[Mods] WebBuntu Post-Webtop2sd Hacks

Search This thread

tallnerd1985

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2008
341
45
Vancouver, WA
Hey there,

Here is a guide for what to do after you have installed Webtop2sd and moved the Webtop to the sdcard. This guide, using [mbm]'s patch, will install gnome-terminal along with a rebuilt DPKG-repo so that way you can run apt-get, synaptic or aptitude to download new software for your Webtop. Along with this guide there is a link to Fenny's HDMI hack for those who don't have the laptop dock or the HD Dock for the Bionic.

Bionic Webtop Over HDMI Hack

Prerequisites:
1) Rooted Bionic
2) Webtop Patch
3) ADB already configured
4) Patience

First things first, go ahead and download [mbm]'s patch for Webtop that enables apt-get, synaptic package manager and gnome-terminal services in Webtop and place that file on the root of your sdcard. Then follow these commands step by step to apply the patch.

adb shell
su
/bin/bash
-You will get some kind of error message, just ignore and push past it with the following commands
source /upath.sh
cd /osh
tar jxvf /mnt/sdcard-ext/mbm.tar.bz2
mount -o remount, rw /
mkdir /var/lib/dpkg/updates
reboot

After rebooting your phone, run these commands in adb:
su
mount -o remount, rw /

After booting into webtop:
Ctrl+Alt+T
sudo apt-get update

**take note that you must run the "mount -o remount, rw /" command anytime you reboot your phone because any programs you get thru apt-get or synaptic will error out during installation

After that is done, go ahead and rename the folder /etc/tomoyo to something else like /etc/toy or whatever you want (Note, webtop2sd already takes care of this part for the user). After that, go ahead and dock your phone to see what happens cause you will be presented with a normal looking Webtop but if you hold down ctrl+alt+t, then it brings up the terminal!

From here, you can run "gksu synaptic" and use the password "test" to start installing various different programs and packages that are normally available on Ubuntu.

Important!
If you mess up your Webtop partition in any kind of way and need to restore it back to stock, please download this custom FXZ and flash thru RSD to bring you back to stock again.

Webtop RSD Restore

Dependencies
Take caution when modding Webtop because there are some dependencies that will break Webtop if they are upgraded such as anything ending in a .mot or anything resembling that.

Credits
Please thank [mbm] for fixing what Motorola took out, without him, none of this would be possible without his patch.

Sogarth for being the pioneer of Webtop hacking and for porting over his Webtop2sd app to give us more storage to play with.

Fenny for bringing over his Webtop over HDMI hack to our phones.
 
Last edited:

tallnerd1985

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2008
341
45
Vancouver, WA
Desktop Enviroment:

If you do not like the default LXDE and AWN setup that comes preloaded on Webtop, you do have the ability to change some settings in the phone to use different Desktop environments such XFCE, Gnome-Panel, FBPanel or etc, etc.

After installing your DE of choice thru apt-get or synaptic, navigate on your phone with Root File Explorer to /osh/usr/local/bin/ and open the file "start-oshwt-2.sh" in the text editor and you will be presented with something that looks like this:

#! /bin/sh
### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides: start_lxde2.sh
# Required-Start:
# Required-Stop:
# Default-Start:
# Default-Stop:
# Short-Description: started by adas user at login
### END INIT INFO

PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib

. /lib/lsb/init-functions
export `fbcp_dsba`

log_action_msg "Will now start OSHWT 2 scripts"

sfalv -i "/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor"

# start OSHWT 2 scripts
sfalv -i "awn-autostart"
sfalv -i "webtop-panel"
#sfalv -i "webtop-wallpaper"
#sfalv -i "evbridge"
webtop-wallpaper &
evbridge &
sfalv -i "window_switcher"
system-config-printer-applet >/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
sr-test avahi_start &

# IKXWEBTOP-5690 workaround.
# xkb is broken in 10.10 in that each time a keyboard is connected
# the layout of all other keyboards become the layout of
# the last connected keyboard.
# There is an xorg.conf.d rule that forces all keyboards to
# layout 'us(android)' but for some reason it is not working for
# evfwd. Here we force xkb to work with 'us(android)' so evfwd
# is assigned the right layout.
setxkbmap 'us(android)'

From here, if you comment out the sfalv -i "awn-autostart", then add to the script sfalv -i "xfdesktop" and sfalv -i "xfce4-panel" if you installed xfce4 or whatever Desktop environment you installed. If you followed this, your script should look like this:

#! /bin/sh
### BEGIN INIT INFO
# Provides: start_lxde2.sh
# Required-Start:
# Required-Stop:
# Default-Start:
# Default-Stop:
# Short-Description: started by adas user at login
### END INIT INFO

PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib

. /lib/lsb/init-functions
export `fbcp_dsba`

log_action_msg "Will now start OSHWT 2 scripts"

sfalv -i "/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor"

# start OSHWT 2 scripts
#sfalv -i "awn-autostart"
sfalv -i "webtop-panel"
sfalv -i "xfdesktop"
sfalv -i "xfce4-panel"
#sfalv -i "webtop-wallpaper"
#sfalv -i "evbridge"
webtop-wallpaper &
evbridge &
sfalv -i "window_switcher"
system-config-printer-applet >/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
sr-test avahi_start &

# IKXWEBTOP-5690 workaround.
# xkb is broken in 10.10 in that each time a keyboard is connected
# the layout of all other keyboards become the layout of
# the last connected keyboard.
# There is an xorg.conf.d rule that forces all keyboards to
# layout 'us(android)' but for some reason it is not working for
# evfwd. Here we force xkb to work with 'us(android)' so evfwd
# is assigned the right layout.
setxkbmap 'us(android)'

attachment.php


Working Programs:
OpenOffice
XFCE4
Xchat
LxTerminal
Transmission
lxpanel
rdesktop
VLC Player (Video is choppy)
Gnome-Panel
Evolution Email
Chrome-Browser
 
Last edited:

BerkleyJ

Senior Member
Sep 13, 2010
64
12
Can we get some more info on this? What programs can I get to work?

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using XDA App
 
Last edited:

v1r7u41

Member
Sep 14, 2011
26
0
OMG! This is awesome!! Good work guys! I will redirect my chromium post to this one instead!
 

frenetic

Senior Member
Jun 8, 2008
112
9
Oregon
These commands for windows?
after /bin/bash
bash: groups: command not found
bash: lesspipe: command not found
 

danegrclose

Member
May 8, 2011
20
1
I am getting the same error

Same here :( This is getting frustrating, I couldn't get the Webtopchromium hack to work from v1r7u41 and now I can't get this to work. The Webtopchromium would at least install although it wouldn't launch. Any help would be greatly greatly appreciated as the standard lapdock is gimped to say the least.
 

mistawolfe

Senior Member
Nov 21, 2010
1,573
200
So I'm using the webtop hack and loving it. When it first starts, it prompts you to select your display settings. Well, I picked some I don't like now, and I can't find the option for it again. Can anyone direct me in the right place?

Thanks.

Figured it out. Couldn't see the settings due to the display. Hovered over top right and got settings to show.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium
 
Last edited:

v1r7u41

Member
Sep 14, 2011
26
0
Working great for me. I need to remount / everytime I want to use apt-get (dpkg). I think I got that error too. Run:
Code:
echo $SHELL
to make sure it is bash and just keep going.

@mistawolfe
Click on the settings cog wheel thing (upper right) then display settings (maybe display) resolution I can't remember I got rid of the webtop-panel.
 
Last edited:

tallnerd1985

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2008
341
45
Vancouver, WA
Added some updates to the process of unlocking Webtop to the main page. Feel free to pm me any hacks or tricks that you have found past my guide or post them here if you feel like.

P.S.
If anybody care to make a flashable zip file for CWM to make this process easier, PM your link to the zip and I will post a mirror for it.
 

larsdennert

Senior Member
Dec 5, 2007
1,010
322
Could someone bring me up to speed? Are you using the on screen keyboard and mouse functionality or external mouse and keyboard. I can't get anything done with the onscreen controls. They don't work right. Softkeys don't work at all. Mouse jumps all over and keyboard pushes result in totally different keys being typed.
 

runandhide05

Senior Member
Apr 3, 2011
2,968
2,606
ok, followed instructions on the updated op, ignored and continued after getting these " /bin/bash
bash: groups: command not found
bash: lesspipe: command not found"
errors after "apt-get update" command i get 0% [connecting to ports.ubuntu.com] and thats it, just stays at 0%. so after 5-10 mins i unplug phone dock, and alt-ctrl-delete...get nothing...
 

Reminon

Member
Sep 9, 2009
43
11
I also followed the update. When i came to the apt-get update command i get a "not found" error....so i went on in webtop amd opened terminal->sudo synaptic. It started up fine, although i dont see any packages that arent already installed....so i was trying to find some repos, but when i try to add one the button is grayed out after i type the url...so will someone give me some advice on the missing apt-get...and a list of repos compatible with webtop? Sorry for beimg clueless..its been a while since ive used linux "other than android".
 

danegrclose

Member
May 8, 2011
20
1
I also followed the update. When i came to the apt-get update command i get a "not found" error....so i went on in webtop amd opened terminal->sudo synaptic. It started up fine, although i dont see any packages that arent already installed....so i was trying to find some repos, but when i try to add one the button is grayed out after i type the url...so will someone give me some advice on the missing apt-get...and a list of repos compatible with webtop? Sorry for beimg clueless..its been a while since ive used linux "other than android".

I got the same errors until I added the "Update" folder and followed the code that was added tonight. Try the code on the Update folder that was added today and see if that works for you too.
 

runandhide05

Senior Member
Apr 3, 2011
2,968
2,606
I got the same errors until I added the "Update" folder and followed the code that was added tonight. Try the code on the Update folder that was added today and see if that works for you too.

so i get that error when apt-get update in cmd, so i go to webtop and open terminal, type sudo...not found, synaptic...not found, what the heck am i doing wrong here?
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 11
    Hey there,

    Here is a guide for what to do after you have installed Webtop2sd and moved the Webtop to the sdcard. This guide, using [mbm]'s patch, will install gnome-terminal along with a rebuilt DPKG-repo so that way you can run apt-get, synaptic or aptitude to download new software for your Webtop. Along with this guide there is a link to Fenny's HDMI hack for those who don't have the laptop dock or the HD Dock for the Bionic.

    Bionic Webtop Over HDMI Hack

    Prerequisites:
    1) Rooted Bionic
    2) Webtop Patch
    3) ADB already configured
    4) Patience

    First things first, go ahead and download [mbm]'s patch for Webtop that enables apt-get, synaptic package manager and gnome-terminal services in Webtop and place that file on the root of your sdcard. Then follow these commands step by step to apply the patch.

    adb shell
    su
    /bin/bash
    -You will get some kind of error message, just ignore and push past it with the following commands
    source /upath.sh
    cd /osh
    tar jxvf /mnt/sdcard-ext/mbm.tar.bz2
    mount -o remount, rw /
    mkdir /var/lib/dpkg/updates
    reboot

    After rebooting your phone, run these commands in adb:
    su
    mount -o remount, rw /

    After booting into webtop:
    Ctrl+Alt+T
    sudo apt-get update

    **take note that you must run the "mount -o remount, rw /" command anytime you reboot your phone because any programs you get thru apt-get or synaptic will error out during installation

    After that is done, go ahead and rename the folder /etc/tomoyo to something else like /etc/toy or whatever you want (Note, webtop2sd already takes care of this part for the user). After that, go ahead and dock your phone to see what happens cause you will be presented with a normal looking Webtop but if you hold down ctrl+alt+t, then it brings up the terminal!

    From here, you can run "gksu synaptic" and use the password "test" to start installing various different programs and packages that are normally available on Ubuntu.

    Important!
    If you mess up your Webtop partition in any kind of way and need to restore it back to stock, please download this custom FXZ and flash thru RSD to bring you back to stock again.

    Webtop RSD Restore

    Dependencies
    Take caution when modding Webtop because there are some dependencies that will break Webtop if they are upgraded such as anything ending in a .mot or anything resembling that.

    Credits
    Please thank [mbm] for fixing what Motorola took out, without him, none of this would be possible without his patch.

    Sogarth for being the pioneer of Webtop hacking and for porting over his Webtop2sd app to give us more storage to play with.

    Fenny for bringing over his Webtop over HDMI hack to our phones.
    2
    Desktop Enviroment:

    If you do not like the default LXDE and AWN setup that comes preloaded on Webtop, you do have the ability to change some settings in the phone to use different Desktop environments such XFCE, Gnome-Panel, FBPanel or etc, etc.

    After installing your DE of choice thru apt-get or synaptic, navigate on your phone with Root File Explorer to /osh/usr/local/bin/ and open the file "start-oshwt-2.sh" in the text editor and you will be presented with something that looks like this:

    #! /bin/sh
    ### BEGIN INIT INFO
    # Provides: start_lxde2.sh
    # Required-Start:
    # Required-Stop:
    # Default-Start:
    # Default-Stop:
    # Short-Description: started by adas user at login
    ### END INIT INFO

    PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib

    . /lib/lsb/init-functions
    export `fbcp_dsba`

    log_action_msg "Will now start OSHWT 2 scripts"

    sfalv -i "/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor"

    # start OSHWT 2 scripts
    sfalv -i "awn-autostart"
    sfalv -i "webtop-panel"
    #sfalv -i "webtop-wallpaper"
    #sfalv -i "evbridge"
    webtop-wallpaper &
    evbridge &
    sfalv -i "window_switcher"
    system-config-printer-applet >/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
    sr-test avahi_start &

    # IKXWEBTOP-5690 workaround.
    # xkb is broken in 10.10 in that each time a keyboard is connected
    # the layout of all other keyboards become the layout of
    # the last connected keyboard.
    # There is an xorg.conf.d rule that forces all keyboards to
    # layout 'us(android)' but for some reason it is not working for
    # evfwd. Here we force xkb to work with 'us(android)' so evfwd
    # is assigned the right layout.
    setxkbmap 'us(android)'

    From here, if you comment out the sfalv -i "awn-autostart", then add to the script sfalv -i "xfdesktop" and sfalv -i "xfce4-panel" if you installed xfce4 or whatever Desktop environment you installed. If you followed this, your script should look like this:

    #! /bin/sh
    ### BEGIN INIT INFO
    # Provides: start_lxde2.sh
    # Required-Start:
    # Required-Stop:
    # Default-Start:
    # Default-Stop:
    # Short-Description: started by adas user at login
    ### END INIT INFO

    PATH=/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib:/usr/local/lib

    . /lib/lsb/init-functions
    export `fbcp_dsba`

    log_action_msg "Will now start OSHWT 2 scripts"

    sfalv -i "/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfs-gdu-volume-monitor"

    # start OSHWT 2 scripts
    #sfalv -i "awn-autostart"
    sfalv -i "webtop-panel"
    sfalv -i "xfdesktop"
    sfalv -i "xfce4-panel"
    #sfalv -i "webtop-wallpaper"
    #sfalv -i "evbridge"
    webtop-wallpaper &
    evbridge &
    sfalv -i "window_switcher"
    system-config-printer-applet >/dev/null 2>/dev/null &
    sr-test avahi_start &

    # IKXWEBTOP-5690 workaround.
    # xkb is broken in 10.10 in that each time a keyboard is connected
    # the layout of all other keyboards become the layout of
    # the last connected keyboard.
    # There is an xorg.conf.d rule that forces all keyboards to
    # layout 'us(android)' but for some reason it is not working for
    # evfwd. Here we force xkb to work with 'us(android)' so evfwd
    # is assigned the right layout.
    setxkbmap 'us(android)'

    attachment.php


    Working Programs:
    OpenOffice
    XFCE4
    Xchat
    LxTerminal
    Transmission
    lxpanel
    rdesktop
    VLC Player (Video is choppy)
    Gnome-Panel
    Evolution Email
    Chrome-Browser
    2
    Does anyone have this hack working with Webtop2SD and 902? I don't have any idea how to apply this hack to the standard webtop on the phone like Cellzealot did.

    It works great on 902 as is... Just go to the original post for Webtop2SD!
    http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?p=15109140#post15109140

    After your done, come back here... Start with the "Post-Webtop2SD" first post.

    You will need a file (mbm.tar.bz2) one of us freeflysage has reposted it on his page.
    Although I should say, I had to dig up my original because freeflysage's didn't work for me.

    I will the leave it in my sugersync for a month or so. Use it if you get stuck with the freeflysage w.site
    https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D170222_6762005_26015586
    1
    This is bad ass... Just saying.



    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk

    Feel free to incorporate this into your rom :)

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
    1
    GB 4 life...well..until source...lol