Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

New Retail rom: 360

OP TheManii

29th August 2011, 08:19 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
i think i will stay on original 2.2.2
29th August 2011, 10:25 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Thumbs up
Confirmed working fine. Can't notice any big differences
to the 351 version. But the nagging oovooo crap isn't
autostarting anymore, as someone else mentioned.
Anyway, hats off to the great Manii, for this find!
30th August 2011, 12:09 AM   |  #13  
fards's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Currently Reverse Engineering 42
Thanks Meter: 834
 
5,680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Televinken

Anyway, hats off to the great Manii, for this find!

:COUGH :COUGH



its amazing what you can find with a bit of googling
The Following User Says Thank You to fards For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2011, 01:46 AM   |  #14  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 430
 
1,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rm001

I have installed the 360th. Looks absolutely similar to 351 (including all applications and languages; it`s not a chinese version).
- the Quadrant score is 775
- OOVOO doesn`t start automatically
- GingerBreak 1.2 installed, but no SuperUser and no root !!!
- SuperOne Click also doesn`t help with root

(reminder) before returning to 351, it`s necessary to downgrade the recovery version.

I root in the time honored tradition of yore:

0. Install Dell drivers for PC.
1. Install Streakmod Recovery (for ease of use, Multirecovery Flasher works wonders here).
2. Update from zip and select Superuser.zip.

I've oversimplified this. Manii has a how-to in the development forum, and Radimus' Guide to Rooting the Streak is a must. But, this route should work without fail, whereas the one-click root methods don't always work.

Now...I have to debate whether I want to go the route of upgrading to this ROM and having to install everything again or sticking with 351.
Last edited by Strephon Alkhalikoi; 30th August 2011 at 01:57 AM.
30th August 2011, 05:25 AM   |  #15  
OP Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,597
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
If you're on a 351 stock, you can likely click the pkg link with the built in browser and it'll ask you to update in place. This only works though if the rom can normally update to it (ie regions match correctly)

Basically that means updating without touching/wiping your data.

At least I think this works, I've heard it a few times but I never bothered trying as I have no reason to as I always wipe data when installing a new rom (for testing/hacking)
The Following User Says Thank You to TheManii For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th August 2011, 05:38 AM   |  #16  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 430
 
1,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
There should be no difficulty regarding the region, as this Streak had 347 on it when I received it.

I've never heard of using the browser to begin the update before, which is why I thought I was going to have to reinstall everything.
Last edited by Strephon Alkhalikoi; 30th August 2011 at 05:45 AM.
30th August 2011, 05:49 AM   |  #17  
OP Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,597
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I believe that the package installer utility included in stock roms is what does it. It marks itself as able to run pkgs files and will prompt you if you try to run an update pkg. (same way gallery can run jpgs/pngs/etc)

Clicking the download link is the simplest way of running a pkg, you could also try using a file explorer and selecting the pkg

Assuming this works, you of course need the correct stock recovery installed, basically any 00 region one in the case of 360
30th August 2011, 08:41 AM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by fards

:COUGH :COUGH



its amazing what you can find with a bit of googling


Some of us have other things to attend to, than Googling ourselves through the day.

Anyway....a small bow in your direction too then....is that ok with Master Farts?
31st August 2011, 02:35 PM   |  #19  
donalgodon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 668
 
3,800 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheManii

I believe that the package installer utility included in stock roms is what does it. It marks itself as able to run pkgs files and will prompt you if you try to run an update pkg. (same way gallery can run jpgs/pngs/etc)

Clicking the download link is the simplest way of running a pkg, you could also try using a file explorer and selecting the pkg

Assuming this works, you of course need the correct stock recovery installed, basically any 00 region one in the case of 360

Has anyone tried this method to update over 351?

I'm interested to see if this would be a painless update over the previous retail ROM.
1st September 2011, 04:17 AM   |  #20  
Strephon Alkhalikoi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 430
 
1,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
I tried it. The download from the link Manii put up in this thread returned an error of "Download unsuccessful: Cannot download. The content is not supported on this phone." I believe the fact I am rooted is playing a huge part in this since I know I can update the ROM using the stock recovery.

If there are no major changes between 351 and 360, I'll stay with 351. I strip out most of the bloatware and Stage UI anyway.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes