Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Drop to Windows v1.6 + Sense Tools + Parameters | Sense shortcuts fixed!!!!

OP Nullstring

18th August 2011, 09:25 PM   |  #1  
Nullstring's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Baguio
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
A small tool I made while creating my ROM. I don't know if this will help you in any way guys but it's my share for this community and a big thank you for helping me.

So here's DropToWin
Which copies files and folders to \Windows directory. I think it's a good tool if you're trying to make some changes in your WM.


This is how it looks like in my Explorer


Quote:

Features:

  • Restart Sense/Manila
  • Stop Sense
  • Start Sense
  • Soft Reset
  • Copy Files and Folders without the nag of question to overwrite files/folders.
  • Can accept parameters - thanks to @ai6908 for his thoughts about this
  • Import Registry - future. May require (dotfred) FDC Task Manager

Quote:

Installation
Please install it in your Device! Not in Storage Card.

Sorry but there are some limitation in Visual Studio - Smart Device CAB.
So I had to make a workaround.
ref: http://hadsy.net/2009/02/18/WindowsC...BProjects.aspx

Quote:

Instructions:

  • The project is now released as a .CAB file so it has to be installed.
  • Copy the Files or Folders you want to drop in \Windows directory in \Program Files\Gambit Mobile Tools\DropToWin directory
  • or you can Copy(Do not move!) the .exe file in your SD, but make sure to have a separate folder for it.

Quote:

Parameters:
rs = Restart Sense
ex: DropToWin.exe rs

ts = Stop Sense
ex: DropToWin.exe ts

ss = Start Sense
ex: DropToWin.exe ss

sr = Soft Reset
ex: DropToWin.exe sr

Quote:

Experimental File Parameters
1. Deleting a file in \Windows directory directly here in DropToWin
Instructions:
-- 1.1 Make a dummy file
------ e.g. If you want to delete ManilaFull.xml in \Windows directory
------ 1.1.1 Create a dummy file and name it like this >> q=del;ManilaFull.xml
------ 1.1.2 Then copy that file where DropToWin.exe is located then click DROP button!
2. Renaming a file in \Windows directory directly here in DropToWin
Instructions:
-- 2.1 Make a dummy file
------ e.g. If you want to rename ManilaFull.xml in \Windows directory
------ 2.1.1 Create a dummy file and name it like this >> q=ren~New_File_Name_Of_ManilFull.xml;ManilaFull.xml
------ 2.1.2 Then copy that file where DropToWin.exe is located then click DROP button!

Quote:

HISTORY:
v1.6
- Fixed sync when loading large files.

v1.5
- Added 2 new parameter
- Added 5 shortcuts in Start Menu\Gambit Tools
- Added HQ icons for those 5 shortcuts
-

v1.3
- Added parameter support
- Experimental file parameters

v1.2
Initial Release

I also wrote another program called Package Manager. Grab it here
Attached Files
File Type: cab DropToWin-v1.5.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (189.0 KB, 66 views)
File Type: zip (just the exe file) - DropToWin.zip - [Click for QR Code] (15.1 KB, 35 views)
File Type: cab DropToWin-v1.6.CAB - [Click for QR Code] (189.5 KB, 699 views)
Last edited by Nullstring; 29th August 2011 at 11:34 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Nullstring For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th August 2011, 05:26 PM   |  #2  
joshzzz2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 25
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
good job, p're. will try it. i'm particularly interested in stop/start sense without going though the hassle.

p.s. just installed it in storage card, not on device, did a soft reset but cannot launch restart/stop sense. error says: file 'drop to win' cannot be opened, either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of its components cannot be found.
Last edited by joshzzz2001; 19th August 2011 at 05:43 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to joshzzz2001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2011, 04:39 AM   |  #3  
Nullstring's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Baguio
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshzzz2001

good job, p're. will try it. i'm particularly interested in stop/start sense without going though the hassle.

p.s. just installed it in storage card, not on device, did a soft reset but cannot launch restart/stop sense. error says: file 'drop to win' cannot be opened, either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of its components cannot be found.

forgot to tell, you have to install it in your device. the shortcuts was looking for DropToWin.exe in \Program Files\Gambit Mobile Tools\DropToWin.

Sorry but there are some limitation in Visual Studio - Smart Device CAB.
So I had to make a workaround.
ref: http://hadsy.net/2009/02/18/WindowsC...BProjects.aspx
Last edited by Nullstring; 20th August 2011 at 04:48 AM.
20th August 2011, 08:40 AM   |  #4  
joshzzz2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 25
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nullstring

forgot to tell, you have to install it in your device. the shortcuts was looking for DropToWin.exe in \Program Files\Gambit Mobile Tools\DropToWin.

Sorry but there are some limitation in Visual Studio - Smart Device CAB.
So I had to make a workaround.
ref: http://hadsy.net/2009/02/18/WindowsC...BProjects.aspx

still the same error. did a soft reset after installing in device. checked my file explorer and it it is \Program Files\Drop to Windows\DropToWin.exe, different from above.
The Following User Says Thank You to joshzzz2001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2011, 08:53 AM   |  #5  
Nullstring's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Baguio
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshzzz2001

still the same error. did a soft reset after installing in device. checked my file explorer and it it is \Program Files\Drop to Windows\DropToWin.exe, different from above.

Thanks man! I think I saw the problem in my CAB setup now. Will be uploading a new one later after fixing it.

- UPDATE --------------------

can you try it now please?

------------------------------

17 downloads and others didn't even bother to report about the problem with the shortcuts
Last edited by Nullstring; 20th August 2011 at 03:12 PM.
20th August 2011, 09:13 AM   |  #6  
joshzzz2001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 25
 
396 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nullstring

Thanks man! I think I saw the problem in my CAB setup now. Will be uploading a new one later after fixing it.

- UPDATE --------------------

can you try it now please?

------------------------------

17 downloads and others didn't even bother to report about the problem with the shortcuts

now, it works! it turns off/on sense in a zip. thanks and congratulations to another great app!
The Following User Says Thank You to joshzzz2001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th August 2011, 09:06 PM   |  #7  
ai6908's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Land of Lincoln
Thanks Meter: 267
 
3,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Donate to Me
More
Great tool nulstring! Thanks for adding my request...
26th August 2011, 03:50 AM   |  #8  
Nullstring's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Baguio
Thanks Meter: 242
 
1,170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Donate to Me
More
are you guys doing ok with this app?
26th August 2011, 02:30 PM   |  #9  
nosedive's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vienna, AUT
Thanks Meter: 68
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
first, thanks for this great app!
second - works well with start/stop sense..
great to see there are some excellent programmers left

The Following User Says Thank You to nosedive For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, application, gambit, jayson, jwmd
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes