Post Reply

Mango: How to edit registry

OP ViEL

7th July 2011, 08:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
This is a trick to edit registry values στο mango update

Pre-requests:
1. Pre Mango - unlocked NODO with TouchExlorer side loaded
2. Last Connection Setup from marketplace
3. Update to Mango Beta unlocked
4. Backup ( Backup Phone before try )

HowTo:
1. Send file CustClear.provxml.txt from PC to some email so you can read it from the phone
2. From the phone open the Email, click to the attached file and it opens with Word,
click ... and choose save as... CustClear.provxml ( save to phone)
3. From TouchExplorer navigate to My Documents, there is the file CustClear.provxml.txt, rename to
CustClear.provxml ( C capital as here ), copy the file to Windows and replace if suggests
4. Reboot
5. Boot Phone and run ConnectionSetup at first
6. Reboot

if everything goes ok the registry values will have changed,

The attached file i give has the basic changes for unlock, 32bt fix, max unsigned apps
You can change what ever registry value you want.. i have changed Light Themes color to Grey

Who ever try post results and share your changes
Attached Files
File Type: txt CustClear.provxml.txt - [Click for QR Code] (1.1 KB, 2498 views)
Last edited by ViEL; 7th July 2011 at 08:44 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to ViEL For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2011, 08:49 AM   |  #2  
colossus_r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,014 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Thumbs up Well done m8
Well done m8...and thanks for the info...

I test it and its working fine ...
and i have to add some more registry values to the pack

Code:
  <characteristic type="HKLM\ControlPanel\Themes\0">
        <parm name="PageBackgroundColor" value="#FF212121" datatype="string" />
	<parm name="SysTrayBackgroundColor" value="#FF212121" datatype="string" />
  </characteristic>
This one will change the white background in light theme to a dark grey

Code:
  <characteristic type="HKLM\ControlPanel\Lock">
         <parm name="DisableNever" value="0" datatype="integer" />
  </characteristic>
and this one wiil add the never option in screen timeout (if its not allready there)
The Following User Says Thank You to colossus_r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2011, 09:34 AM   |  #3  
iky10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
306 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
or you can just use schaps windows device manager and transfer the file into windows folder directly via the WDM(schaps app) while your currently on NODO, and then load mango onto phone.

When finished installing mango, goto market place download "connection setup" thats first thing you do, run connection setup follow on screen instructions (the connection setup looks for the CustClear.provxml file) and your done all your homebrew apps will work.

edit: add any reg keys you want into the CustClear.provxml and transfer it over using the app provided by schaps while in NODO.
Last edited by iky10; 7th July 2011 at 09:43 AM.
7th July 2011, 09:38 AM   |  #4  
colossus_r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,014 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iky10

or you can just use schaps windows device manager and transfer the file into windows folder via the WDM(schaps app) while your currently on NODO, and then load mango, goto market place download connection setup thats first thing you do, run setup and your done all your homebrew apps wil work.

Thats correct ..but the above method from viel will work and after mango update
7th July 2011, 09:48 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Hi there, great solution, but, one question:

What to do if My market doesnt find the Connection setup on Market ?
I have found it on Zune, but I dont have an install button like in other apps.
Maybe is not avaiable for all the countries :S?

PD: Sorry for my bad English
7th July 2011, 09:49 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Flag Athens
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
serach connection setup not htc connection setup
7th July 2011, 10:04 AM   |  #7  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
You must have an HTC device for this. HTC Connection Setup is only on HTC devices. There was a hack somewhere that was a registry edit to change which OEM's market to show. You'll have to search for it though. Maybe if you're lucky, you can get it on Non-HTC device. No telling if it'd even work though.

[HOW TO] Get any OEM's Apps direct from the Marketplace on your Phone
7th July 2011, 10:29 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
So if I own an Omnia7 phone, Im not able to test this ?

And what about it I try the Samsung "Network profile" app? Wont be the same ?
7th July 2011, 10:33 AM   |  #9  
drkfngthdragnlrd's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Pacoima, CA
Thanks Meter: 265
 
2,401 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3gox

So if I own an Omnia7 phone, Im not able to test this ?

And what about it I try the Samsung "Network profile" app? Wont be the same ?

Don't know if it uses the same file. The link I posted above shows how to edit the registry to make the Market think your device is an HTC device. No clue though if HTC's CS app will work on your device though. I'd test it first. make a tes CustClear.provxml with a registry value you can verified is being written like changing one of the accent colors say.
7th July 2011, 10:34 AM   |  #10  
colossus_r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 367
 
2,014 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3gox

So if I own an Omnia7 phone, Im not able to test this ?

And what about it I try the Samsung "Network profile" app? Wont be the same ?

I dont know that ....but i think that samsung app its not reading provxml files ...
the trick here is that connection setup from htc can read and deploy any commands inside a provxml file.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
mango, wp7
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes