Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Clock issue after reboot to Windows Mobile

OP lie_ui

11th August 2011, 06:43 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
TX, US
Thanks Meter: 2
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
We discussed before the clock issue in Android (where the clock always lagged).
In my FRX07, I enabled "use network provided time" and it seems to be okay.
What I noticed is that, every time I reboot the phone to Windows Mobile, the clock in Windows Mobile is messed up (not the minutes, but the hours).
Everytime I reboot to Windows Mobile, I would like to correct the hour in the clock.
Look around but I could not find how to enable the clock in WM to use the network provided time as well.
Any input/help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
11th August 2011, 06:57 PM   |  #2  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,643
 
11,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lie_ui

We discussed before the clock issue in Android (where the clock always lagged).
In my FRX07, I enabled "use network provided time" and it seems to be okay.
What I noticed is that, every time I reboot the phone to Windows Mobile, the clock in Windows Mobile is messed up (not the minutes, but the hours).
Everytime I reboot to Windows Mobile, I would like to correct the hour in the clock.
Look around but I could not find how to enable the clock in WM to use the network provided time as well.
Any input/help will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

This is a WinMo issue, not an Android issue.

Android (and Linux/FreeBSD/every other OS) stores time in UTC, and then works backwards to your local time. WinMo (and Windows OS...) stores it in the local timezone only. So when you boot back to WinMo, it'll be exactly off by whatever offset you are from UTC.

To fix this, you need to resolve on the WinMo side. My phone always gets the time from the carrier - I'm a lucky CDMA user that always gets NITZ from my carrier .

If you're not so lucky and are on a GSM carrier that doesn't update your time properly, then you'll need to find some app in WinMo that keeps the clock synced. I can't help you here - again this is a WinMo problem, not Android!!. My solution for me is to just let the time update from my carrier. Again, if that does not work for you, find some atomic clock app or some such thing. Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to arrrghhh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th August 2011, 07:58 PM   |  #3  
ypsmav's Avatar
Recognized Developer
EU
Thanks Meter: 463
 
693 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Hi lie_ui,
I use the following trick to avoid the problem when I'm back to WM.
In Android, I set up the time manually and I select a time zone -2 hours.
For example if you are in GMT+5, setup Android manually in GMT+3. In this way you will have no problems.

To avoid the time lag, I use clocksync from the market, which works ok.
The Following User Says Thank You to ypsmav For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th August 2011, 09:58 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
TX, US
Thanks Meter: 2
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
Thanks for the ideas! I will try it. Do mind explain to me where the -2 hours coming from? Just try to understand the logic. Thanks.
11th August 2011, 10:12 PM   |  #5  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,643
 
11,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lie_ui

Thanks for the ideas! I will try it. Do mind explain to me where the -2 hours coming from? Just try to understand the logic. Thanks.

Re-read my post. He's trying to circumvent the UTC effect... So he's setting it 2hrs back to offset UTC for his timezone...
17th August 2011, 09:24 PM   |  #6  
Daved+'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
432 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
I don't want to use a wrong timezone and I'm on GSM so I use ClockSync to set the time correctly in Android but I haven't found a similar application to do the same in WinMo so I'm setting my time manually everytime I want to use WinMo, it really sucks. Does anyone know any application that will sync the time automatically via NTP on WinMo?
17th August 2011, 09:30 PM   |  #7  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,643
 
11,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daved+

I don't want to use a wrong timezone and I'm on GSM so I use ClockSync to set the time correctly in Android but I haven't found a similar application to do the same in WinMo so I'm setting my time manually everytime I want to use WinMo, it really sucks. Does anyone know any application that will sync the time automatically via NTP on WinMo?

This is the Android Development section... Please ask in the general/WinMo section. Thanks.

Gooooogle found this, no clue if it works or not:

http://www.ehow.com/how_6717575_conf...e-use-ntp.html
5th September 2011, 01:06 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
Can we add some command or setting in Android's "STARTUP.txt" to offset the time?
But it still don't solve the time problem if we boot back to WinMo.
5th September 2011, 05:17 PM   |  #9  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 3,643
 
11,399 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by korn2

Can we add some command or setting in Android's "STARTUP.txt" to offset the time?
But it still don't solve the time problem if we boot back to WinMo.

It's really a WinMo issue. If your phone syncs its time with the carrier in WinMo, the problem is solved. I've never had this issue, but I guess my carrier always sends out NITZ so my time is always correct... love that CDMA .

Since it is a WinMo issue, you'll have to solve it with a WinMo app - find some atomic clock application for WinMo that automatically syncs the time in WinMo. ClockSync for Android, something similar for WinMo and you won't have the issue.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes