Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,777,893 Members 49,659 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] explore android from windows

Tip us?
 
gazzacbr
Old
#1  
gazzacbr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 529
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Question [Q] explore android from windows

looking for a simple way to swap and mod a few system files on my HD2 Haret/SD android.
i am not developing anything, only changing.
i am ok with the terminal on the device (using BTEP) but its tedious.
what i need is to mount the phone on wndows 7 (or a MAC if thats easier) so i can copy and paste from the comfort of my own keyboard
its a Haret/SD build, not nand.
thanks
HTC HD2: magldr, nand tytung JellyBean 4.3/KitKat 4.4, 64gb sdxc
HTC Kaiser: Retired
"My cat took my screws"
(http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/5...took+my+screws)
 
icke
Old
(Last edited by icke; 14th July 2011 at 10:24 PM.)
#2  
icke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1092
Posts: 1,755
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ahaus

 
DONATE TO ME
That's not a question of SD or NAND. All you need to know is this: http://androidcommander.com/

Edit: If you are on 64bit-system...install 32bit java...otherwise it will not work!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to icke For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gazzacbr
Old
(Last edited by gazzacbr; 15th July 2011 at 09:09 AM.)
#3  
gazzacbr's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 529
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
thanks icke, yes 64bit windows 7, was hoping for a standalone program but specs say i still have to get ADB USB Driver from SDK.
i think thats where the problems were with other methods i tried.
looks just what i was looking for though.
HTC HD2: magldr, nand tytung JellyBean 4.3/KitKat 4.4, 64gb sdxc
HTC Kaiser: Retired
"My cat took my screws"
(http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/5...took+my+screws)
 
Eelkede
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 201
Join Date: Mar 2010
not sure if it will work,
DroidExplorer: http://de.codeplex.com/
Works with NAND Roms, not sure if it works with SD, or does what you want.
Device: HTC One x
ROM: CyanogenMod 10 by TripNRaVeR
 
RobE.
Old
(Last edited by RobE.; 15th July 2011 at 04:18 PM.)
#5  
RobE.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 570
Join Date: Aug 2007
Yes, I'd like to do the same as the OP. That Androidcommander looks pretty interesting. Think I'll try it... But I see, I need to d/l and install the Android SDK... as a requirement for Androidcommander. Shouldn't be too difficult... But I see I need to d/l and install the Java Development Kit as a requirement for the Android SDK... wish I were a developer, so I'd have some use for these large programs!!!

Droid Explorer seems to have the same requirements. Is all this even worth it for a non-developer/programmer. Isn't there a better way to run a file explorer on an Android device from a desktop PC?

Haha Lol... with Windows or WM... I feel like a pro! with Android, I'm just a noob... Lol, Lol

(edit)... seems the more I read, the less (I realize) I know... for now. But all this above... I'll figure it out Not a problem!
 
RobE.
Old
#6  
RobE.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 570
Join Date: Aug 2007
@ icke... thanks for the reco on androidcommander. And for anyone else reading, the install wasn't too difficult, inclusive of the SDK and the JDK. There were unexpected repercussions (not sure but certainly from the SDK or JDK install). Upon reboot... the WinXP Security Center didn't recognize my firewall or AV pgms... saying the system was unprotected, although both av & firewall were up & running.

The command prompt (cmd.exe), also wouldn't recognize anything typed. But... Google is my friend. One of these DK pgms (probably Java, but I dunno), blew-up the systems environment variable (Path), and so I had to recreate. Done and all is well. AC looks looks to be exactly what I wanted... and then some. Thanks again!
 
icke
Old
#7  
icke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1092
Posts: 1,755
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ahaus

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobE. View Post
@ icke... thanks for the reco on androidcommander. And for anyone else reading, the install wasn't too difficult, inclusive of the SDK and the JDK. There were unexpected repercussions (not sure but certainly from the SDK or JDK install). Upon reboot... the WinXP Security Center didn't recognize my firewall or AV pgms... saying the system was unprotected, although both av & firewall were up & running.

The command prompt (cmd.exe), also wouldn't recognize anything typed. But... Google is my friend. One of these DK pgms (probably Java, but I dunno), blew-up the systems environment variable (Path), and so I had to recreate. Done and all is well. AC looks looks to be exactly what I wanted... and then some. Thanks again!
Sorry...doesn't know how it is working on WinXP (Only tried Win7 64x). All I can say: everything I do between my Leo and Pc, I use Android Commander. For me, there's no better way to copy, merge, paste...or anything else working 1:1 with my device.
BTW: There is an pluggin for TotalCommander PC...but doesn't worked for me yet...maybe on 32X systems.
 
RobE.
Old
#8  
RobE.'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 191
Posts: 570
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by icke View Post
Sorry...doesn't know how it is working on WinXP (Only tried Win7 64x). All I can say: everything I do between my Leo and Pc, I use Android Commander. For me, there's no better way to copy, merge, paste...or anything else working 1:1 with my device.
BTW: There is an pluggin for TotalCommander PC...but doesn't worked for me yet...maybe on 32X systems.
Just to reiterate... It's working very well in WinXP. I'm genuinely pleased with how it all panned out and I was just thanking you again for the recommendation.

The Java jdk, or was it the android sdk (still not sure which) overwrote and changed my systems environment variable (AKA system path) and so the command prompt and some security pgms appeared to not be working... Once I restored the path - everything worked again. AC is must have for what it does!

Tags
system, terminal
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more

Revert to Stock Recovery Effortless with Simple Recovery Switcher

Android updates released as OTA packages are very easy to apply,but they … more