Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,915 Members 37,397 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Recovery & Root] Unofficial CWM for Acer Iconia Smart and root method

Tip us?
 
paugustin
Old
#1  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Paris
Cool [Recovery & Root] Unofficial CWM for Acer Iconia Smart and root method

Hi a friend of mine took the time to adapt CWM recovery for the newly released Acer Iconia Smart. I'm sharing that with you as well as an easy tutorial to root your device.

I hope it will help some people.

It's not a one-click method but it remains quite easy if you carefully follow the steps. Just be careful and nothing wrong should happen (the operation is not risk free though).

What you need :
I- Install the driver
Unless you have already done it.

II- Install a custom recovert menu
  • Plug your Iconia Smart to your PC.
  • Unpack the zip file containing the recovery and superuser.
  • Exexcute install_recovery.cmd and just follow the steps.

III- Prepare to root
  • Once your phone has rebooted copy the su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed.zip file to your sdcard.
  • Switch off your phone
  • Switch it back on while pressing [vol+], [focus] and power. Keep pressing the buttons until you're in the recovery (yellow text on black screen)
    (You get "focus" by half pressing the camera button.

IV- ROOT !
To navigate in the recovery menu use vol keys to go up and down, camera to validate and < to go back.
  • click on "install zip from sdcard"
  • then on "choose zip form sdcard"
  • select the file "su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed.zip" that you just copied on your SDcard
  • validate and let it run.

Once done go back to the home screen using [<] and click on "reboot system now".

Your phone will reboot and you should have root. Just check if you see a superuser icon in the applications and try to use an app that require root.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to paugustin For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
se-tw
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Aug 2007
In accordance with the above method finally acer smart s300 to root it!
Use is also very normal, very Thank!
 
FloatingFatMan
Old
(Last edited by FloatingFatMan; 22nd September 2011 at 09:39 PM.)
#3  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 536
Posts: 2,655
Join Date: Apr 2005
Works perfectly, thanks!

Edit: Un oh.. Spoke too soon.. When I plug in USB to charge, the device is going into romdump mode...
No stupid giant pics here! Just two lines of text!
Current Devices: Nokia Lumia 930, ASUS T100TA Convertible Tablet
 
paugustin
Old
#4  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Paris
@FloatingFatMan : have you finally found out the problem ? Tell us how it goes. Does anyone has the same issue ?
 
FloatingFatMan
Old
#5  
FloatingFatMan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 536
Posts: 2,655
Join Date: Apr 2005
Kind of. I think it was something to do with the USB cable as I tried another and it stopped dropping to romdump mode.

Still not 100% convinced though, as I was getting a lot of other weird stuff. Main one was that the stock launcher was constantly force closing. Ended up installing ADW Launcher EX and now the device is rock solid again.

The only other thing I didn't try was wiping to factory settings, though I did wipe the caches.
No stupid giant pics here! Just two lines of text!
Current Devices: Nokia Lumia 930, ASUS T100TA Convertible Tablet
 
BstabKillaR
Old
#6  
BstabKillaR's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 25
Join Date: Nov 2010
Will this work for the A500?
 
paugustin
Old
(Last edited by paugustin; 30th September 2011 at 05:52 PM.)
#7  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Paris
No it won't they have nothing in common (apart for belonging to the Iconia series) !

You will find everything you need for the A500 there : http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1136
 
nikagl
Old
#8  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 392
Posts: 2,087
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
Cool, thanks, works perfect!! Time to start a forum for the Acer Iconia Smart?

---------- Post added at 01:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:24 PM ----------

By the way, on the thread on Modaco they also mentioned "*#*#4225#*#*" to enable Full Screen for all apps (not only the ones programmed to use the full screen - possibly causing issues with apps that do not expect a big screen). Does anyone know where this code came from and whether there's more of these?
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)
 
paugustin
Old
(Last edited by paugustin; 7th October 2011 at 04:20 PM.)
#9  
paugustin's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 330
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Paris
I don't know where it came from but the code doesn't work.

There is another method though... I've written a tutorial but I have to translate it in english.

Here it is : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6#post18202546
 
nikagl
Old
#10  
nikagl's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 392
Posts: 2,087
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nieuwegein, NL

 
DONATE TO ME
For me it works fine... I tested it using Firefox... (2/3 of screen before the code, full screen after the code)...

---------- Post added at 05:29 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:28 PM ----------

And yes... Had seen the Launcher Pro steps too but didn't need them possibly a difference in version of the ROM I guess
Nika Gerson Lohman (nikagl)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes