Corgi for Feedly – Material Design RSS Lock Screen

The post Corgi for Feedly – Material Design RSS Lock Screen appeared first on … more

[XPOSED] Pop-up Video in Floating Window

more

HTC to Replace Swype with TouchPal

more

Transformers – Free On Google Play

more
Post Reply

GLONASS support

OP Radek Hulán

7th September 2011, 09:32 AM   |  #11  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
thanks to geronimo_cz, this app did not disapear completely - enjoy this XAP: http://www.uloz.to/10189517/high-fid...n-v1-0-0-0-xap

IMO it does nothing - at least nothing significant. No difference in accuracy or speed...

Possible reason was greatly described by user Tomula on czech forum here: http://smartmania.mobilmania.cz/foru...222286#p222286

He found, that Qualcommu Snapdragon QSD8250 in Omnia does definitely not have GLONASS support, so this app is probably for future devices with new GPS chip. Some sources are mentioned by him:

https://developer.qualcomm.com/disco...ems/snapdragon
https://www.facebook.com/snapdragon/...89045881143225
8th September 2011, 12:52 AM   |  #12  
Radek Hulán's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Prague
Thanks Meter: 19
 
176 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
More
v1.1: http://hotfile.com/dl/129241773/5aff...1.0.0.xap.html

8th September 2011, 01:17 AM   |  #13  
Member
Dunstable, UK
Thanks Meter: 12
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I'd love to have been in their office that day.

"Its uploaded now sir, all the Omnia 7 fans will get GLONASS support"

"Excellent."

*5 minutes later*

"TAKE IT DOWN TAKE IT DOWN, WE PUT TOO CHEAP A PART IN THE PHONE!"

Getting our hopes up like that. It's just shameful.
8th September 2011, 05:36 PM   |  #14  
DJBlaster-303's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bologna
Thanks Meter: 16
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
I receved update from marketplace

if glonass probably doesn't work, sure the first option works
15th September 2011, 07:41 PM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I'm curious how the Glonass can work without a firmware update, doesn't it need different hardware/firmware?
16th September 2011, 09:43 AM   |  #17  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Read the thread again - it was already mentioned, Omnia 7 lacks support of GLONASS in its chipset. This tool is probably designed for future device, but the first option (using aditional device sensors) may still work on Omnia 7.

With current firmware and drivers, it probably does not do anything - functional drivers for compass will come with official Mango release.
16th September 2011, 04:22 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
It's funny how there were some people who noticed "a substantial improvement".
So much for the placebo effect
17th September 2011, 08:55 PM   |  #19  
DJBlaster-303's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bologna
Thanks Meter: 16
 
207 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
when i installed it the 1st time i didn't notice big improvements, but after receiving the update i mentioned in my previous post, Bing maps started to point always north as I set in the preferences and the position was more accurate than before.
21st September 2011, 03:38 PM   |  #20  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Here is the new version, 1.2.0.0: http://www.ulozto.cz/10339233/high-f...n-v1-2-0-0-xap

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes