I actually restored some old settings and don't notice the problem any longer (thank goodness for Titanium Backup - which I didn't think about until after I set up my folders again).
Now I have another problem. I have noticed that sometimes when I send an email, it will send multiple versions of the draft out as well as the final draft. For example, grafts are automatically saved in gmail every so many minutes. Well if it takes me 20 minutes (I know, that's a long time - lol) to send out the email, all the saved versions of the draft are sent out also. This can be quite troublesome if I completely reword or delete sections of the email before I send out the final version. Any clues as to why or how this is happening? Thanks in advance.