Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

[GUIDE] Fre3vo / Fre3dom Official Thread

OP agrabren

7th July 2011, 06:02 PM   |  #101  
pbedard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag boston
Thanks Meter: 421
 
2,485 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Oh yes they are thry released the kernel to blow a whole

Sent from my PG86100 using XDA Premium App
7th July 2011, 08:44 PM   |  #102  
ViViDboarder's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag San Francisco, CA
Thanks Meter: 619
 
1,562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Come on people, stop whining! (at least in this thread).

We all want to see this through by any means and we'll just need to be patient or keep working. Venting frustration in the Dev forum isn't really going to help.

If you want to vent AND be helpful, vent on the HTC Facebook page or bug them over email and Twitter. Frustrated customers can be a strong motivator, but I doubt HTC cares much about what is said in this thread.

So I hope this post is encouraging.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ViViDboarder For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2011, 09:12 PM   |  #103  
quailallstar's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 93
 
917 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by agrabren

[GUIDE] Fre3vo / Fre3dom Official Thread

#teamwin is proud to announce the Fre3vo tool for the HTC EVO 3D and Sensation!

What is Fre3vo: Fre3vo is a temp-root acquiring tool, allowing users access to a root shell on their HTC EVO 3D and Sensation devices.

What is Fre3dom: Fre3dom is the name of the tool being developed to enable S-OFF on the EVO 3D and Sensation.

ETAs:
Fre3vo: Available Now!!! http://tinyw.in/1lJ
Fre3dom: No ETA yet.

Prereqs:
1. You must be able to push files via adb to your device.
2. You must know what a shell is.

Instructions:
1. Download the fre3vo zip
2. Unzip the fre3vo binary
3. Push the binary via 'adb push fre3vo /data/local/tmp'
4. Change the permissions via 'adb shell chmod 777 /data/local/tmp/fre3vo'
5. Run the binary via 'adb shell /data/local/tmp/fre3vo'

If all goes well, you'll be kicked back to your computer's command prompt. (Some may get more messages, but it seems the Sensation buffers the stderr more than the EVO 3D)

run 'adb shell' and you should have a '#' prompt instead of '%'.

This is temporary root. A reboot will clobber it. Also realize that the system partition is nand-protected (at least on the EVO 3D) so writes won't stick for long, and there will be issues getting tools like Titanium Backup to work. We are still developing upon this huge stepping stone. We look forward to hearing methods other developers have found to build temp root to either make the device better, or gain perm root even.

This *IS* a work in progress.

Worked like a charm on the first try Thank you.
8th July 2011, 04:53 AM   |  #104  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Please forgive my tired brain if I am way off track here, but tell me if this makes any sense given my limited understanding of processes and permissions.

We have now a situation where we can for a short term run processes with super-user privileges. Also, unless I am mistaken (and I may well be) the permissions that a process has are determined at launch time, and thus a processed launched with su permissions should maintain them until terminated.

Assuming that this filesystem reset that occurs to undo the changes we have made does not go terminating processes at the same time, would it not be possible to write a program that would continue to run in resident memory with su privileges and watch for the file system to revert, and then when it sees this action, the process could, using its existing su privileges, put things back the way we want them?

I am making several assumptions here, so please feel free to educate me on my fallacies. Either way, thanks for taking the time to hear me out.

Oh, and to the great folks whom put this temp root together, it works wonderfully. Your efforts, time, and dedication are greatly appreciated.

--Mia
8th July 2011, 06:47 AM   |  #105  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Mia:

What happens to lose the root is a reboot. We make changes to the is, but the flash memory rejects them so when the os boots again, the changes are reverted. In a reboot, all processes are necessarily terminated.

Until you reboot, you get to be root. :P

Alternatively, the os may try to write your changes to the flash memory while running, and it gets an error when the memory says "no." In this event, the os forces the filesystem to be read only, and no changes can be made until (you guessed it) you reboot.
8th July 2011, 11:28 AM   |  #106  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Is it just me or does SU(app) only work for one program per root? IE... I root everything good... open TiBu fine... SU allows... Then go to SetCPU ... root failed... go to TiBu, still has root... try to open SU app FC... reboot... reroot... SetCPU opens, allows... Try TiBu fails. Rinse + repeat.

Hmm... weird... Now SetCPU always works and TiBu never... guess ill read the TiBu threads.
Last edited by Tilde88; 8th July 2011 at 11:38 AM.
8th July 2011, 08:04 PM   |  #107  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tilde88

Is it just me or does SU(app) only work for one program per root? IE... I root everything good... open TiBu fine... SU allows... Then go to SetCPU ... root failed... go to TiBu, still has root... try to open SU app FC... reboot... reroot... SetCPU opens, allows... Try TiBu fails. Rinse + repeat.

Hmm... weird... Now SetCPU always works and TiBu never... guess ill read the TiBu threads.

with alot of these methods, SU is not stickied and if you are not running the su loop script in adb su will fail. try one of the new bat files here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1159354
and see if that works for you, it is getting good reviews thus far and i am looking to try when i get home. need to bring micro usb to work
8th July 2011, 08:14 PM   |  #108  
Zarboz's Avatar
Known Scammer
Flag Denver
Thanks Meter: 9,264
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wake69

with alot of these methods, SU is not stickied and if you are not running the su loop script in adb su will fail. try one of the new bat files here http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1159354
and see if that works for you, it is getting good reviews thus far and i am looking to try when i get home. need to bring micro usb to work

5 hours layer still have root with Eugenes .bat

sent from my EVO 3D
The Following User Says Thank You to Zarboz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th July 2011, 08:44 PM   |  #109  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
1,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zarboz

5 hours layer still have root with Eugenes .bat

sent from my EVO 3D

+1 10 char
8th July 2011, 11:29 PM   |  #110  
mikeyxda's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Florida - Gulf Coast
Thanks Meter: 13,167
 
3,461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Does anyone know why fre3vo will run if you execute it via adb, but it fails with "this device is unsupported by this exploit" if you put the exact same command (/data/local/tmp/fre3vo) in a shell script (root.sh) and you run that script form the phone without adb? Why does the same command work via adb but not in a script when you run it from the phone?

If this could be addressed, we could easily have permanent root or at least be able to root from the phone without a computer.

Mike

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes