FORUMS

IonVR Coming Soon, HTC M9 Dev Edition Gets Android 5.1 – XDA TV

The HTC M9 Developer Edition has received Android 5.1. That and … more

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

[MOD] Disable "Metro" (aka go back to Win7 taskbar style)

569 posts
Thanks Meter: 226
 
By fiinix, Retired Recognized Developer on 15th September 2011, 04:10 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Some of you may have seen it on youtube/google/tech-sites, but i just wanted to show you guys how to disable this new "Metro", to be able to see the original "taskbar" as seen in Windows 7 (so you don't need to put effort into finding how to disable it)

Its as simple as making a Registry (regedit.exe) change.
This hack need's to be performed on each user (if u have multiple users under Win8), due the "HKEY" is "Current user".


Method 1:

Manual set:
Start "regedit.exe"
Navigate to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer
- Set RPEnabled to "dword" value "0" (zero)


Method 2:

Auto set (DISABLE Metro) (save as ".reg" file):
Code:
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"RPEnabled"=dword:0
Auto set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"RPEnabled"=dword:1

Method 3:

CMD set (DISABLE Metro):
Code:
reg add HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /f /v RPEnabled /t REG_DWORD /d 0
CMD set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
reg add HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /f /v RPEnabled /t REG_DWORD /d 1

Method 4: (as ref posted by agnard):
>Administrator mode needed

CMD set (DISABLE Metro):
Code:
ren \Windows\System32\shsxs.dll shsxs_disable.dll
CMD set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
ren \Windows\System32\shsxs_disable.dll shsxs.dll
> Last but not least, restart Win8.


- Oh, and i almost forgot: FIRST THREAD @ dev & hack!!
lol
Last edited by chrisd1a1; 29th June 2012 at 05:50 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to fiinix For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
15th September 2011, 06:38 PM |#2  
GazaIan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Your basement
Thanks Meter: 416
 
Donate to Me
More
But why? it's freaking sexy

btw isn't there an executable you can rename in /system32 to disable Metro?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GazaIan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 06:45 PM |#3  
mikeszf's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venezuela
Thanks Meter: 39
 
More
Sexy if you use a tablet, otherwise I think it is useless
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to mikeszf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 06:53 PM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Thanks. BTW - the file should be saved as .reg not .bat
The Following User Says Thank You to germanh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 07:05 PM |#5  
cp0020's Avatar
Senior Member
atlanta
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
i personally like the new metro ui. i hated win8 at first but once i got the hang of it and learned how everything works... lets just say i formatted my hard drive and this is now my daily driver. i havent had any issues. everything works.
The Following User Says Thank You to cp0020 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 07:14 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I don't really get why there is no normal setting to use the original taskbar layout as default. Working with the metro interface on a 27" desktop pc just feels as unnatural as using media center...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Volvados For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 07:27 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I dont see what you're doing here... there's a normal taskbar in win8 without doing any crazy reg hacks. just click on the desktop tile on the start page.

as far as I can see so far, metro ui is only there to replace the start menu, and some system programs (like control panel, etc.)
The Following User Says Thank You to Lemcott For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 08:07 PM |#8  
Junior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Sorry, but I just don't see it becoming popular in corporate environments and on desktops. It's the best interface I've ever seen on tablets though.
The Following User Says Thank You to Volvados For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 08:17 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volvados

Sorry, but I just don't see it becoming popular in corporate environments and on desktops. It's the best interface I've ever seen on tablets though.

TOTALLY agree. though i dont know how much of real dev work will take place. Just a bit skeptical
15th September 2011, 08:43 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Well this is a developer preview so developers can build their new metro apps.

This isn't meant to be used in offices as a primary productive system. The Metro UI might very well be disableable (is that even a word?) in the RTM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
metro, registry, windows 8
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes