Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,293 Members 38,801 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

GPS working on XV6700

Tip us?
 
jm017@msn.com
Old
(Last edited by jm017@msn.com; 25th September 2011 at 03:08 PM.) Reason: tutorial
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default GPS working on XV6700

If anybody is still interested in GPS for this model, here is how to get it to work. Register at Skyhook and download their cab for winmo. Then download gpsviewer. I am using Pocketnavigator free version for mapping. I start gpsviewer first till I get position, then start the mapping program. I use this with no connection as the phone is not enabled (free). If any interest I will give more detail.

Since this is a fairly simple process; here is a quick tutorial;
1) Download the Skyhook cab file. I had difficulty finding it on their site but if you Google Skyhookvgpsppc50 you will find it

2) Download GpsViewer.PPC300_2577 cab.

3) I am not sure you need this but it cannot hurt to have it. Unhide external GPS settings.
HKLM/CONTROLPANEL/GPS SETTINGS
add Group and give value of 2(dec)
this will add the GPS icon in your phone settings.

Here are the screenshots of settings that work for me. I could not get a screenshot of Mapfactor Nav so I used GoogleMaps as an example. I encourage others to experiment with the settings to see what else might work. Once again my phone is not activated but as long as wifi is turned on the GPS works(doesn't need to be connected however). To get this working initially
though you do need to have a wifi connection at least for the registration screen in WPS and to get your first several fixes. You may have to register at Skyhook to start this process I did not show my username but I used the one I registered with as a developer. Good luck I hope this works for others.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	71
Size:	5.6 KB
ID:	730439   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	62
Size:	6.8 KB
ID:	730440   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	54
Size:	6.7 KB
ID:	730441   Click image for larger version

Name:	4.png
Views:	54
Size:	5.9 KB
ID:	730442   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.png
Views:	52
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	730443  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6.png
Views:	45
Size:	8.2 KB
ID:	730444   Click image for larger version

Name:	7.png
Views:	56
Size:	21.2 KB
ID:	730445   Click image for larger version

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	730446  
 
jm017@msn.com
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2009
Has anyone tried this? If so please tell me if it worked for you. I would really like to see some feedback before I spend time posting screenshots.
 
rodpelosini
Old
#3  
rodpelosini's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: So paulo
Default How to works?

Hi! Could you explain this procedure?? Im so surprise about this great news...
 
jm017@msn.com
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2009
I will try to upload detailed instructions for this post this weekend with screenshots.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes