Post Reply

Boot UrukDroid from openAOS BootMenu

30th June 2011, 07:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Some PPL on the development forums were asking how to boot $auron's UrukDroid out of bubu's openAOS Boot Menu. Since i can't post there yet, i'll post here.

I looked at bubu's initramfs/init script and it should be fairly easy to boot any partition as well as any rootfs.img.
the menu.lst syntax is:
Code:
{NAME(has to be unique)}|{DEVICE(leave blank for img)}|{IMG}|{INIT}
A special thing is putting 'ARCHOS' into {DEVICE}, because that will boot from ARCHOS' stock SQUASHFS file
so adding this line to menu.txt should let you boot UrukDroid from sdcard
Code:
UrukDoid|/dev/mmcblk2p2||/sbin/init
I have to add, i havn't tried it myself yet, because i haven't put bubu's loader on my A70IT yet.
I would really appreciate you letting me know if it works!

Greetings Oro
The Following User Says Thank You to Orochimarufan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2011, 07:23 PM   |  #2  
Lenn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 173
 
1,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orochimarufan

Some PPL on the development forums were asking how to boot $auron's UrukDroid out of bubu's openAOS Boot Menu. Since i can't post there yet, i'll post here.

I looked at bubu's initramfs/init script and it should be fairly easy to boot any partition as well as any rootfs.img.
the menu.lst syntax is:

Code:
{NAME(has to be unique)}|{DEVICE(leave blank for img)}|{IMG}|{INIT}
A special thing is putting 'ARCHOS' into {DEVICE}, because that will boot from ARCHOS' stock SQUASHFS file
so adding this line to menu.txt should let you boot UrukDroid from sdcard
Code:
UrukDoid|/dev/mmcblk2p2||/sbin/init
I have to add, i havn't tried it myself yet, because i haven't put bubu's loader on my A70IT yet.
I would really appreciate you letting me know if it works!

Greetings Oro

First:
Thanks for your work
Would this also work, with on internal installed urukdroid?
30th June 2011, 07:34 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
You would have to get the device name of your root partition
since mine is a sdcard install i can only provide that information.
but if you can boot into uruk right now you can do the following to get the device node:
Open any terminal emulator and type:
Code:
cat /etc/mtab
then search for
Code:
<device> / <fstype> rw,noatime,barrier=1,nodealloc,....
in my case that is:
Code:
/dev/mmcblk2p2 / ext4 ....
take the first one (<device>) and put it into the menu.lst line:
Code:
UrukDroid|<device>||/sbin/init
still i haven't tested any of this. it's just the result of my looking at the bootloader's init script

Greetings oro
30th June 2011, 07:44 PM   |  #4  
Lenn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 173
 
1,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orochimarufan

but if you can boot into uruk right now you can do the following to get the device node

I cant i installed the openaos boot menu, so urukdroid is gone...
I really want to have uruk again, i hate the stock firmware

I know these steps, but is there no way to compile a *.img from uruk?...
i compiled one but these dont worked...
30th June 2011, 07:50 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
first of all IMO putting Uruk into an image file would be stupid,
second you'd have to either find a way to run the installer on your computer, or ask $auron what exactly it does and put a working rootfs togehter manually or dump an existing thing
your best bet would be to boot openAOS and dd Uruk's Root Partition into some img file. But since you don't know which yout Uruk Root is and i don't either, only thing left would be to ask $auron where he installs it. and if you know that, you can use my method just as well

greetings
30th June 2011, 07:54 PM   |  #6  
Lenn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 173
 
1,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orochimarufan

Only thing left would be to ask $auron where he installs it. and if you know that, you can use my method just as well.

Okey, i`ll do
Then i have to install urukdroid and after that install the openaos boot menu?
30th June 2011, 07:58 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Nope
if you've got the device node of yout Uruk root you should be able to put it into that menu.lst lint i showed you where <device> is.

Just to mention it, I don't know if $auron provides a working live-initramfs, but if he does you should be able to simply flash that through the sde recovery menu.
by live-initramfs i mean one, that doesn't launch EasyInstall but run UrukDroid directly.

greetings
30th June 2011, 08:02 PM   |  #8  
Lenn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 173
 
1,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orochimarufan

Nope
if you've got the device node of yout Uruk root you should be able to put it into that menu.lst lint i showed you where <device> is.

Yeah, i understand that.. but how do i install uruk?...
sorry i dont understand
Quote:

Just to mention it, I don't know if $auron provides a working live-initramfs, but if he does you should be able to simply flash that through the sde recovery menu.
by live-initramfs i mean one, that doesn't launch EasyInstall but run UrukDroid directly.

greetings

i aksed sauron per pm
30th June 2011, 08:07 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Hmm.. how do i explain.

It's like this:
the device node is like a link to the partition.
If you put Uruk on a Partition, you have to tell the bootloader which partition is the right one, the one with Uruk on it.
The bootloader then searches for an init-file there and executes it

so bubu's menu is the bootloader in this case, so you tell him where he has to search for Uruk by putting the right device node into the menu.lst.

hope you understand it a little better now

greetings
30th June 2011, 08:11 PM   |  #10  
Lenn's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lippstadt
Thanks Meter: 173
 
1,132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orochimarufan

Hmm.. how do i explain.

It's like this:
the device node is like a link to the partition.
If you put Uruk on a Partition, you have to tell the bootloader which partition is the right one, the one with Uruk on it.
The bootloader then searches for an init-file there and executes it

Yes, so first i have to install Urukdroid, because if i dont, bootloader doesnt find anything or not?
Quote:

so bubu's menu is the bootloader in this case, so you tell him where he has to search for Uruk by putting the right device node into the menu.lst.

hope you understand it a little better now

Yep, thanks
Im still a bit new in booting

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
boot, bubu, openaos, urukdroid
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes