FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[APP]Another Flashlight App :D

20th July 2011, 04:41 PM |#1  
hx4700 Killer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 258
 
More
Just for fun I wrote a flashlight app. I know, there are already a few others but this was a first dive in to a windows phone 7 app and I thought I would share:





The only glitch I have seen is toggling QUICKLY between on and off doesnt work and the light stays on. Exitting usually fixes it, however if it doesnt then relaunch and the re-initialize of the camera will turn it off.

The XAP is attached.
Attached Files
File Type: xap Flashlight.xap - [Click for QR Code] (100.9 KB, 716 views)
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to hx4700 Killer For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
20th July 2011, 08:06 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Germany
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
I assume this uses the LED of the camera instead of the screen (as most other apps do)? Too bad I am on an HTC 7 Mozart with a xenon flash
21st July 2011, 09:47 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Perfect! Been wanting one of these for some time now. The flash on the Focus is too bright not to use as a flashlight. Thanks!
22nd July 2011, 02:12 AM |#4  
Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 437
 
Donate to Me
More
Just a few words about UI and functionality: HTC has a perfect example how to flashlight application should be implemented. Why don't you use HTC assets and add same (if possible of course - two levels of flashlight works only on HTC handsets) functionality?
22nd July 2011, 05:55 AM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Hmm, how long before M$ allows dev's to toggle functions via live tiles?
That would be a handy feature for this app
22nd July 2011, 03:39 PM |#6  
hx4700 Killer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 258
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleki

Hmm, how long before M$ allows dev's to toggle functions via live tiles?
That would be a handy feature for this app

Interesting thought... and to tell you the truth it wouldnt be hard to just issue the toggle on launch and then quit which would essentially do what you want. The app would initialize then toggle the cam and quit back to the tile screen.
22nd July 2011, 04:22 PM |#7  
Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 437
 
Donate to Me
More
No, get switch on titles - not so good idea! But have a HTC assets and functionality sounds much better. If you want I can send you a HTC flashlight graphics.
22nd July 2011, 05:32 PM |#8  
hx4700 Killer's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 258
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sensboston

No, get switch on titles - not so good idea! But have a HTC assets and functionality sounds much better. If you want I can send you a HTC flashlight graphics.

I understood what you meant but since its not available I was just suggesting that it was as close as I could get

Why wouldnt you just use the HTC one if you wanted its graphics/functions?

Sure you can PM me a link to get the HTC stuff.
22nd July 2011, 05:35 PM |#9  
Recognized Developer
Flag Boston, MA
Thanks Meter: 437
 
Donate to Me
More
It's simple - 'cause I have (personally) Samsung Focus (but have a bunch of different development handsets at office)

P.S. Actually I can spend a few hours and write that app by myself but if you already started...
24th July 2011, 10:55 AM |#10  
Ttblondey's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 105
 
More
doesn't work with hd7
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes