5,606,588 Members 34,982 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Vtap - Video Player

Tip us?
 
angelome
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 27
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New York
Default Vtap - Video Player

Has anyone had any experience using this Video Player ?
Cingular/ATT 8525
Cingular Network
VP3G WM6 v3.62.0
ROM date: 10/03/07
Radio version: 1.54.07.00
SPL-2.10Oli
IPL: 1.04
 
rickrugz
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hartford
Thumbs up VTAP is by far the best free option

Originally Posted by Technology
Go to http://www.vtap.com via your mobile web browser and download the YouTube setup for smartphones or pocketPC devices, works on wm5 and wm6 mobile devices and also works on just about all name brand mobile devices, even works on the iphone. You can set Vtap on your homepage as a plugin. Just type in the search bar the subject of the videos you want to watch, and play the videos, fast and easy. Here is a YouTube video clip of how things work http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWm5YkNsB6A, with Video Inc. you will have more than a million videos for your choice and taste. A strong and simple solution................!(Lol)
 
mcorrie1121
Old
(Last edited by mcorrie1121; 19th September 2007 at 07:36 PM.)
#3  
mcorrie1121's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 646
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickrugz View Post
Originally Posted by Technology
Go to http://www.vtap.com via your mobile web browser and download the YouTube setup for smartphones or pocketPC devices, works on wm5 and wm6 mobile devices and also works on just about all name brand mobile devices, even works on the iphone. You can set Vtap on your homepage as a plugin. Just type in the search bar the subject of the videos you want to watch, and play the videos, fast and easy. Here is a YouTube video clip of how things work http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWm5YkNsB6A, with Video Inc. you will have more than a million videos for your choice and taste. A strong and simple solution................!(Lol)
Haha hm...sounds like a neutral party post ...

EDIT: Seems to work real good. Easy to find videos and such. Plus wikipedia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyprior View Post
Really a educative and informative post, the post is good in all regards,I am glad to read this post.
 
blazemanner
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jun 2007
Just downloaded.

This is by far the best web video solution out.

it searches all kinds of sites not just youtube

my only gripe is it fullscreens upside down on hermes.
Tennessee, USA
Cingular
 
mattbratt
Old
#5  
mattbratt's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 38
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Space Coast, FL
I like it! Thanks.

Videos work great, and the Wikipedia is real nice.


CURRENT: Motorola ATRIX - ROM: 1.83 - Rooted - 8GB MicroSD Class 6
RETIRED: AT&T Tilt 2 - STOLEN: AT&T Fuze - SOLD: AT&T 8525
My Motorola Brick Phone can crush your iPhone!

 
Lavachild
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 105
Join Date: Sep 2007
any idea why vtap puts two shortcuts in my programs list...vtap & vtap(1)?
 
nhopper
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lavachild View Post
any idea why vtap puts two shortcuts in my programs list...vtap & vtap(1)?

Was wondering that myself. A bit silly. I just went into the Start Menu folder and deleted one of them. I think the smaller of the two. Still works fine.
 
aalvino
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Sep 2007
I work for Veveo Inc. who provide the vTap service.

1. We are looking into the issue with the 2 icons in the programs folder. In the mean time, if you want to remove the vtap(1) icon, I have posted a process to remove it at this link: http://www.vtap.com/faq.html#rq11 .

2. We are looking into the upside down video on the Hermes phone. This has been seen now on a couple of HTC phones. I will post back when we have a solution for that problem.
 
bankir
Old
(Last edited by bankir; 29th September 2007 at 09:08 AM.) Reason: add location
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 109
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore
Hi,

I have an issue with Vtap, it won't connect to the server, why??

It says "Server is temporary unavailable, please click 'retry' to try again.

It keeps saying that over and over again when I'm at home using WiFi. Interestingly, when I go to a hotspot location, it would work.

I have tried to reconfigure my router to put my phone in the DMZ to open all ports but it still won't work?

What is going on?

Btw, I'm living in Singapore, if it matters.
Dopod 818Pro @ 273Mhz > PDAViet 4.0.0.0.4 >4.0.0.0.6 Touch > 1d SPEEDKING-LITE M2D
Radio ROM: 02.19.21
 
Vision77
Old
#10  
Vision77's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 238
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago/Minneapolis
I really like vtap. I think its an awesome app and it pretty easy to use. Of course with T-mo US only being able to offer edge it kind of kills the overall experience for me. But I tried this with a WiFi connection and it works perfect with a high speed data connection.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Speed up the ROM or Kernel Build Process

Creating a kernel, ROM, or any other development projectrequires knowledge and tools. While … more

Google Glass Now Open to Anyone… with $1500 to Spend (Update: Not Anymore)

Google Glass, which recently received its official update … more

Android 4.4.2 OTA Now Available for the Verizon Droid DNA

A couple of days ago, we talked about how the Android 4.4.2 upgrade for the HTC … more