Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD] Disable "Metro" (aka go back to Win7 taskbar style)

OP fiinix

15th September 2011, 05:10 PM   |  #1  
fiinix's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 226
 
569 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Some of you may have seen it on youtube/google/tech-sites, but i just wanted to show you guys how to disable this new "Metro", to be able to see the original "taskbar" as seen in Windows 7 (so you don't need to put effort into finding how to disable it)

Its as simple as making a Registry (regedit.exe) change.
This hack need's to be performed on each user (if u have multiple users under Win8), due the "HKEY" is "Current user".


Method 1:

Manual set:
Start "regedit.exe"
Navigate to: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Explorer
- Set RPEnabled to "dword" value "0" (zero)


Method 2:

Auto set (DISABLE Metro) (save as ".reg" file):
Code:
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"RPEnabled"=dword:0
Auto set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer]
"RPEnabled"=dword:1

Method 3:

CMD set (DISABLE Metro):
Code:
reg add HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /f /v RPEnabled /t REG_DWORD /d 0
CMD set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
reg add HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /f /v RPEnabled /t REG_DWORD /d 1

Method 4: (as ref posted by agnard):
>Administrator mode needed

CMD set (DISABLE Metro):
Code:
ren \Windows\System32\shsxs.dll shsxs_disable.dll
CMD set (ENABLE (default)):
Code:
ren \Windows\System32\shsxs_disable.dll shsxs.dll
> Last but not least, restart Win8.


- Oh, and i almost forgot: FIRST THREAD @ dev & hack!!
lol
Last edited by chrisd1a1; 29th June 2012 at 06:50 PM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to fiinix For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 07:38 PM   |  #2  
GazaIan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Your basement
Thanks Meter: 414
 
1,534 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
But why? it's freaking sexy

btw isn't there an executable you can rename in /system32 to disable Metro?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to GazaIan For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 07:45 PM   |  #3  
Itsukki's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Venezuela
Thanks Meter: 36
 
165 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Sexy if you use a tablet, otherwise I think it is useless
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Itsukki For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 07:53 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Thanks. BTW - the file should be saved as .reg not .bat
The Following User Says Thank You to germanh For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 08:05 PM   |  #5  
cp0020's Avatar
Senior Member
atlanta
Thanks Meter: 4
 
1,522 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
i personally like the new metro ui. i hated win8 at first but once i got the hang of it and learned how everything works... lets just say i formatted my hard drive and this is now my daily driver. i havent had any issues. everything works.
The Following User Says Thank You to cp0020 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 08:14 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
I don't really get why there is no normal setting to use the original taskbar layout as default. Working with the metro interface on a 27" desktop pc just feels as unnatural as using media center...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Volvados For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 08:27 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
I dont see what you're doing here... there's a normal taskbar in win8 without doing any crazy reg hacks. just click on the desktop tile on the start page.

as far as I can see so far, metro ui is only there to replace the start menu, and some system programs (like control panel, etc.)
The Following User Says Thank You to Lemcott For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 09:07 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Belgium
Thanks Meter: 4
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Sorry, but I just don't see it becoming popular in corporate environments and on desktops. It's the best interface I've ever seen on tablets though.
The Following User Says Thank You to Volvados For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2011, 09:17 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 66
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volvados

Sorry, but I just don't see it becoming popular in corporate environments and on desktops. It's the best interface I've ever seen on tablets though.

TOTALLY agree. though i dont know how much of real dev work will take place. Just a bit skeptical
15th September 2011, 09:43 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
223 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Well this is a developer preview so developers can build their new metro apps.

This isn't meant to be used in offices as a primary productive system. The Metro UI might very well be disableable (is that even a word?) in the RTM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
metro, registry, windows 8
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes