FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Unlock the phone

2,389 posts
Thanks Meter: 68
 
By Diamond_dawg, Senior Member on 12th October 2011, 02:04 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
hey guys, ive been reading a few places and read that you need to unlock the Bootloader to unlock the phone, is that true or can you unlock it using a Code? I plan to buy this phone soon and would probably end up using overseas hence the questions. Thanks
 
 
12th October 2011, 02:44 PM |#2  
UgloBuglo's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gothenburg
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
What do you mean by unlock the phone?

If you mean to root it, then no, you do not have to unlock the boot loader.
If on the other hand you mean unlock a phone from a specific carrier, then I truly do not know... bought my own phone carrier free.

[EDIT]
And now I saw that you will be using it while traveling overseas, so I suppose you mean unlock the phone from a specific carrier :)
[/EDIT]
Last edited by UgloBuglo; 12th October 2011 at 02:54 PM.
12th October 2011, 02:55 PM |#3  
Diamond_dawg's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag live right next to Bob Dylans first house
Thanks Meter: 68
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by UgloBuglo

What do you mean by unlock the phone?

If you mean to root it, then no, you do not have to unlock the boot loader.
If on the other hand you mean unlock a phone from a specific carrier, then I truly do not know... bought my own phone carrier free.

[EDIT]
And now I saw that you will be using it while traveling overseas, so I suppose you mean unlock the phone from a specific carrier :)
[/EDIT]

Network unlock, since i will be buying it from AT&T
thanks
12th October 2011, 03:14 PM |#4  
paxChristos's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Milwaukee
Thanks Meter: 1,585
 
Donate to Me
More
The only way to unlock a usa phone (verizon or att) right now its through Alejandrissimo over in the general forums (I think...)

I don't know if once you unlock the bootloader it can change carriers...

Sent from my R800x using XDA App
12th October 2011, 03:26 PM |#5  
brochador's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
In my case I sim unlock my phone w/o unlocking my bootloader. I dunno in r800x & r800at.. But as pax said, you can try to contact Blagus or Alejandrissimo.
12th October 2011, 07:52 PM |#6  
Logseman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tenerife
Thanks Meter: 646
 
Donate to Me
More
You can both sim unlock without unlocking the bootloader (with a code you can buy online) or unlock both Sim and bootloader at the same time thanks to Alejandrissimo.
The Following User Says Thank You to Logseman For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes