5,596,128 Members 33,635 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[How To] Upgrade to Rooted .596 Official Rom

Tip us?
 
nukeruss
Old
#21  
nukeruss's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 131
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Palmyra, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pctechdroid View Post
I am on the .596 root made by p3droid.

I am wondering if I could reinstall the 2 parts to get back to a stock .596 root with all the apps back on. Every once in awhile my phone will reboot and apps will just force close then reopen with no questions.
It should work. The last time I switched from cm7 to .596 I flashed a backup first and then the 2 part install over it without losing the data from the backup.



Sent from my DROIDX using XDA Premium App
Droid Maxx Dev. Edition
ASUS Transformer Prime - KK Roooted
Nexus 7 2013 - KK
MK808B Mini TV - JB Rooted
The Following User Says Thank You to nukeruss For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pctechdroid
Old
#22  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukeruss View Post
It should work. The last time I switched from cm7 to .596 I flashed a backup first and then the 2 part install over it without losing the data from the backup.



Sent from my DROIDX using XDA Premium App
Thank you. I will try that. I don't mind reinstalling apps from the market and anything else. My contacts are saved with google and pictures are fine on my SD card.
 
bahamaberry
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Loading GB stuck on boot up screen(red moto icon). I SBF to 2.3.340, then z4rooted, installed provided droid 2 bootstrap, installed part 1 and part 2. After they installed, select option to reboot, but the DX gets stuck at the red moto icon and sits there for at least 20 mintues, gave up and tried to reboot it, same thing. Ended up SBFing back to 2.3.340 and rebooted it. Any ides why the the GB version will not boot up? Thanks for your help.
 
shukero
Old
#24  
shukero's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 135
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bahamaberry View Post
Loading GB stuck on boot up screen(red moto icon). I SBF to 2.3.340, then z4rooted, installed provided droid 2 bootstrap, installed part 1 and part 2. After they installed, select option to reboot, but the DX gets stuck at the red moto icon and sits there for at least 20 mintues, gave up and tried to reboot it, same thing. Ended up SBFing back to 2.3.340 and rebooted it. Any ides why the the GB version will not boot up? Thanks for your help.
Yes, For you I would suggest the second option at the end of my GB tutorial; which is after you install the 2nd .zip go back to the main menu, and do a cache/data wipe. if that doesn't work then pull the battery put it back in the hit the power & home button while powering on. This should bring you into the stock recovery. try to do the cache/date wipe in here. To do this: after you boot into it, you'll get a warning sign, hit the search button. the click on the wipe option, wait for about 2-3 minutes (if it gives you an error) or wait till it says it's done. Then restart. Remember this takes some time after it reboots. Mine took about 3-4 minutes the first time I booted, and about 5-7 for a friend's (his is older than mine) to start up the first time. What I would do is hold the phone in your and if you feel it vibrate, that means that it will start up eventually, it's just loading stuff.
 
bahamaberry
Old
(Last edited by bahamaberry; 9th July 2011 at 01:58 PM.)
#25  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shukero View Post
Yes, For you I would suggest the second option at the end of my GB tutorial; which is after you install the 2nd .zip go back to the main menu, and do a cache/data wipe. if that doesn't work then pull the battery put it back in the hit the power & home button while powering on. This should bring you into the stock recovery. try to do the cache/date wipe in here. To do this: after you boot into it, you'll get a warning sign, hit the search button. the click on the wipe option, wait for about 2-3 minutes (if it gives you an error) or wait till it says it's done. Then restart. Remember this takes some time after it reboots. Mine took about 3-4 minutes the first time I booted, and about 5-7 for a friend's (his is older than mine) to start up the first time. What I would do is hold the phone in your and if you feel it vibrate, that means that it will start up eventually, it's just loading stuff.
Tired it again, today, still no luck, did option two and did the wipe/factor reset. Also held the phone in my hand to see if it would vibrate, which it did not. waited for 10 minutes and it was still at the red moto icon. Anyone have an other ideas?
 
shukero
Old
#26  
shukero's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 135
Join Date: Mar 2011
hmmm Your update files might have become corrupt while download them. Try to re-download the Gingerbread update files and try again.
 
Ghxoxst
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 123
Join Date: Apr 2007
Default Stuck on red moto logo as mentioned above

...So after installing as advised, part 1 than part 2 immediately thereafter...got the reboot to the red MOTO LOGO...than gets me to this black screen


Bootloader
30.04
Err:A5,69,35,00,27








Battery OK
OK to Program
Connect USB
Data Cable




i tried holding down the power and home button at reboot, but i dont get back into recovery mode where i can attempt to wipe data/cache...

Any advise?
 
bahamaberry
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by shukero View Post
hmmm Your update files might have become corrupt while download them. Try to re-download the Gingerbread update files and try again.
Thank you shukero, they were indeed corrupt files, even though nothing said they were. I down loaded the files again, and this time the red moto icon disappeared after about 1 minute, and it booted :)

On a note about GB, love it, its fast, clean and rooted yay.
 
K0BALT
Old
#29  
K0BALT's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: CLEVELAND, OHIO
Part 2, Mirror 3 is expired.

At least that's what RapidShare is telling me.

Thanks
 
shukero
Old
#30  
shukero's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 135
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghxoxst View Post
...So after installing as advised, part 1 than part 2 immediately thereafter...got the reboot to the red MOTO LOGO...than gets me to this black screen


Bootloader
30.04
Err:A5,69,35,00,27








Battery OK
OK to Program
Connect USB
Data Cable




i tried holding down the power and home button at reboot, but i dont get back into recovery mode where i can attempt to wipe data/cache...

Any advise?
This seems to be an error with your flashed ROM. This is probably also because of a corrupted download. re-download the updates, check their file size, re-sbf and try again

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes