Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more
Thread Deleted

HTC-S730

OP jockyw2001

11th December 2007, 12:51 AM   |  #51  
bigflavor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag nyc
Thanks Meter: 0
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Any word?

Mine is now on it's way...
12th December 2007, 09:38 PM   |  #52  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
hi guys, i got my htc s730 last week and all i can say is what a phone. its only major flaw is the speed of the interface. in regards to the GPS. i dont believe it has built in GPS but after i installed googlemaps it was able to pin point my location, however it looked like it was using a 3G connection to do this. i didn,t know this was possible but maybe you guys could shed some light on the situation
13th December 2007, 12:56 AM   |  #53  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
yea google locates you with the use of GSM
13th December 2007, 03:46 AM   |  #54  
bigflavor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag nyc
Thanks Meter: 0
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave rooney

hi guys, i got my htc s730 last week and all i can say is what a phone. its only major flaw is the speed of the interface. in regards to the GPS. i dont believe it has built in GPS but after i installed googlemaps it was able to pin point my location, however it looked like it was using a 3G connection to do this. i didn,t know this was possible but maybe you guys could shed some light on the situation

http://www.google.com/mobile/gmm/mylocation/index.html

pretty rawesome!
13th December 2007, 01:44 PM   |  #55  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Memory leak/problem..
Someone mentioned it already in the other s730 topic: some people complain about the fact that they have too few memory available when the phone is on. Some say they have about 7-12 megabyte available when they haven't even started an non-standard application and the phone says some applications will have to be shut down when they try to start other applications. Also some say the memory a program uses does not 'come back' when they close the program via the task manager which points to a memory-leak problem.

The reply was it would be fixed in tweaked ROMs or officially new ROM's, ok that will be true, but is it a real problem now? Does anyone experiences this problem here too?
14th December 2007, 12:34 PM   |  #56  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Yes it's a major issue for me (at least).

I can't use the phone the way I used to use my vox and I need to make a choice between the application to run on the background.

More precisely I have to choose between having skype or IM+ (for MSN and AIM messenger) which is a real problem because obviously all my contacts are have different messenger account.

Hopefully a updated rom will take this in consideration and let more ram available for 3rd party applications.
14th December 2007, 01:18 PM   |  #57  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
I wouldn't hold your breath for an update soon from HTC. They've hardly got a good reputation for releasing ROM updates.

One example is the QTEK 8500 (StrTrk). Many U.S. customers (ok, they imported their handsets from UK) couldn't use the phone because of an idle/sleep issue. I don't even recall them ever fixing that handset, but Cingular released the 3125 which was the U.S. specific version of the 8500 many months later. Those US owners of the 8500 were left stranded.

I also don't recall seeing many VOX rom updates either from HTC, only ASIA versions.

The feedback on this HTC Wings/S730 handset within only 2 weeks of it's release indicates most, if not all, of the new owners disappointed with it, or crying out for a ROM update already, or a hardware hack to try and get GPS to work which would invalidate the warranty anyway.

I was undecided whether to get one myself before it's release, but since I've read all the 1st impressions on this forum I'm staying well clear. It seems it only offers 2 advantages over the VOX, slightly faster and 3G capability. Aside from that, I'd say the majority of VOX users who are currently overclocking their device wouldn't benefit much from an upgrade to the S730 unless they need actually need 3G for Video calls or data transfer.

Perhaps if a network provider adopted it and submitted some improvements, then I'll reconsider
Last edited by paholman; 14th December 2007 at 01:22 PM.
17th December 2007, 02:26 PM   |  #58  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
96 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by motin

ftp://xda:xda@ftp.xda-developers.com...ped%20rom/

Is this rom the full pre-production rom? Has anyone loaded it on their S730?
9th February 2009, 05:21 PM   |  #59  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
hi
i have an s730 i make update hardware but audio boobster don't work

Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes