Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,099 Members 45,740 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kernel With Separate Cache Partition

Tip us?
 
zxxxy
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Oct 2010
Hi Scoot!
I love your kernel. No data corruption so far (two days). did a few stylus resets and stuff.. Magical =D. Now IMO we only need better sleeping and autofocus to call kaiser a fully android device! Please Keep up the awesome job, scoot! thanx, danke, sposeeba, bedankt, aciu, dzenkuja!
 
waj3k
Old
#12  
waj3k's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 171
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Midlands, UK

 
DONATE TO ME
Nice job scooter, I've been using Scoot CyanogenMod 7.0.2 RLS2 [28/04/11] @ 500MHz, and it seems fine so far.

I tried Fat Free Froyo before CyanogenMod, which also worked great for the few hours it was running. I'm not sure which one to stick with though.

Keep up the good work. I wish I could help with the development, but I have yet to learn programming (been ten years now ).
Moto RAZR i [XT890] (Unlocked Bootloader)
Sim: T-Mobile PAYG
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3
ROM: Debloated Stock JB 4.1.2
 
a.s.j
Old
#13  
a.s.j's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 340
Join Date: May 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
This kernel looks pretty stable, but just a few quick questions:

1) What filesystem is used for the cache? If YAFFS, could it get corrupted? If Yes, what would happend then?
2) Is it really needed to have 20MB for the cache? ATM it seems to be used only by a like 1-2MB on the cache partition, would not it be enough to have for example 10MB for the cache leaving more space for apps?
3) What is the difference using apps in the system and data partitions? If I would run off the space on the data partition, can I put some apps in the system apps folder to save the space without wandering about how it works?

Thanx for your great work, finally it seems to be fully usable for me and if you and Krazy-Killa would be able to work together to manage the power consumption, then it would be amazing, because I am going to get new phone (running some new extensive business and I can not afford to be not reachable when something happends on Kaiser) and give this lovely piece of HW to my son... And I really do not want him to have a WM machine But Android needs to be stable for him to use Well... he will get it for his 10th birthday at 6.9. so we still have some time to tweak it a bit more
Primary Phone: HTC Desire Z (alias Vision)
HBOOT: 0.85.0013
Radio: 26.10.04.03_M
ROM: PureKat 3.0 by _MarcoMarinho_
Kernel: PureKat Default

Provided for _MarcoMarinho_ (donations are welcome to keep the site running):
Project web: http://dz.ace-com.cz/
Ticketing system: http://dz.ace-com.cz/flyspray/.
 
Aiex Rlder
Old
#14  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Aug 2010
if this works then it would be magical, your CM builds were so fast and awesome and if there's no data loss then... <3
 
PoXFreak
Old
#15  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 826
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Apex NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Made 2 mistakes when building kernel (selected tilt instead of normal and forgot to OC to 480MHz), and running kingshui's 12/15/2010 build 2.2.1. seems ROCK solid and fast! I applaud your use of ramzswap for the extra 20mb, bravo!
I'm just hoping I can go back and rebuild the kernel with the correct settings without messing up the system/data/cache partitioning.
Daily device
Samsung Infuse SGH-I997, CM 10.2/11
x86 device
HP Mini 5101 10" net book
Android 4.4.2
 
scooter1556
Old
#16  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 600
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoXFreak View Post
Made 2 mistakes when building kernel (selected tilt instead of normal and forgot to OC to 480MHz), and running kingshui's 12/15/2010 build 2.2.1. seems ROCK solid and fast! I applaud your use of ramzswap for the extra 20mb, bravo!
I'm just hoping I can go back and rebuild the kernel with the correct settings without messing up the system/data/cache partitioning.
They aren't mistakes, those are the settings I need for my Kaiser. I included a modified version of ATools for you all to modify the kernel for your devices as I stated in the first post
 
scooter1556
Old
#17  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 600
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.s.j View Post
1) What filesystem is used for the cache? If YAFFS, could it get corrupted? If Yes, what would happend then?
2) Is it really needed to have 20MB for the cache? ATM it seems to be used only by a like 1-2MB on the cache partition, would not it be enough to have for example 10MB for the cache leaving more space for apps?
3) What is the difference using apps in the system and data partitions? If I would run off the space on the data partition, can I put some apps in the system apps folder to save the space without wandering about how it works?
1) The cache partition is still using Yaffs2 because it is the easiest filesystem to configure at the minute, but the idea of making it a separate partition like on a native android device is that it can be changed to another filesystem in the initrd relatively easily. If it gets corrupted it will do what it used to I guess, but I haven't had any corruption as of yet so it's difficult to say. Hopefully if the cache partition get's corrupted it shouldn't affect data so you should just be able to wipe and format dalvik-cache in the install menu.

2) I made it 20mb because most android devices have 30mb or bigger and this is mainly because market app downloaded get downloaded here before being installed, so if you installed google maps for instance it would use up 6mb, plus the standard 1-2mb normally being used, but if you only had a 10mb cache for instance, you would only be able to install apps less then 8mb which is a little limiting really. I don't really care much about installing lots of apps in data or on the phone at all for that matter so having 95mb for data is more then enough for me.

3) You can put apps in the system partition in /system/app. The system partition is read only so all data for the app still goes to the data partition. You can still save a little data partition space though if you need it. Most installs of android are 80-95mb which should leave you 5mb or so to play with. Some all language builds pretty much use up all of the partition though so you need to look and see what space you have to play with before putting apps on the system partition. If you overload it you will probably end up corrupting it and having to reinstall. But to answer your last question, the system partition works in the same way as the data partition apart fro the fact that it is read-only and data is read/write.
 
Krazy-Killa
Old
#18  
Krazy-Killa's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 40
Posts: 338
Join Date: Mar 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
I've modified my Kernel to use the NAND mtdblock3 (/data for everyone else) as the cache partition, since my NAND is pretty much shot to begin with, and have system and data on SD Card. So far it's made downloading Market Apps twice as fast, loading webpages pretty fast, and basically anything else that the cache is used for.
AT&T Tilt (Retired)
Kernel: Custom Compiled 2.6.32 w/ EXT4 Support
System: EXT4
Data: EXT4
Build: Depends on the day

iPhone 3G - Jailbreak (Retired)
iOS: 4.2.1
Baseband: 06.15.00
iDroid: Pepparkaka 11.04 (Android 2.3.3)

iPhone 4S
iOS: 7.0.4
Jailbreak: evasi0n7 1.0.1
 
PoXFreak
Old
#19  
PoXFreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 826
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Apex NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter1556 View Post
They aren't mistakes, those are the settings I need for my Kaiser. I included a modified version of ATools for you all to modify the kernel for your devices as I stated in the first post
Scoot:
I understand that the settings built into the .nbh are for your device. What I was meaning was I needed to modify the CPU clock up to 480MHz, and for some odd reason my device swaps the "@" and "!" buttons if I set it to "tilt", among other buttons being set wrong.
Also, I am used to having the left and right softkeys set as "vol up" and "vol down" respectively. Is this something I need to make an androidupdate for, or do I have to write a new NBH?
Daily device
Samsung Infuse SGH-I997, CM 10.2/11
x86 device
HP Mini 5101 10" net book
Android 4.4.2
 
scooter1556
Old
#20  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 600
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoXFreak View Post
Scoot:
I understand that the settings built into the .nbh are for your device. What I was meaning was I needed to modify the CPU clock up to 480MHz, and for some odd reason my device swaps the "@" and "!" buttons if I set it to "tilt", among other buttons being set wrong.
Also, I am used to having the left and right softkeys set as "vol up" and "vol down" respectively. Is this something I need to make an androidupdate for, or do I have to write a new NBH?
Can you not do all of this using the ATools i provided in the attachment in the first post? You should be able to load the nbh into ATools and then set the CPU speed, change the keyboard type and remap the buttons and then save it before flashing. Just don't change the partition sizes as this will mess up the cache partition I added until I make it more permanent.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes