Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,816 Members 39,008 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[MOD] Disable "Metro" (aka go back to Win7 taskbar style)

Tip us?
 
fiinix
Old
(Last edited by chrisd1a1; 29th June 2012 at 05:50 PM.)
#1  
fiinix's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 224
Posts: 568
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Stockholm

 
DONATE TO ME
Arrow [MOD] Disable "Metro" (aka go back to Win7 taskbar style)

Some of you may have seen it on youtube/google/tech-sites, but i just wanted to show you guys how to disable this new "Metro", to be able to see the original "taskbar" as seen in Windows 7 (so you don't need to put effort into finding how to disable it)

Its as simple as making a Registry (regedit.exe) change.
This hack need's to be performed on each user (if u have multiple users under Win8), due the "HKEY" is "Current user".


Method 1:

Manual set:
Start "regedit.exe"
Navigate to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer
- Set RPEnabled to "dword" value "0" (zero)


Method 2:

Auto set (DISABLE Metro) (save as ".reg" file):
Code:
Select Code
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"RPEnabled"=dword:0
Auto set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
Select Code
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"RPEnabled"=dword:1

Method 3:

CMD set (DISABLE Metro):
Code:
Select Code
reg add HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /f /v RPEnabled /t REG_DWORD /d 0
CMD set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
Select Code
reg add HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /f /v RPEnabled /t REG_DWORD /d 1

Method 4: (as ref posted by agnard):
>Administrator mode needed

CMD set (DISABLE Metro):
Code:
Select Code
ren \Windows\System32\shsxs.dll shsxs_disable.dll
CMD set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
Select Code
ren \Windows\System32\shsxs_disable.dll shsxs.dll
> Last but not least, restart Win8.


- Oh, and i almost forgot: FIRST THREAD @ dev & hack!!
lol
Samsung Omnia 7
- ATO MAGLDR v2
Windows Phone 7

The hottest geek girl in the world SassiBoB, SassyBoB, Sassy BoB, sassibob
May the Thanks's button be with me at all time Luke Skywalker
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to fiinix For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
GazaIan
Old
#2  
GazaIan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 414
Posts: 1,528
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Your basement

 
DONATE TO ME
But why? it's freaking sexy

btw isn't there an executable you can rename in /system32 to disable Metro?
Google Nexus 4
LG G Watch
OUYA

HTC Sensation
HTC myTouch 4G
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GazaIan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Itsukki
Old
#3  
Itsukki's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 146
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Venezuela
Sexy if you use a tablet, otherwise I think it is useless
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Itsukki For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
germanh
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 51
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thanks. BTW - the file should be saved as .reg not .bat
The Following User Says Thank You to germanh For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cp0020
Old
#5  
cp0020's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 1,522
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: atlanta
i personally like the new metro ui. i hated win8 at first but once i got the hang of it and learned how everything works... lets just say i formatted my hard drive and this is now my daily driver. i havent had any issues. everything works.
( sprint HTC HERO) rooted OC @ 710 mhz
8gig class6 sdcard

[daily ROM] always changing



if i've helped you then say THANKS


the only people you should donate to on XDA is...well...XDA!!!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to cp0020 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Volvados
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Belgium
I don't really get why there is no normal setting to use the original taskbar layout as default. Working with the metro interface on a 27" desktop pc just feels as unnatural as using media center...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Volvados For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Lemcott
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 248
Join Date: Mar 2010
I dont see what you're doing here... there's a normal taskbar in win8 without doing any crazy reg hacks. just click on the desktop tile on the start page.

as far as I can see so far, metro ui is only there to replace the start menu, and some system programs (like control panel, etc.)
The Following User Says Thank You to Lemcott For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Volvados
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 17
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Belgium
Sorry, but I just don't see it becoming popular in corporate environments and on desktops. It's the best interface I've ever seen on tablets though.
The Following User Says Thank You to Volvados For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Nitro_123
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 333
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Salmiya
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volvados View Post
Sorry, but I just don't see it becoming popular in corporate environments and on desktops. It's the best interface I've ever seen on tablets though.
TOTALLY agree. though i dont know how much of real dev work will take place. Just a bit skeptical
Trying to help
 
slimshady322
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 223
Join Date: Apr 2011
Well this is a developer preview so developers can build their new metro apps.

This isn't meant to be used in offices as a primary productive system. The Metro UI might very well be disableable (is that even a word?) in the RTM.

Tags
metro, registry, windows 8
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes