Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Linux on Universal (Update #4)

OP pasztorl

1st November 2007, 05:04 PM   |  #1731  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Hi. Yesterday I installed the OpenMoko image (kernel version 2.6.21-hh16) to my Universal (HTC).
Could someone explain me how to start wi-fi via acx module. Thank you!
2nd November 2007, 10:50 AM   |  #1732  
Senior Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kodovoimeji

Hi. Yesterday I installed the OpenMoko image (kernel version 2.6.21-hh16) to my Universal (HTC).
Could someone explain me how to start wi-fi via acx module. Thank you!

Hi, pleasse search in this thread before you ask question. I have answered this several times now.

Open the shell and:

Code:
:$modprobe acx
You have to setup your accesspoint as DHCP and no wep/wpa. You can use wep but to use it google for wep and linux.
5th November 2007, 01:40 PM   |  #1733  
Senior Member
Flag Frankfurt Germany
Thanks Meter: 1
 
285 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2005
More
new openmoko snapshot
Hi goxboxlive,

there is a new snapshot of openmoko for angstrom released.

Please .... make us a new one, if you got any time :`)
16th November 2007, 10:32 AM   |  #1734  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Please could someone tell me wich version of:
  • gcc
  • glibc
  • binutils
  • linux kernel (should be v2.6.21)
is present inside Linux images?
16th November 2007, 04:50 PM   |  #1735  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2005
No Graphical interface Un HTC 9000
Dear,
I never been able to see the x11 desktop or what else on my qtek 9000. I tried Openmoko OPIE ecc but the initial loading graphical interface, it return in console mode.
Whould you please help me?
16th November 2007, 05:04 PM   |  #1736  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
155 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
More
Perl?
As a Perl developer one of the biggest pulls for me would be if I can:

Write and test Perl applications on the Exec/Universal
VPN into work over WIFI/3G,
SSH to my development server and work there

Anyone know how much of the above I can do?

G
17th November 2007, 12:12 AM   |  #1737  
Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 1
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2004
More
just wondering if when released, android will be ported to universal...this would be nice...

edit: ops... i'm reading right now that HTC Omni has been used for an Android presentation under the name of HTC Dream.
HTC is part of the development of Android, with the Open Handset Alliance. Do you think htc will ever release "spontaneusly" some kind of kernel for his devices?
Last edited by lyka; 17th November 2007 at 12:23 AM.
18th November 2007, 03:36 PM   |  #1738  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
1,434 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyka

Do you think htc will ever release "spontaneusly" some kind of kernel for his devices?

No. They will probably like that you buy a new device
20th November 2007, 10:38 PM   |  #1739  
Senior Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Updated Qtopia image with easy installer
Hi.

I have made a new Qtopia image, It's not more stable than previoues, but it has sound support now.
Unfortantly i can not inlcude helix player, because of license rules. If you want Helix included you have to build it yourself. The phone now alerts on incomming call and sms.

But the huge news is that it has never been easier to install linux on your HTC Universal. Now you wouldnt need any linux computer or a ramdisk image to test linux.
A guy at irc (Kevin2) has created a script that installs linux to a vfat partition. So all you have to do now is to hit the Qtopia-Linux-htcuniversal.exe file and the image will install it self on the SD card.

But you will need at least 128MB free space on your card. Sometimes that isent enough either, i am having 200MB free space on my cards.

When you hit the file it will create a 100MB image file on your card. Linux will install in to this image. If you dont want linux on your universal anymore you can just delete the file. But if you want to have it just hit the Qtopia-Linux-htcuniversal.exe file again and linux will now boot from the image file. The *.tar.bz2 can be deleted after first boot.

So how to do this:
Grab both of the files from here: http://www.linuxtogo.org/~htcpxa/htc.../Qtopia-4.3.1/

1) Place them on the root of your SD card (not inside any folder, it will break).
2) Hit Qtopia-Linux-htcuniversal.exe
3) Linux will start and it will install as explained above. Just so you know,it will take some of time to install, at least 5 min, maybe more, it depends on the speed of your sd card.
4) Next Angstrom boot logo will appear linux is now installed and it runs from the angstrom image and not the installer anymore.
5) Qtopia will start and screen might be a little funny, maybe flash a little (it's normal).
6) Qtopia Linux is running, have fun. The phone might be a liitle unstable, but we are working on it.

If you dont want to run linux anymore just held the power button for a few sec and a shutdown menu will appear.
To shut down linux, just hit RESTART DEVICE and wince will boot.
If the phone doesnt work first time and the screen get locked, just held the powerbutton for a few sec and and choose "Restart Qtopia". Somtimes it hels to get phone working.

If you somehow ended up in the shell just write username root hit enter. To shutdown linux write:
Code:
reboot
Or if you want to start Qtopia again from the shell run:
Code:
/etc/init.d/qpe.sh start

If you want to test linux again from wince just hit the Qtopia-Linux-htcuniversal.exe file and it will boot, but now it will boot alot faster since the image is installed and the linux distribution is finalized.

Remember, if you are having wifi enabled when booting linux then your touchscreen wouldnt work in linux. So be sure to have wifi disabled when booting linux.

Good luck, have fun...


As allways, you do this at your own risc. It might break your device, it has never happend, but you never know. We do this just for fun, and we dont see the point of not shairing this.
Last edited by goxboxlive; 21st November 2007 at 11:03 PM. Reason: Fixed Restart Qtopia button
22nd November 2007, 09:42 PM   |  #1740  
Senior Member
Flag Oslo
Thanks Meter: 14
 
443 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2005
More
Openmoko image "easy install"
Added also a Openmoko image with the easy install file.

Just place the image and the exe file on the root of your sd card and hit the exe file.

The phone is working with openemoko, but still lacks sms support.

http://www.linuxtogo.org/~htcpxa/htc...ages/OpenMoko/


As allways, you do this at your own risc. It might break your device, it has never happend, but you never know. We do this just for fun, and we dont see the point of not shairing this.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes