Post Reply

20 -02-2011 flashing recovery for the ones who updated to the latest build 18 febuary

OP MCLP

2nd June 2011, 07:21 PM   |  #41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otacon_ahs

Yes, i did. Is there any other way to root it?

Maybe using AndRoot; I did not used it but you can give it a try.
2nd June 2011, 08:33 PM   |  #42  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Smile your tablet should display superuser reuqest window
Sader0:
Thanks for your response.but after I type "su" on my PC in CMD window, there has nothing displayed on my tablet.
can you offer some more guidence?
Thanks


Originally Posted by MCLP View Post

before fanything you will need to enable the tegra drives do the following so your folio is recognised as and adb interface:
you dont need this if your folio is allredy recognised has a adb interface in device manager.

1) Install the Adb driver.
For driver :
- Download the android SDK
- Edit "<your-android-sdk-folder>/usb_driver/android_winusb.inf"
- Add the following after [Google.NTx86] (or [Google.NTamd64] if 64 bits windows)
Code:

;NVIDIA Tegra
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0955&PID_7000
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0955&PID_7100&MI_01

2 now for the flashing
make sure you have the following

adb on your computer
recovery image(recovery.img found inside update.zip from folio mod
folio must be rooted(use superoneclick1.6.5 or over)
and last the app (root explorer)


lets start

step 1. instal root explorer on your folio
step 2. copy the recovery image from foliomod in your computer to a memory card
step 3.with your memory card inserted in your folio using root explorer copy the recovery.img to this directory like this /data/recovery.img note:if found another data folder inside past the recovery.img there aswell
step4. exit root explorer now in your computer type this in comand prom (cmd)

"adb shell" without quotes it should say demon started sucessefuly.and a $ sign should be there

now type this "cat /data/recovery.img >/dev/block/mmcblk0p7" without quotes
if nothing happens it means it worket

now for the flashing do not factorise do it after instaling the mod your trying to install.

alternative way:If you get the permission denied error, type in: "su -" and on your tablet superuser should come up with a permission request. Allow this and you are really "root" as the # shows in the shell window.

note:if you found this guide usefull dont forget to press the thanks button

Last week I update my Folio 100 to laster stock rom,
Now my firmware informatiom:
Android Version: 2.2
Kernel Version: 2..32.9 android@it#1
Build Number:a..0131

I am going to install custom rom, but I can,t
I follow your instrction but stop at permission denied error, then I don't know what I can do now.
I don't understand what the means below:
(alternative way:If you get the permission denied error, type in: "su -" and on your tablet superuser should come up with a permission request. Allow this and you are really "root" as the # shows in the shell window.)


Can you help me!
3rd June 2011, 08:35 AM   |  #43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Maybe you can try via fastboot mode:

1. power on your folio
2. wait until the toshiba logo come out
3. then press three times the power on button and then volume up (+)
4. your folio will show a message saying is in fastboot mode
5. your pc should ask you for drivers
6. go to android-sdk folder an then in tools folder
7. from a command window type: "fastboot devices"
8. if you see something like "???????" displayed you're ready to flash
9. then issue: "fastboot erase recovery" and "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"
10. DONE! type "fastboot reboot" and enjoy.

There are a lot of problems doing this procedure under windows (driver issues).
If it doesn't work for you, try to switch to mac or to linux (also a live cd is good).
You can get fastboot commands from this post.
Download the fastboot command for your os and try.
For those os no drivers are needed to use fastboot and it always works fine.

Good luck
Last edited by roglio; 3rd June 2011 at 08:36 AM. Reason: mistyping
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to roglio For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd June 2011, 08:54 AM   |  #44  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
next step
after # shows in the shell window, what is the next step? type this "cat /data/recovery.img >/dev/block/mmcblk0p7" , or?
I'm a beginner, maybe I ask some stupit questions
Thanks
3rd June 2011, 09:04 AM   |  #45  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
it depends: if your recovery.img is already in /data/ the answer is yes.

keep in mind that the cat command doesn't show anything if it works correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by merwyn2011

after # shows in the shell window, what is the next step? type this "cat /data/recovery.img >/dev/block/mmcblk0p7" , or?
I'm a beginner, maybe I ask some stupit questions
Thanks

The Following User Says Thank You to roglio For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th June 2011, 12:06 AM   |  #46  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
It fails when i get to this now type this "cat /data/recovery.img >/dev/block/mmcblk0p7"

even with the su - , it says no such file or directory

any help?

edit: yes, the file is in a folder named android/data and I also created on outside the android folder to test but it doesn't work..
Last edited by Dnaboy; 8th June 2011 at 12:44 AM. Reason: update
9th June 2011, 08:48 AM   |  #47  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
how to update from 1.3d to 1.4
I am going to update from FolioMod v1.3d to v1.4
But after type "adb shell", show "sh-1.4#"
Could you tell me what happened?and how can I update from 1.3d to 1.4
Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by roglio

it depends: if your recovery.img is already in /data/ the answer is yes.

keep in mind that the cat command doesn't show anything if it works correctly.

10th June 2011, 02:22 AM   |  #48  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
my pc is in pieces at the moment(water cooling leaked) and my laptop is crap, so i cant use fastboot at the moment.

but I remember way back when i had a g1 flashing a recovery using terminal app on the phone could this be done on the folio as well
26th June 2011, 04:46 PM   |  #49  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCLP

before fanything you will need to enable the tegra drives do the following so your folio is recognised as and adb interface:
you dont need this if your folio is allredy recognised has a adb interface in device manager.

1) Install the Adb driver.
For driver :
- Download the android SDK
- Edit "<your-android-sdk-folder>/usb_driver/android_winusb.inf"
- Add the following after [Google.NTx86] (or [Google.NTamd64] if 64 bits windows)
Code:

;NVIDIA Tegra
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0955&PID_7000
%CompositeAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0955&PID_7100&MI_01

sorry, but I do not have usb_driver folder. First time I am installing SDK so I guess there is something to do. I have a samsung Galaxy S and PC under Windows 7. I am using the galaxy as usb mass storage. What shall I do for the folio tab?
thanks

Sebastien
Last edited by smille; 26th June 2011 at 10:58 PM.
30th June 2011, 08:27 PM   |  #50  
Senior Member
Flag Budapest
Thanks Meter: 5
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roglio

Maybe you can try via fastboot mode:

1. power on your folio
2. wait until the toshiba logo come out
3. then press three times the power on button and then volume up (+)
4. your folio will show a message saying is in fastboot mode
5. your pc should ask you for drivers
6. go to android-sdk folder an then in tools folder
7. from a command window type: "fastboot devices"
8. if you see something like "???????" displayed you're ready to flash
9. then issue: "fastboot erase recovery" and "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"
10. DONE! type "fastboot reboot" and enjoy.

There are a lot of problems doing this procedure under windows (driver issues).
If it doesn't work for you, try to switch to mac or to linux (also a live cd is good).
You can get fastboot commands from this post.
Download the fastboot command for your os and try.
For those os no drivers are needed to use fastboot and it always works fine.

Good luck

It works! I love you! I suffered with this for three days!!!
Thanks very much!!!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes