ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Wifi transfers

OP adamsjw2

6th June 2011, 06:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Hi all,
Has anyone had luck with the lan connection in File Manager HD, from your Xoom to your PC? I have a shared folder on my PC from which I would like to transfer some pictures to my Xoom. I"m missing something as the connection fails. The permissions on the PC are right, I believe. Do I need to enable an FTP or smb server on my win 7 laptop? I need the abillity for wifi transfers to and from my zoom so any other app recommendations are appreciated.
TIA,
Jim


Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
Last edited by adamsjw2; 6th June 2011 at 06:49 PM.
6th June 2011, 07:52 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by adamsjw2

Hi all,
Has anyone had luck with the lan connection in File Manager HD, from your Xoom to your PC? I have a shared folder on my PC from which I would like to transfer some pictures to my Xoom. I"m missing something as the connection fails. The permissions on the PC are right, I believe. Do I need to enable an FTP or smb server on my win 7 laptop? I need the abillity for wifi transfers to and from my zoom so any other app recommendations are appreciated.
TIA,
Jim


Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

I don't have problems with SMB transfer from both File Manager HD nor ES File Explorer... usually, the key is the login credentials... you'll probably have to check the settings in your Desk pc (maybe firewall too)... as long they're correct and you're in the same LAN, it should not be a problem
(it could be much faster, but at least it works...)
7th June 2011, 12:06 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Now I'm using File Expert on my Zoom and an FTP client on my Win7 machine. I'm still trying to get FM HD to work. I've tried every networking trick I know and that is quite. A few.
I'll post back here as soon as I do.
Jim

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
7th June 2011, 07:24 AM   |  #4  
markread644's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
I am using ES File Manager and the obvious needed checking, IP Address (check), LOGON credentials (I forgot I had to log on to the PC so Username and Password)(check). I have my D:\ shared in Windows so maybe that is the missing link ?
7th June 2011, 06:33 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I get a connection and all the folders that show up are empty. The folder names, however, are correct.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
8th June 2011, 02:00 AM   |  #6  
timrock's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 176
 
1,290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by senaca

I get a connection and all the folders that show up are empty. The folder names, however, are correct.

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk

This means that you have to edit the connection and put in your log in information

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to timrock For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th June 2011, 06:58 AM   |  #7  
johnny0911's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 14
 
273 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
why dont you give this a try, it works great on the xoom.

Check out app "Soft Data Cable" @ http://market.android.com/details?id....softdatacable


Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
13th June 2011, 12:16 AM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
598 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
I use ESFile server all the time and it works great.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes