5,596,354 Members 39,092 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] boot animation wont change

Tip us?
 
the_KEV
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] boot animation wont change

I'm not exactly sure this is in the correct section but here goes... I have downloaded different boot animations, replaced the bootanimation.zip file using file expert, made sure the permissions were the same, but when I restart my phone, i keep getting the same old factory one. Is there an extra step that I'm missing?
 
the_KEV
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Aug 2010
I forgot to mention, that I am rooted. I thought it was the file explorer program, to I downloaded root explorer, and when I tried to change the name of the original bootanimation.zip, it says that it cant because the file system is read only. Could it have something to do with my problem?
 
dLo GSR
Old
#3  
dLo GSR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 224
Posts: 1,307
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_KEV View Post
I forgot to mention, that I am rooted. I thought it was the file explorer program, to I downloaded root explorer, and when I tried to change the name of the original bootanimation.zip, it says that it cant because the file system is read only. Could it have something to do with my problem?
mount the system as R/W before you do anything in /system. it's at the top of the screen in root explorer.
Nexus 5 - Kit-Kat 4.4
Nexus 7 - CM 10.2 Jelly Bean 4.3
Samsung Galaxy S III - CM 10.2 Jelly Bean 4.3
Motorola Atrix 4G - CM9 Ice Cream Sandwich 4.0.4
Softbank 705px
 
the_KEV
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thanks, that did it. But now instead of the one I downloaded, all I get is the word "android"
 
the_KEV
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Aug 2010
NVM I got it now thanks again
 
dratsablive
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 313
Join Date: Feb 2011
I noticed that after upgrading to lastest OTA that the bootanimation sound doesn't play, even the stock AT&T one. The sound files are present, but they just don't play.

Any suggestions?
 
madnav
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 210
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by dratsablive View Post
I noticed that after upgrading to lastest OTA that the bootanimation sound doesn't play, even the stock AT&T one. The sound files are present, but they just don't play.

Any suggestions?
location for sound file has changed to /system/media/audio/notifications/
The Following User Says Thank You to madnav For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dratsablive
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 313
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by madnav View Post
location for sound file has changed to /system/media/audio/notifications/
Thanks that did the trick
 
the_KEV
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 85
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by madnav View Post
location for sound file has changed to /system/media/audio/notifications/
is this for audio during boot? My phone never played audio during the boot process. I thought it was normal.
 
madnav
Old
(Last edited by madnav; 29th July 2011 at 07:51 PM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 210
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mumbai
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_KEV View Post
is this for audio during boot? My phone never played audio during the boot process. I thought it was normal.
yes, but it will be played only if mentioned so in the desc.txt inside the bootanimation.zip at /system/media/

it is unnecessarily complicated now by changing the location to the new one while the config file resides in bootanimation.zip which originally remains at the same old place.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...