Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Hulu Plus for Android APK

OP ernie one

23rd June 2011, 06:36 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 2
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
I installed it on my Nexus One and then grabbed the APK with Titanium Backup. I can install it on my Xoom and run it, but it won't let me login, etc. because the device isn't supported. I thought I'd post it in case any of you know how to tinker with it to remove the device compatibility check.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ernie one For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2011, 08:06 AM   |  #2  
double1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
394 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
They got hulu working in browser, Hope they can get this app working.
23rd June 2011, 08:25 AM   |  #3  
luis86dr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jersey
Thanks Meter: 1,591
 
2,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
You would think netflix and hulu would have released a app for tablets by now. It would benefit on both partys as far as sales so why they havent yet is beyond me.... -_-

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App
23rd June 2011, 04:00 PM   |  #4  
ZanshinG1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 75
 
327 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luis86dr

You would think netflix and hulu would have released a app for tablets by now. It would benefit on both partys as far as sales so why they havent yet is beyond me.... -_-

Sent from my HTC Vision using XDA App

At a guess, because they're having to work with multiple vendors for hardware DRM because that's what the media holders require.

That, and JNI/C++/Android NDK developers with enough experience to do the necessary coding are extremely hard to find. We may be having to wait while each vendor ramps one of their developers up on the necessary technologies.
23rd June 2011, 05:53 PM   |  #5  
qubz's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag A parallel dimension
Thanks Meter: 70
 
581 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
http://channelandroid.com/2011/06/23...root/#comments
24th June 2011, 02:12 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 61
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qubit76

http://channelandroid.com/2011/06/23...root/#comments

Anyone actually get it going with the build.prop edit? I had no luck.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App
24th June 2011, 07:18 AM   |  #7  
diaa08's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 14
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Dizzle

Anyone actually get it going with the build.prop edit? I had no luck.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App

nope did not work on either Xoom or CM7 Vibrant
24th June 2011, 08:46 PM   |  #8  
Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 5
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Thank you!! Thank you for this file. It works on my Incredible
24th June 2011, 10:25 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
What was your problem, did anything error out? I'm the one who wrote the article.

I used sed to make it easier (cut and paste) I could tell you a more manual way of doing it.
25th June 2011, 01:37 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Ft. Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 61
 
339 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonerz

What was your problem, did anything error out? I'm the one who wrote the article.

I used sed to make it easier (cut and paste) I could tell you a more manual way of doing it.

I got a device not supported error on the Xoom after applying the build.prop edits. I think there may be more we should be editing for this device.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes