Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,468 Members 37,971 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Finally! TouchFlo works! - ALPHA 4 (stable) AVAILABLE

Tip us?
 
efrost
Old
(Last edited by efrost; 4th December 2007 at 05:54 PM.)
#1  
efrost's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 247
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Prague
Thumbs up Finally! TouchFlo works! - ALPHA 4 (stable) AVAILABLE

THERE IS A NEW THREAD WHERE YOU CAN FIND NEW VERSIONS. PLEASE, USE FTOUCHFLO 1.4.1 INSTEAD OF THESE ALPHAS.


Update 2007-10-16:
Hello!
Here you have new release which is much more stable than all previous!

Mostly I was working on solving problems, increasing performance and reliability, so:
1. Horizontal scrolling in Programs, Settings, Office etc. solved.
2. Problem with excluded applications list solved.
3. Many improvements had been done in scrolling together with bugs fixing.
4. Problem with a few instances of FTouchFlo running at the same time solved. You'll not start more than one instance now.
5. Problem with forwarding stylus events to gwes in scrolling mode solved. It was the reason of a unstable scrolling.
6. Problem with memory leaks when starting applications solved.

What's new:
1. Possibility to set up initial mode: "Scrolling" or "Launching".
There is additional parameter int the config file:
;Initial mode (S - scroll, L - launch)
InitialMode:S

2. Now you'll see small icon at top of your screen showing current FTouchFlo mode.
S - scrolling, L - launching and D - disabled (application is in excluded apps list).

You can now switch between modes by tapping at the icon.

3. A few more or less bugs found and killed (of course some new bugs introduced )

Thank you all for good ideas, unfortunately it's just impossible to implement them all in reasonable period of time + I was really concentrated on reliability and performance.

I hope that A4 is a last Alpha version!

P.S. Don't forget to uninstall all previously installed FTouchFlo versions! Calibration.dat file you shouldn't delete.

Update 2007-10-15:
Friends, I really didn't feel good yesterday when I was writing description to Alpha 3.
Error is in description how to toggle between scrolling and launching modes. You should use DOWN->UP->DOWN gesture to toggle. E.g. from the bottom of the screen, move your finger to the top and then back to the bottom.

Thank you!

Update 2007-10-15: Alpha 3 available now!

Thanks to all donators!

Changes in alpha 3:
1. Solved problem with iContact and other applications without name of window. Just put name of exe file into excluded programs list.
2. Delay function added to configuration: delay time in milliseconds before "standard windows behavior".
3. Launch applications function added.
FTouchFlo now has 2 operation modes: scrolling and launching.
To toggle between operation modes you should use up-down gesture. If mode has been toggled you'll hear a beep.
You can use GestureWaitingDelay parameter in the config file to set up how much time FTouchFlo will be waiting for gesture. So, for example, if you'll set up there 1000 ms, FTouchFlo in the scrolling mode will be waiting 1000ms before start scrolling. As less GuestureWaitingDelay, as fast you should move your finger. Try to find suitable value for you.

Once you're in the launching mode you can use 4 gestures:
down-up, up-down, left-right, right-left to start 4 different applications.

There are 8 parameters in the config file for this:
UpDownApp:
UpDownAppCmdLine:
DownUpApp:
DownUpAppCmdLine:
LeftRightApp:
LeftRightAppCmdLine:
RightLeftApp:
RightLeftAppCmdLine:

You can guess what they mean by their names, actually...

As an example I can show how to start .swf files by Down-Up gesture:
DownUpApp:/Windows/saplaywm.exe
DownUpAppCmdLine:/Cube Launcher 0-03.swf

Installation:
Before installing alpha 3 it is necessary to uninstall previous versions. Calibration.dat file you shouldn't delete because it is the same for alpha, alpha2 and alpha3.

P.S. Application becomes more and more complicated and it is harder and harder to introduce new features. I've spent 2 days near the computer and I'm going to calm down for a while. Also I've got flu, so alpha 3 might be affected by this fact.

Thank you!

Update 2007-10-14: more info about Alpha 2
1. Before installing alpha 2 it is necessary to uninstall previous version. Calibration.dat file you shouldn't delete because it is the same for alpha and alpha2.
2. FTouchFlo reloads configuration file (with excluded programs list) each time you're opening new application, so after you add new application to exclusion list, keep in mind that FTouchFlo will start ignoring it after you switch to other application and then switch back.

Update 2007-10-14:

First of all I want to say Thank You to all donators!

Alpha-2 version is now available!
Changes:
1. Improved calibration routine.
2. Excluded applications list added.
3. FTouchFlo doesn't work if SIP is working.
4. Delay before "standard windows behavior" function decreased to 100ms.
5. Improved speed and reliability.

Still not solved:
1. Horizontal scrolling in Programs, Settings etc.
2. Transcriber doesn't works.
3. No sound on screen taps.
4. Strange issue: "In Spanish, it's installed in "Menu Inicio\Programas\Programs" and uninstall doesn't work.".
5. Possible to start more then one instance of MouseEvent.exe and possible to start Callibration.exe. Just now I remembered about these problems.

How to configure programs which shouldn't be affected by FTouchFlo:
There is a file FTouchFloConfig.txt in the program directory.
Contents of the file after installation:

; FTouchFlo configuration file

; Exclude applications
Exclude:PocketCM.exe
Exclude:TomTom Navigator
Exclude:Flash lite
; end of configuration

You can use application exe file name or application's window name. So, to put, for example, Calculator application to the list you should add there:
Exclude:Calculator
or
Exclude:MobileCalculator.exe

Program will re-read contents of config file automatically.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

P.S. Don't forget about donations ... It is really hard to find free time.

P.P.S. In advance I want you to excuse me for my English and probably not so clear explanations. It is 3:10 a.m. now...

P.P.P.S. You may use this software on your risk. I'll not take responsibility for possible problems... and so on and all stuff like this.

---------------------------------------------------------------------

Update: Scroll function videos: scroll 1 and scroll 2

Hi to all owners of HTC PDAs who wants to use TouchFlo but their PDAs doesn't support it!

After a deep research how touch screen works and communicates with gwes I've made an application which is able to intercept all stylus movements and process it or forward to gwes.

It is still necessary to do a lot of things like calibration and other stuff, but in fact it works!

I'll continue working but I really don't have much free time, so your donations will speed up development.

-=<Here>=- and -=<Here>=- you can see how it works now. It can recognize movements in four directions and start selected programs: Internet Explorer, Calculator, TMail and File Explorer.

Also I am looking for your ideas how to use this software... there are few possibilities I noticed and going to implement:
1. Start programs depending on direction (like it works now).
2. Use it for scrolling with finger.
3. Create a library so any developer can use it to implement their ideas.

Thanks a lot for my friends (Pavel and Sergey) who are working on this software. Without their help such progress wouldn't be possible.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I've tested it on HTC Trinity, but I'm sure it will work on any HTC PDAs with touch.dll written according to Microsoft specification.
Attached Files
File Type: cab FTouchFlo.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (60.6 KB, 6084 views)
File Type: cab FTouchFlo_a2.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (85.5 KB, 3256 views)
File Type: cab FTouchFlo_a3.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (94.2 KB, 5450 views)
File Type: cab FTouchFlo_a4.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (105.8 KB, 28898 views)
 
DVS_WiNdz
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 182
Join Date: Sep 2007
wow.. that looks awesome
 
DVS_WiNdz
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 182
Join Date: Sep 2007
I just saw your other video.. and wow.. I'm even more amazed
 
efrost
Old
#4  
efrost's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 247
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVS_WiNdz View Post
I just saw your other video.. and wow.. I'm even more amazed
Thank you! I've just added link to the second video.
FTouchSL (former FTouchFlo) - fundamental change in the way we interact with xDA!

HTC Trinity
HTC Wizard (dead)
HTC TyTN II
HTC Shift
HTC Touch HD
 
steveecourt
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 166
Join Date: May 2007
Is there a cab for us to download?
 
generalriden
Old
#6  
generalriden's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 890
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: City of Palace
Default HTC CUBE works in our ATOM

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=333513

HTC Touch Cube working on O2 ATOM(WM6 AKU0.7.0)!

THIS PROGRAM DOES NOT REQUIRE FLASH - ITS THE REAL TOUCH FLO!!!

PART 1 - Install your Touch Cube onto your Atom!
Hi guys,

I've managed to get the HTC Touch Cube working with jiggs's WM6 AKU 0.7.0. Not sure if anyone was previously successful in doing this. But unfortunately, at the moment, it is using the ButtonFlo method of turning the cube.

I dont have the expertise to get this thing working using the Finger or stylus to get the touchscreen to turn the cube yet.

Maybe one of you geniuses out there will be able to take this one step further and get it working fully! (I'm hoping)

Here are the files I used and hope it works for you guys on jiggs WM6 AKU070.
INSTALLATION STEPS -
1) Install jiggs's WM6 AKU070 (make sure HTC HomePlugin is activated - dunno if you really need it).
2) Install HTC Audio Manager.
3) Install HTC Audio Mgr Today Plug-in.
4) Install Touch flo(Alpha).cab
5) Install JT ButtonFlo.cab
6) Map Touch Flo pgm to one of the buttons - I chose the O2 Media Plus button.
7) Soft-reset.


PART 2 - Customizing Your Cube using Touch Settings!

Step 1: Install Touch settings V1.22.cab, then soft reset.
Step 2: Go to windows\startup and delete entry "Mediahubmini"
Step 3: Soft reset (I don't think it's neccesary though, but i do perform
this step.
Step 4: OH YES! Also install the missing ICON files for the APLauncher - AL_xx_Touch.zip into a separate directory (eg. \Touch).
Step 5: Copy the same ICON files(from Step4) into \Windows. (these files were missing in Part1).
Step6 - Soft-reset and you should see everything working!
я люблю Вас Рэйчел

------------------------
Evolution of my phone
Imate Jam Windows Mobile 6.1 by Cotulla
ATOM PURE limited edition WM6 AKU 0.7 English
APPLE Iphone 32 gb Firmware 4 Unlocked
Samsung Galaxy SIII Mini Android Version 4.1.2
Samsung Galaxy S3 Temasek's CM11 / ELELINUX ® 4.4.2 KitKat ROM
 
efrost
Old
(Last edited by efrost; 7th October 2007 at 05:37 PM.)
#7  
efrost's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 247
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveecourt View Post
Is there a cab for us to download?
Hi! Not yet. It is really not ready for publishing yet.
I am working on calibration now and after it will be done I'll publish first alpha.
P.S. Now calibration data gathered from my Trinity and hardcoded.
FTouchSL (former FTouchFlo) - fundamental change in the way we interact with xDA!

HTC Trinity
HTC Wizard (dead)
HTC TyTN II
HTC Shift
HTC Touch HD
 
efrost
Old
#8  
efrost's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 247
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Prague
Quote:
Originally Posted by generalriden View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=333513

HTC Touch Cube working on O2 ATOM(WM6 AKU0.7.0)!

THIS PROGRAM DOES NOT REQUIRE FLASH - ITS THE REAL TOUCH FLO!!!

PART 1 - Install your Touch Cube onto your Atom!
Hi guys,

I've managed to get the HTC Touch Cube working with jiggs's WM6 AKU 0.7.0. Not sure if anyone was previously successful in doing this. But unfortunately, at the moment, it is using the ButtonFlo method of turning the cube.

I dont have the expertise to get this thing working using the Finger or stylus to get the touchscreen to turn the cube yet.

Maybe one of you geniuses out there will be able to take this one step further and get it working fully! (I'm hoping)

Here are the files I used and hope it works for you guys on jiggs WM6 AKU070.
INSTALLATION STEPS -
1) Install jiggs's WM6 AKU070 (make sure HTC HomePlugin is activated - dunno if you really need it).
2) Install HTC Audio Manager.
3) Install HTC Audio Mgr Today Plug-in.
4) Install Touch flo(Alpha).cab
5) Install JT ButtonFlo.cab
6) Map Touch Flo pgm to one of the buttons - I chose the O2 Media Plus button.
7) Soft-reset.


PART 2 - Customizing Your Cube using Touch Settings!

Step 1: Install Touch settings V1.22.cab, then soft reset.
Step 2: Go to windows\startup and delete entry "Mediahubmini"
Step 3: Soft reset (I don't think it's neccesary though, but i do perform
this step.
Step 4: OH YES! Also install the missing ICON files for the APLauncher - AL_xx_Touch.zip into a separate directory (eg. \Touch).
Step 5: Copy the same ICON files(from Step4) into \Windows. (these files were missing in Part1).
Step6 - Soft-reset and you should see everything working!
Hi!

I promise that I'll inform you personally when I'll be able to release a cab, so you'll be able not to map your Cube to some button, but use your finger to start it.
BTW, Cube still doesn't work on my Trinity. All the time just black screen.

Thank you!
FTouchSL (former FTouchFlo) - fundamental change in the way we interact with xDA!

HTC Trinity
HTC Wizard (dead)
HTC TyTN II
HTC Shift
HTC Touch HD
 
xplode
Old
#9  
xplode's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 1,963
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nesebar

 
DONATE TO ME
When you get the black screen, press the power button to put the device in standby mode, wait 15 sec and hit the soft reset, this helped me with the black screen problem in the past
Merged rom archives to one site
xplode.tk - contains Blueangel, Harrier, Magician, iPhone (2G, 3G, 3G S), iPod (1G,2G) roms and firmware and will upload more devices soon
If you like my work, or just want to thank me you can consider a small donation
 
duttythroy
Old
#10  
duttythroy's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 945
Posts: 10,460
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: london

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by efrost View Post
Hi!

I promise that I'll inform you personally when I'll be able to release a cab, so you'll be able not to map your Cube to some button, but use your finger to start it.
BTW, Cube still doesn't work on my Trinity. All the time just black screen.

Thank you!
Sounds very awesome do you think it work on kaiser and do you need help testing it, i have been trying on hermes since beginining and I dont mind been a beta tester for the kaiser model, just pm me if you think thts a good idea. anyways great work
[Duttys™ HD2 Multi-Lang 23163 Legacy Cont. ROMs]
http://fileserve.com/list/dARfvDN

[Duttys™ HD2 Multi-Lang Legacy ROMs + Legacy Kitchen 23162 COOK Your ROM]
http://fileserve.com/list/HPbXnV3


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: DonkeyGuard, Don’t Be a Donkey, Control Your Device – XDA Developer TV

Some applications ask for the world … more

Use Facebook Pictures as a LWP with Facebook View

One of the best things that Android has always offeredits users is the ability to tailor … more