Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,702 Members 45,378 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[HOW-TO] Updating to Mango Beta without Dev Unlock

Tip us?
 
AlexDP
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default [HOW-TO] Updating to Mango Beta without Dev Unlock

Simply follow the instructions included with the PDF, but instead of running MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe, run this file.
Everything else is exactly the same. No need to run MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe aftewards.

No dev unlock required, no Zune check, no WP Dev SDK check.
Thanks to ne0cr0n for the idea!

http://www.mediafire.com/?r3o8r3hmvd79nd5
Tried and tested on my own phone. Works 100%
Bell HTC HD7 | T-Mobile HTC HD7 | Telus Desire HD - running Android Revolution HD
My guide for rooting and flashing the Telus Desire HD
Industry software developer. Developing free apps for Windows Phone 7 and iOS (and Android soon) in my free time.
The Following 29 Users Say Thank You to AlexDP For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mwang
Old
(Last edited by mwang; 1st July 2011 at 08:39 AM.) Reason: add
#2  
mwang's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 536
Posts: 770
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York,USA

 
DONATE TO ME
Good job , Thanks update now done 5 differences WP7 devices working well
Every HTC devices from Wallaby to M8
Want to know what I know about the device then Read Wiki like I did.
http://wiki.xda-developers.com
http://darkforcesteam.com.cn


Follow me at twitter @mwangDF

If you like my work, you can support future development by "
 
tom_codon
Old
#3  
tom_codon's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 2,132
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexDP View Post
Simply follow the instructions included with the PDF, but instead of running MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe, run this file.
Everything else is exactly the same. No need to run MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe aftewards.

No dev unlock required, no Zune check, no WP Dev SDK check.
Thanks to ne0cr0n for the idea!

http://www.mediafire.com/?r3o8r3hmvd79nd5
Tried and tested on my own phone. Works 100%
Error "Updatewp.exe is not found" there

Tom
If you like my work and want to offer some support please click on the Paypal button below





Niki Project Rom release
Topaz WM6.5 Roms
Tom Text Messaging

Status :
Playing risky game
The Following User Says Thank You to tom_codon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AlexDP
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 31
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom_codon View Post
Error "Updatewp.exe is not found" there

Tom
You still have to follow the rest of the steps. One of the steps is to run the appropriate version of MangoB2-UpdateWP-....exe! That puts the UpdateWP.exe file in the right location (Zune folder in Program Files)
Bell HTC HD7 | T-Mobile HTC HD7 | Telus Desire HD - running Android Revolution HD
My guide for rooting and flashing the Telus Desire HD
Industry software developer. Developing free apps for Windows Phone 7 and iOS (and Android soon) in my free time.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AlexDP For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
tom_codon
Old
#5  
tom_codon's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 2,132
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexDP View Post
You still have to follow the rest of the steps. One of the steps is to run the appropriate version of MangoB2-UpdateWP-....exe! That puts the UpdateWP.exe file in the right location (Zune folder in Program Files)
ok , i got it , thanks you !

Tom
If you like my work and want to offer some support please click on the Paypal button below





Niki Project Rom release
Topaz WM6.5 Roms
Tom Text Messaging

Status :
Playing risky game
 
Badcam3
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 110
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Downers Grove
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexDP View Post
Simply follow the instructions included with the PDF, but instead of running MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe, run this file.
Everything else is exactly the same. No need to run MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe aftewards.

No dev unlock required, no Zune check, no WP Dev SDK check.
Thanks to ne0cr0n for the idea!

http://www.mediafire.com/?r3o8r3hmvd79nd5
Tried and tested on my own phone. Works 100%
I got the Mango Beta update invitation and I downloaded it and installed it the thing is my account is not fully activated so I can not unlock it officially. When I updated the device to the Mango Beta I lost my Chevron unlock... So its kind of problem... You will not be able to sideload apps with out a fully activated dev account... I know that Chevron labs is coming out soon but we shouldnt have to pay for something like this... Does anyone know what I/everyone else can do so we can sideload apps without having to use the official MS way or the Chevron labs way?


T-Mobile HTC ONE M8

Unlimited Data FTW!!!!!!

The Following User Says Thank You to Badcam3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mowd
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2008
It works!
FIrst it install build 7401 and then upgrade to 7661.
 
walshieau
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 1,503
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexDP View Post
Simply follow the instructions included with the PDF, but instead of running MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe, run this file.
Everything else is exactly the same. No need to run MangoB2-DevRetailUpdate.exe aftewards.

No dev unlock required, no Zune check, no WP Dev SDK check.
Thanks to ne0cr0n for the idea!

http://www.mediafire.com/?r3o8r3hmvd79nd5
Tried and tested on my own phone. Works 100%
One warning I will say, make sure you SAVE the backup it makes, there is no upgrade path from Beta Mango to RTM. You need to revert to the backup before an upgrade path to Mango RTM.
The Following User Says Thank You to walshieau For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WithinRafael
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 146
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bellevue, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by walshieau View Post
One warning I will say, make sure you SAVE the backup it makes, there is no upgrade path from Beta Mango to RTM. You need to revert to the backup before an upgrade path to Mango RTM.
I suspect we're going to see a lot of kids crying, because they didn't read the documentation.
 
Liftboy
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hamburg
Mhhh,

I just played to get the Betaupdate. I think infact of the chevronwp7 I got an error while updating to Mango.

Anybody else in this club?


Regards
Frank
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Fehler.jpg
Views:	2679
Size:	22.1 KB
ID:	642614  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes