TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

Unlock the phone

OP Diamond_dawg

12th October 2011, 02:04 PM   |  #1  
Diamond_dawg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag live right next to Bob Dylans first house
Thanks Meter: 68
 
2,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
hey guys, ive been reading a few places and read that you need to unlock the Bootloader to unlock the phone, is that true or can you unlock it using a Code? I plan to buy this phone soon and would probably end up using overseas hence the questions. Thanks
12th October 2011, 02:44 PM   |  #2  
UgloBuglo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gothenburg
Thanks Meter: 31
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
What do you mean by unlock the phone?

If you mean to root it, then no, you do not have to unlock the boot loader.
If on the other hand you mean unlock a phone from a specific carrier, then I truly do not know... bought my own phone carrier free.

[EDIT]
And now I saw that you will be using it while traveling overseas, so I suppose you mean unlock the phone from a specific carrier :)
[/EDIT]
Last edited by UgloBuglo; 12th October 2011 at 02:54 PM.
12th October 2011, 02:55 PM   |  #3  
Diamond_dawg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag live right next to Bob Dylans first house
Thanks Meter: 68
 
2,389 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgloBuglo

What do you mean by unlock the phone?

If you mean to root it, then no, you do not have to unlock the boot loader.
If on the other hand you mean unlock a phone from a specific carrier, then I truly do not know... bought my own phone carrier free.

[EDIT]
And now I saw that you will be using it while traveling overseas, so I suppose you mean unlock the phone from a specific carrier :)
[/EDIT]

Network unlock, since i will be buying it from AT&T
thanks
12th October 2011, 03:14 PM   |  #4  
paxChristos's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 1,491
 
2,036 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
More
The only way to unlock a usa phone (verizon or att) right now its through Alejandrissimo over in the general forums (I think...)

I don't know if once you unlock the bootloader it can change carriers...

Sent from my R800x using XDA App
12th October 2011, 03:26 PM   |  #5  
brochador's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
445 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
In my case I sim unlock my phone w/o unlocking my bootloader. I dunno in r800x & r800at.. But as pax said, you can try to contact Blagus or Alejandrissimo.
12th October 2011, 07:52 PM   |  #6  
Logseman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tenerife
Thanks Meter: 638
 
2,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
You can both sim unlock without unlocking the bootloader (with a code you can buy online) or unlock both Sim and bootloader at the same time thanks to Alejandrissimo.
The Following User Says Thank You to Logseman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes