Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,470 Members 40,535 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DEV]Link2SD working on X10i

Tip us?
 
anantshri
Old
(Last edited by anantshri; 21st August 2011 at 12:28 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 680
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bangalore

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [DEV]Link2SD working on X10i

=================== GOOD NEWS ================

Thanks to GORO and Z we have a solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by tkymgr View Post
Hi,

because link2sd rearranges install-recovery.sh

I made a patch for patch for using link2sd

for CM7-Z-MOD-002

for SE 2.3.3 sample

Z's work contributes to all.

Thanks for Z !!

Cheers,
tkymgr

Step by step guide
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=39

thanks to waigsr


for those looking to see the technical aspects of it.

SE sample zip contains a vold replacement from cm7 which actually do the magic of making sure that first partition gets mounted.

Note : as Link2SD messes with install-recovery.sh its adviced that after flashing this zip port any specific tweak you have in install-recovery.sh over to install-recovery2.sh in the same folder.

and then run link2SD

Hope this helps.



-============== Keeping old study for later reference and memories only ==============


I have been messing around with Link2SD and its config here is a short writeup for those who want to help.

The basic problem

Link2SD looks for a partition no of /sdcard +1 partition
Android has a habbit of mounting the last partition as /sdcard

so link2sd is going to fail in all senses.

however if anything is mounting at /data/sdext2 Link2sd condsider it as a second partition

so we still have hope of using it however there are several limitations of it.

multiple ways in which link2sd could be used.

1) create 2 partitions on sdcard
a) ext2 partition as mmcblk0p1
b) vfat partition as mmcblk0p2

entry in install-recovery.sh
mount -t ext2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /data/sdext2


Cons : xrecovery can't mount sdcard as its mmcblk0p1 that xrecovery mounts


2) create 2 vfat partitions
a) mmcblk0p1 mounting itself at /data/sdext2
b) mmcblk0p2 mounting itself as /sdcard

cons recovery related files will go in /data/sdext2


3) three partition layout
a) mmcblk0p1 -> reserverd for recovery related stuff
b) mmcblk0p2 -> link2sd
c) mmcblk0p3 -> SDCARD

or find an alternative to use mmcblk0p1 as /sdcard

or use a loop file as /data/sdext2

Do suggest what you all think and how should we proceed.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to anantshri For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DooMLoRD
Old
#3  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 38,381
Posts: 13,058
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Noida
and u sure this doesnt break recovery?


ok now that i read the post carefully i understand that it WILL BREAK recovery
 
anantshri
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 680
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bangalore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD View Post
and u sure this doesnt break recovery?


ok now that i read the post carefully i understand that it WILL BREAK recovery
cons highlighted to avoid confusion.

any idea how we can get this piece to work.
 
coolsid8
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 292
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: India
BTW why do we need it when we have app2sd ?
How's it better ?
 
DooMLoRD
Old
#6  
DooMLoRD's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 38,381
Posts: 13,058
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Noida
Quote:
Originally Posted by anantshri View Post
cons highlighted to avoid confusion.

any idea how we can get this piece to work.
keep only one FAT32 partition...

modify the recovery ramdisk to mount that partition to /sdcard
 
anantshri
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 680
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bangalore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by DooMLoRD View Post
keep only one FAT32 partition...

modify the recovery ramdisk to mount that partition to /sdcard
that could be done

however there is one more issue which i found just now

SDCARD can't be mounted to PC till both partitions are umounted and that won't be done automatically so we need alternative for sdcard umounting also

something like a gscript code for umounting /data/sdext2 before attempting sdcard mount to pc
 
Adolf1994
Old
#8  
Adolf1994's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 384
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fertőrákos
the new vold introduced in froyo causes this issue
Mipony Download Manager - the ultimate download manager for crappy hosts, like hotfile... Spread the word to make downloading much easier

Am I the only one here with animated avatar?
 
anantshri
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 318
Posts: 680
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bangalore

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adolf1994 View Post
the new vold introduced in froyo causes this issue

the default vold.fstab listing is

dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard auto /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host/mmc0 /devices/platform/goldfish_mmc.0 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.4/mmc_host/mmc0 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.4/mmc_host/mmc1



some stuff online suggests that i can specify a partition number manually.

however
Code:
dev_mount sdcard /mnt/sdcard 1 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.1/mmc_host/mmc0 /devices/platform/goldfish_mmc.0 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.4/mmc_host/mmc0 /devices/platform/msm_sdcc.4/mmc_host/mmc1

when i am trying this it barks out and not even mounts sdcard.
 
Guantanamo
Old
#10  
Guantanamo's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 140
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tétouan
With the sdcard parted in 3 partitions, I tried to make the third partition recognized by my pc, and I tried an application named multimount sd or something like that and it worked for me. You can found it in the market. With it, the pc can recognize the third partition not the first. Maybe that will help in your project.

Sent from my X10i

Other Devices Shortly Used :
- HTC Touch HD2
- Galaxy S I GT-I9000, Galaxy S II GT-I9100 + GT-I9100G, Galaxy S III GT-i9300, Galaxy S IV GT-i9505, Galaxy Tab 2 10.1 GT-P5100, HTC MyTouch 3G Slide
- iPhone 2G, 3G, 3GS, 4, 4S, iPad 2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes