Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,563 Members 45,125 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[PATCH 3.1][27-06-11] 100% Working 3g huawei compatible USB dongle

Tip us?
 
Dexter_nlb
Old
(Last edited by Dexter_nlb; 25th November 2011 at 02:36 PM.)
#1  
Dexter_nlb's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4480
Posts: 5,336
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Lightbulb [PATCH 3.1][27-06-11] 100% Working 3g huawei compatible USB dongle

*I'm not updating it, but many users find this useful, so thread is kept as is for now*

Not sure if anyone got so far, to getting the honeycomb showing connection and selectable APN in settings?

anyways,
from my port of honeycomb to folio100, and now experiments with a500.. i got huawei dongle's running using the builtin functions.

you will need to have root'd your device. and this might break a system-update, if any of my files are updated during next OTA..

but back to the working 3G.

Working 3G USB dongles:
Do note, your modem version can be seen on its white label written with very small text.
some modems require zerocd (linuxtool) or commands executed in windows to disable the mass storage part of it. (search google for the commands)
  • * ZTE MF 639 (might need roaming enabled to get data working)
  • * Vodafone K3765-H
  • * Vodafone K3715
  • * Vodafone K3565 / Huawei E160
  • * Huawei E169
  • * Huawai E170
  • * Huawai E171
  • * Huawei E173
  • * Huawei E1550
  • * Huawei E1692
  • * Huawei E1750
  • * Huawei E1752
  • * Huawei E1820
  • * HUAWEI K3520
  • * HUAWEI K3565 -Rev 2

Download 3g-usb-stock1.zip for 3.0.1 stock release Acer_A500_1.141.01_EMEA_GEN3: (vermagic=2.6.36.3 SMP preempt mod_unload ARMv7)
Download 3g-acer31stock-usb.zip for 3.1 stock release Acer_A500_3.019.01_COM_GEN1 (vermagic=2.6.36.3-00005-g5dff38c SMP preempt mod_unload ARMv7)



HOWTO:
- first: Backup your /system/build.prop on the tablet , just copy the file to a safe place, as its important if you wish to do a online update later on.
- updated zip, so you can now install the zip as an "update" using ClockWorkMod/CWM if you got this installed.
- download the "system.zip" attached to this post.
- unpack all files to a temporary folder ie. C:\myfiles
- assuming you got adb running
* push files to your tablet with;
  • adb shell mkdir /data/local/temp
  • adb push C:\myfiles\system /data/local/temp/
* next run
  • adb shell
* then run all commands below in the shell
  • su -
  • mount -orw,remount /system (i forgot this line, ITS IMPORTANT)
  • cp -a /data/local/temp/* /system/
  • chmod 4755 /system/bin/pppd
  • chmod 4755 /system/bin/rild
  • chmod 755 /system/bin/rild.run
  • chmod -R 755 /system/etc/ppp

If you done these steps correctly, and you reboot.
you will now have a working 3G option in Settings -> wireless networks
so you can configure your APN now and connect to your 3G network.
and you got it all automated with honeycomb 3g! no terminal needed to start 3G!

HINTS
- Other reports are to remember to "Disable PIN" on the card.. I have no personal experience on this part, but check up on it, if its not working perfectly, or no data, but network is ok.

- I got reports back about enabling roaming to make it work, and also remember the story from Folio100 with 3G dongles..
so if you cannot get data connection at all, try to enable roaming and see if APN does not appear which matches your isp. maybe read you ISP website to confirm it.

- If you happen to remove the dongle, there is a solution (using as example gscript) to restart the ril daemon.
in a shell you can restart the ril-daemon if you reinsert the 3g usb dongle.
do it like this in the shell:
su -
stop ril-daemon
start ril-daemon


HOWTO FOR RESET'ing ,massstorage on Huawei modems.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tasmak View Post
Insert modem into pc and wait for driver to install
check in device manager which com port is assignated to your modem
download putty
here the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/latest/x86/putty.exe
close every program related to modem
run putty
click serial below port number and then change port number to one previously founded
click open
write atz and press enter, modem should answer ok
write ati and press enter, modem should give name, type, etc
write AT^U2DIAG=0 and press enter, zero cd is now disabled

You need also put sim card from modem to any phone and disable pin checking.



Remember to press "thanks" if you find it useful
Remember to press THANKS, if you liked my help or builds.
Hardware: Galaxy Note II * LG Optimus 4X * Elocity A7 * HTC Flyer/Wifi * ASUS TF201/Prime
LG Optimus 4X HD - 4X ClockWorkMod - O4X CustoNexus - O4X Sense4
HTC Flyer - ICSSense OneXXL -Flyer JellyBean * Tattoo - TatFroyoSense * Elocity A7 - ElocityMod
The Following 60 Users Say Thank You to Dexter_nlb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thor2002ro
Old
#2  
thor2002ro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 517
Posts: 716
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1

 
DONATE TO ME
you forgot to say to remount the system to rw....
copy/paste or git merging is not development...

++++++++++++
Samsung Galaxy Note
FW: Tegraowners JB ROM v3
Kernel: thor-kernel-0.20-2
Recovery: thor touch recovery galaxy note 1.9

Acer ICONIA A500 TAB WIFI Only
FW: Tegraowners JB ROM v12@k3.6-thor-kernel_v5.2
Recovery: 1.7.3
++++++++++++
Twitter

If I did something you liked HIT THANKS (: and Donate for BEER FUND
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to thor2002ro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dexter_nlb
Old
#3  
Dexter_nlb's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4480
Posts: 5,336
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor2002ro View Post
you forgot to say to remount the system to rw....
i believe that line is even highlighted and commented as forgotten previously, so its there for sure..

you cannot miss it

or do you mean some other /system mount?
Remember to press THANKS, if you liked my help or builds.
Hardware: Galaxy Note II * LG Optimus 4X * Elocity A7 * HTC Flyer/Wifi * ASUS TF201/Prime
LG Optimus 4X HD - 4X ClockWorkMod - O4X CustoNexus - O4X Sense4
HTC Flyer - ICSSense OneXXL -Flyer JellyBean * Tattoo - TatFroyoSense * Elocity A7 - ElocityMod
The Following User Says Thank You to Dexter_nlb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JackMetal
Old
#4  
JackMetal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2008
Looking forward to testing this. Mine is a Verizon Novatel Wireless, do you think this will work with it?
 
Dexter_nlb
Old
#5  
Dexter_nlb's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4480
Posts: 5,336
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackMetal View Post
Looking forward to testing this. Mine is a Verizon Novatel Wireless, do you think this will work with it?
it would probably work, if you got the huawei dongles..

the major is if you need different kernel modules.. those are in the other thread if needed, i included those without -gxXXXX version info.. as thats the ones for the latest EU model update and works here.
Remember to press THANKS, if you liked my help or builds.
Hardware: Galaxy Note II * LG Optimus 4X * Elocity A7 * HTC Flyer/Wifi * ASUS TF201/Prime
LG Optimus 4X HD - 4X ClockWorkMod - O4X CustoNexus - O4X Sense4
HTC Flyer - ICSSense OneXXL -Flyer JellyBean * Tattoo - TatFroyoSense * Elocity A7 - ElocityMod
The Following User Says Thank You to Dexter_nlb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
manfly9884
Old
#6  
manfly9884's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 749
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Miami
Thanks Dexter. One question. Can these files be pushed using terminal emulator instead?

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
OPPO Find 5
ROM: Asylum

Nexus 4
ROM: ParanoidAndroid

http://twitter.com/ChrisGaldames[/url]

Android: Setting you free.
 
Dexter_nlb
Old
#7  
Dexter_nlb's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4480
Posts: 5,336
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes,
this can of course be done in a terminal, if needed.
just forget the part with "adb",
but all the commands should be executed, and the files copied to a sdcard temporily and copy from that location to the /system
Remember to press THANKS, if you liked my help or builds.
Hardware: Galaxy Note II * LG Optimus 4X * Elocity A7 * HTC Flyer/Wifi * ASUS TF201/Prime
LG Optimus 4X HD - 4X ClockWorkMod - O4X CustoNexus - O4X Sense4
HTC Flyer - ICSSense OneXXL -Flyer JellyBean * Tattoo - TatFroyoSense * Elocity A7 - ElocityMod
The Following User Says Thank You to Dexter_nlb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
manfly9884
Old
#8  
manfly9884's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 749
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Miami
Dexter thanks. What Huawei modem do you recommend?

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
OPPO Find 5
ROM: Asylum

Nexus 4
ROM: ParanoidAndroid

http://twitter.com/ChrisGaldames[/url]

Android: Setting you free.
 
Dexter_nlb
Old
#9  
Dexter_nlb's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4480
Posts: 5,336
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by manfly9884 View Post
Dexter thanks. What Huawei modem do you recommend?
i use a E1752 model myself, which i have disabled storage on, before using it on my tablets...
Remember to press THANKS, if you liked my help or builds.
Hardware: Galaxy Note II * LG Optimus 4X * Elocity A7 * HTC Flyer/Wifi * ASUS TF201/Prime
LG Optimus 4X HD - 4X ClockWorkMod - O4X CustoNexus - O4X Sense4
HTC Flyer - ICSSense OneXXL -Flyer JellyBean * Tattoo - TatFroyoSense * Elocity A7 - ElocityMod
The Following User Says Thank You to Dexter_nlb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
manfly9884
Old
#10  
manfly9884's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 749
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Miami
Thanks

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
OPPO Find 5
ROM: Asylum

Nexus 4
ROM: ParanoidAndroid

http://twitter.com/ChrisGaldames[/url]

Android: Setting you free.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes