've switched back to 1.4.3. Testing now and it seems to be fine...

After 10 minutes it also unmounted itself...This is an older drive, not sure if its going bad, but it wasnt doing this before 1.4.4

Edit: if I unplug and remount it remounts fine...weird!

Edit2: USB Sticks and memory cards work just fine
Last edited by mradlauer; 5th June 2011 at 12:21 AM.
6th June 2011, 03:30 AM   |  #9  
EwanG's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Antonio, TX
Thanks Meter: 31
 
260 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Donate to Me
More
Using the Motorola Camera Connection kit (their OTG cable):

No problem mounting a USB Stick at 16 GB formatted as FAT32 or EXT2

Recognizes the same stick and tried to mount if NTFS, but then "freaks" out (NTFS Mount can't actually mount it as NTFS, and File System gets confused) and is unable to read write.

Does not recognize either of my "self powered" USB external drives (1TB and 4TB) - no /dev/sda or /dev/sda1 appears in /dev/block unlike with the USB Stick.

This is with the Tiamat 3.1 and Kernel 1.4.4.
24th July 2011, 07:46 AM   |  #10  
silverfox356's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I heard 2TB harddrives work as well.

I don't have any proof though.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes