Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,029 Members 42,947 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Had the Error: Status 7 occur? I figured it out...

Tip us?
 
Beefcake550
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Had the Error: Status 7 occur? I figured it out...

Ok, so I can't post in the development area yet due to lack of posts, so hopefulyl someone will see this and let people know.

I was at 5.6.893-mr1 level and couldn't/didn't get the 5.7.893 update through cheesecake, so I wanted to get there and every guide I could find ended up with me getting the dreaded "Error: /tmp/sideload/package.zip status 7" error message. I just figured out how to "fix it" and get what I wanted....it will take some time....

First, go to
http://androidforums.com/bionic-all-...tain-root.html
Do everything the first post says. When choosing, use the CWR flash to 5.5.893.
This will get you to 5.6.893-mr1.

Then, hop over to
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1327537
and in the first post, go to the section "no longer needed steps" and the file:

3.)Download 5.7.893 and install 5.7.893 via stock recovery Blur_Version.5.6.893-5.7.893.XT875.Verizon.en.US
md5:e594bfcf52ae297ffb9a77b3cbb20882

Install this via stock recovery and reboot. Now, you should have a phone that is 5.7.893, but you'll notice webtop is still screwed.

So, now you can head over to:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1327537 (same thread as before) and follow all the directions in the OP.

FINALLY! You should be at 5.7.893 with a usable webtop and you can apply the hacked webtop to get it without the dock.

I hope this helps someone. I spent the better part of my work day to get this figured out. Hopefully a dev can see what I've done here and make it easier. I think the magic sauce was the CWR flash to 5.5.893 with subsequent stock recovery updates to get the radio and kernel updated such that the "one big update" file worked as intended.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Beefcake550 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Beefcake550
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Has anyone else had this problem?
The Following User Says Thank You to Beefcake550 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hobby31
Old
(Last edited by hobby31; 5th November 2011 at 01:38 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 126
Join Date: Feb 2010
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!! I tried what you did last night because of the same issues you were having and have been trying ever since to fix it. Every update I tried gave me that error message. THIS WORKED PERFECTLY for me. Thank you so much!


I just noticed that the webtop is still showing as unavailable. Should it still show like that? I don't use it anyway but just want to make sure it works in case I do. Thanks again.
 
wseyller
Old
(Last edited by wseyller; 5th November 2011 at 02:53 AM.)
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 89
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hobby31 View Post
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!! I tried what you did last night because of the same issues you were having and have been trying ever since to fix it. Every update I tried gave me that error message. THIS WORKED PERFECTLY for me. Thank you so much!


I just noticed that the webtop is still showing as unavailable. Should it still show like that? I don't use it anyway but just want to make sure it works in case I do. Thanks again.
The small updates to get to 5.7.893 radio/kernel breaks weptop. You now have to restore your system back to 886 which will fix webtop and then use the full 5.7.893 update which will get your system back and will update webtop, bootloader, recovery, ect...

Edit: also after restoring to 886 system using dhackers v2.1 you need to make sure you forever root again which option 1 should do both.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using xda premium
 
fernandw
Old
(Last edited by fernandw; 7th November 2011 at 02:46 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default I have the same issue!

I will try it this evening when i get to the house.

Wade

**Update**

I can confirm, this worked great. It seems as though you lose Forever Root somewhere after applying the mr1 patch.

I used dhacker's tools to get forever root back after mr1 patch, then used it a third time to go back to 886. and apply the full .886.XT875 to get webtop back.

Thanks for the assist....

r/Wade
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes