FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

New Android One Device Dead On Arrival

Today, Google announced the second generation of Android One devices, with the new Lava Pixel … more

 View Poll Results: I have a problem with touchscreen

Yes
 
451 Vote(s)
66.72%
No
 
225 Vote(s)
33.28%

[LINK TO FIX][UPD 29AUG]Touchscreen Not Responsive

14,078 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,334
 
By undercover, Senior Member on 18th June 2011, 01:47 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd August 2011, 02:38 AM |#931  
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
The metal contact might be it...
I noticed if you touch the silver metal contact with your finger as you have the back cover off, the performance of the touchscreen increases. This is what I am talking about.



Here is what I believe to be the problem, correct me if I am wrong. That metal contact is meant to ground the phone and it is not working properly or maybe since most of us use rubber or plastic cases, we block that from happening. Since the static has no where to go it just builds up on the phone, and in turn messing up our touch commands. Capacitive touch screens work because our body is a conductor. The screen is coated with a transparent conductor, so it makes sense that static would mess things up. I forgot who but someone said earlier that they charged the phone on a metallic surface and the problem went away, charged it on wood and the problem came back. I study electrical engineering, but I am still a student and I could be wrong but its a start.....right
Last edited by abrown0809; 23rd August 2011 at 02:55 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to abrown0809 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
23rd August 2011, 05:28 AM |#932  
nugzo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fayetteville, NC.
Thanks Meter: 569
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrown0809

I noticed if you touch the silver metal contact with your finger as you have the back cover off, the performance of the touchscreen increases. This is what I am talking about.



Here is what I believe to be the problem, correct me if I am wrong. That metal contact is meant to ground the phone and it is not working properly or maybe since most of us use rubber or plastic cases, we block that from happening. Since the static has no where to go it just builds up on the phone, and in turn messing up our touch commands. Capacitive touch screens work because our body is a conductor. The screen is coated with a transparent conductor, so it makes sense that static would mess things up. I forgot who but someone said earlier that they charged the phone on a metallic surface and the problem went away, charged it on wood and the problem came back. I study electrical engineering, but I am still a student and I could be wrong but its a start.....right

Is this what you are talking about?

23rd August 2011, 06:45 AM |#933  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
tested it yesterday,worked also for me:)
Removed the cover played for two minutes and it worked like new.

Great, thanks

That's a faster metode than with the safe mode.
But now i don't understand why the safe mode also work.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
23rd August 2011, 06:47 AM |#934  
exb0's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 3.137136,101.594663
Thanks Meter: 419
 
More
Touchscreen issue was a software problem for me. After a wipe it was okay

Sent from my own custom Rom for sensation. 200mb free :3
23rd August 2011, 08:41 AM |#935  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
It will come back:)

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
23rd August 2011, 11:55 AM |#936  
misiek_to_ja's Avatar
Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrown0809

EDIT: I just played with it for about a minute without the back cover on, I have to say this is the first time I have seen the carousel in weeks. Lockscreen works with the lightest touch now. I hope this fix lasts. I put the cover back on and the effects are still there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by aliensmille76

tested it yesterday,worked also for me:)
Removed the cover played for two minutes and it worked like new.

Hi guys,

Good to hear that it also works for you ! So we have 4 confirmed cases ! You can thanks my daughter, because if I would not be with her on the playground, let be honest - little bored, I would not discover this I think it is definitely related to static electricity, as abrown0809 wrote: "Since the static has no where to go it just builds up on the phone, and in turn messing up our touch commands". By putting the phone in our palm we let it go to our body and then to the ground. It might be related to some silver metal contact, but I think the static could gather on different parts as well and by touching the whole phone you can let all the static electricity go to hell. In my case it is totally repeatable, I did several more tests and I think the time required to play with the touchscreen without the back cover is related to the amount of static electricity you have in your phone. Sometimes it is 5 seconds and sometimes I need to play with it for 2 minutes. But anyway it brings my touchscreen back to normal.

And guys - please remember that people mixed several different reasons in this thread for touchscreen problems. Sometimes it is because of the software (restarting the phone, performing hard reset, loading new ROM helps), but most of us experience the second problem - more hardware related.
Last edited by misiek_to_ja; 23rd August 2011 at 12:05 PM.
23rd August 2011, 12:02 PM |#937  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Had the same problem with sensation got a replacement bad screen they said

Sent from my HTC Sensation 4G using XDA App
23rd August 2011, 12:07 PM |#938  
misiek_to_ja's Avatar
Member
Flag Warsaw
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by marine1312

Had the same problem with sensation got a replacement bad screen they said

I don't want to make you sad, but read the entire thread - some people did 3-4 replacements and had the same problem after some time. It seems that HTC didn't find fix for this yet and all phones are vulnerable after some time.
23rd August 2011, 12:42 PM |#939  
veper's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
So basically the proper solution is for HTC to produce new, modified back cover that will deal with static?

Sent from my HTC Sensation
23rd August 2011, 01:06 PM |#940  
Pro Gamer's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Karaj
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I bought this phone a month ago and I don't have any problem with touchscreen.
Mine is India branded and production date is : 5/26/2011

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App
23rd August 2011, 01:23 PM |#941  
undercover's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London, UK
Thanks Meter: 4,334
 
More
Glad to hear that solution worked for more people, let's make it one more confirmed case and it goes in the OP as a main solution with all the credits to the guy who discovered it.
To eliminate the problem, after that we shouldn't use stock charger. I'll add more detail to the OP later. But don't forget ,HTC still keep very quiet about this problem, and haven't admitted to it yet, so please,let them know, email is in the OP.

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes