XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more
Post Reply

Debian on the X10

14th June 2011, 11:29 AM   |  #121  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 318
 
680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by speculatrix

thanks, I will take a look.

I have tried other people's scripts, and modified them to add additional debugging, and no joy.

For the moment I simply created a minimal image in a tar ball and copied it over to /data/local/linux and chroot'd into that, and it works.

that's the actually concept buddy the difference is that we try to keep a .img file which is nothing but a ext2 partition on file and use loopmounting for it to be available @ /data/local/linux or what ever name you may have.

the only difference i have is i did some simple optimization on code and segregated code in 3 files start stop and cmd so as to allow person to independently work on chroot image without caring about autoclosing of terminal window.
23rd June 2011, 02:04 AM   |  #122  
Member
Flag Umeň
Thanks Meter: 2
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
If I want to use Mageia in my X10i, what do I do?

I've got the all.img ready for mageia from ftp://mirrors.kernel.org/mageia/dist...nstall/images/

My phone IS rooted.
23rd June 2011, 05:07 AM   |  #123  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 318
 
680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umeaboy

If I want to use Mageia in my X10i, what do I do?

I've got the all.img ready for mageia from ftp://mirrors.kernel.org/mageia/dist...nstall/images/

My phone IS rooted.

if what you refer to are actually partition images in ext2 file format all you need is to replace the img file from any of my script set with current file and all will be done.
23rd June 2011, 07:05 AM   |  #124  
Member
Flag Umeň
Thanks Meter: 2
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
OK. People in #mageia told me that there's no way that it could work, but I'll try. Any video yet that proves it working?

Sent from my X10i using XDA App
23rd June 2011, 11:55 AM   |  #125  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 318
 
680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umeaboy

OK. People in #mageia told me that there's no way that it could work, but I'll try. Any video yet that proves it working?

Sent from my X10i using XDA App

hold on buddy.

there are very few people here who are interested in pulling Linux on Xperia so progress will be slow, besides we all have our daily job+life too.

also this is the first time i heard about mageia,

I don't think anyone has worked towards rpm based distro's....
If i get time over this weekend i might give it a try.

however just look at my ubuntu + backtrack threads they all describe how i will be working towards its (there is no vodoo magic in here. all is already open.)
23rd June 2011, 12:22 PM   |  #126  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Noida
Thanks Meter: 38,474
 
13,071 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by anantshri

hold on buddy.

there are very few people here who are interested in pulling Linux on Xperia so progress will be slow, besides we all have our daily job+life too.

also this is the first time i heard about mageia,

I don't think anyone has worked towards rpm based distro's....
If i get time over this weekend i might give it a try.

however just look at my ubuntu + backtrack threads they all describe how i will be working towards its (there is no vodoo magic in here. all is already open.)

wow! redhat based distro would be nice... may be not that useful... may be as proof-of-concept?
23rd June 2011, 07:02 PM   |  #127  
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore
Thanks Meter: 318
 
680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD

wow! redhat based distro would be nice... may be not that useful... may be as proof-of-concept?

thinking in the same line buddy.

package availability and all issues will be there....

however will definetely give it a try to create an image of that one... lets see when can i spare some time for it.

been busy like hell at the new job.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, debian, linux installer, x10
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes