Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,988 Members 45,380 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] Instructions for obtaining root access!

Tip us?
 
edgan
Old
(Last edited by edgan; 12th August 2011 at 11:18 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 97
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROOT] Instructions for obtaining root access!

Here is the method I discovered for root access. Yes, it requires the HD Station. There is currently no way around that. You have to download and extract pulse.tar in webtop. There is no other way I know of that will work. You can use adb or Android Terminal Emulator instead of ssh, but you are on your own. With those, expect problems with your PATH.

I have surprise for another day now.



Please donate with the "Donate to me" button on the top left of this post, if you are willing. I don't promise anything new in the future. It would just be a thank you for this hack.


Here is a very nicely done pdf with screenshots, done by twospirits.
Instructions with screenshots

Here is a very nice Youtube tutorial:
Youtube tutorial

Requirements:
HD Station
Sprint Photon
HDMI cable that came with HD Station
Monitor or TV with open HDMI port
Wifi connection on the phone
Computer with network access to the phone

Steps:
1. Install Superuser from the Market
2. Install SSHDroid from the Market
3. Open SSHDroid, and make sure it is listening on port 2222
4. Connect Photon to HD Station
5. Connect HDMI to HD Station and TV/Monitor
6. Turn TV/Monitor on
7. Change TV/Monitor input to HDMI
8. Open Firefox in webtop
9. Go to http://higgs.cygnusx-1.org/~edgan/pulse.tar
10. Open it instead of saving
11. Extract pulse.tar to /var/tmp
12. Connect to phone via ssh at ip address mentioned in SSHDroid and port 2222
13. Type /var/tmp/pulse/pa_race
14. Type /var/tmp/pulse/install-su.sh
15. Type rm -rf /var/tmp/pulse*

SSH:

Windows:
http://the.earth.li/~sgtatham/putty/.../x86/putty.exe

Linux, in terminal window:
ssh -p 2222 root@ip-address-mentioned-in-SSHDroid

Mac, in terminal window:
ssh -p 2222 root@ipaddress-mentioned-in-SSHDroid


Thank you bane449!
Thank you PAulyhoffman!
Thank you Brandon15811!
Thank you Yay!
Thank you twospirits!
The Following 30 Users Say Thank You to edgan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PAulyhoffman
Old
#2  
PAulyhoffman's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 480
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN
This is some great work Edgan.

Might see a spike in Dock sales, unknown is working on webtop over hdmi right now so if someone can just "borrow" a dock to root they will still be able to use webtop with out it.
 
quantum23
Old
#3  
quantum23's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL
Way to go! Can't wait to try it out! Thanks guys!

Sent from my MB855 using XDA App
 
manekineko
Old
#4  
manekineko's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 228
Posts: 997
Join Date: Jul 2009
Hmmm should be able to just do this all by ConnectBot as well, eh?

Unrooting should be as simple as deleting /system/bin/su and uninstalling Superuser, right?

For people that have seen the webtop in action before, is it activated immediately upon plugging it in or do you need to plug in the HDMI as well? Why are the keyboard and mouse necessary, are there no on-screen equivalents on webtop?
 
mikeyinid
Old
#5  
mikeyinid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2483
Posts: 6,820
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nampa
Awesome job here gentleman cant wait to get this thing rooted

Sent from my MB855 using XDA App
Follow me on Twitter @mikeyinid
 
dis39tif
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 38
Join Date: Sep 2007
Is this a permanent root or a temporary one that we'll need to reapply each time we reboot? Great job regardless!
The Following User Says Thank You to dis39tif For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
edgan
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 370
Posts: 97
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dis39tif View Post
Is this a permanent root or a temporary one that we'll need to reapply each time we reboot? Great job regardless!
Permanent, though as soon as an update comes out, we will have to figure out if it breaks OTA. Once they fix the exploit, it gets even harder.
 
sonicdivx
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 87
Join Date: Sep 2007
edgan,

Nice work, enjoyed watching you guys work last night on IRC.

So has anybody installed apps like Titanium Backup that require root?

If so off to get me a dock.
 
Devi0124
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 588
Join Date: Dec 2010
My will power is getting weaker and weaker.. Im trying to hold out for the SGS2 but these threads make it tough.
 
WrlsFanatic
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 348
Join Date: Jul 2010
My question is, does anyone have a custom recovery installed on it? If you can root the system and put a custom recovery on it, then you're good to go.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes