How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] boot animation wont change

OP the_KEV

29th July 2011, 08:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I'm not exactly sure this is in the correct section but here goes... I have downloaded different boot animations, replaced the bootanimation.zip file using file expert, made sure the permissions were the same, but when I restart my phone, i keep getting the same old factory one. Is there an extra step that I'm missing?
29th July 2011, 08:37 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I forgot to mention, that I am rooted. I thought it was the file explorer program, to I downloaded root explorer, and when I tried to change the name of the original bootanimation.zip, it says that it cant because the file system is read only. Could it have something to do with my problem?
29th July 2011, 08:43 AM   |  #3  
dLo GSR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 225
 
1,311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_KEV

I forgot to mention, that I am rooted. I thought it was the file explorer program, to I downloaded root explorer, and when I tried to change the name of the original bootanimation.zip, it says that it cant because the file system is read only. Could it have something to do with my problem?

mount the system as R/W before you do anything in /system. it's at the top of the screen in root explorer.
29th July 2011, 08:55 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks, that did it. But now instead of the one I downloaded, all I get is the word "android"
29th July 2011, 08:58 AM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
NVM I got it now thanks again
29th July 2011, 06:08 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
I noticed that after upgrading to lastest OTA that the bootanimation sound doesn't play, even the stock AT&T one. The sound files are present, but they just don't play.

Any suggestions?
29th July 2011, 06:10 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 30
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dratsablive

I noticed that after upgrading to lastest OTA that the bootanimation sound doesn't play, even the stock AT&T one. The sound files are present, but they just don't play.

Any suggestions?

location for sound file has changed to /system/media/audio/notifications/
The Following User Says Thank You to madnav For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th July 2011, 06:31 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by madnav

location for sound file has changed to /system/media/audio/notifications/

Thanks that did the trick
29th July 2011, 07:40 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by madnav

location for sound file has changed to /system/media/audio/notifications/

is this for audio during boot? My phone never played audio during the boot process. I thought it was normal.
29th July 2011, 08:42 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 30
 
213 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_KEV

is this for audio during boot? My phone never played audio during the boot process. I thought it was normal.

yes, but it will be played only if mentioned so in the desc.txt inside the bootanimation.zip at /system/media/

it is unnecessarily complicated now by changing the location to the new one while the config file resides in bootanimation.zip which originally remains at the same old place.
Last edited by madnav; 29th July 2011 at 08:51 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes