FORUMS

Swappa’s New App Helps You Value Your Device

There comes a sad time in everyone’s life where you must part ways with your … more

Xiaomi Sold 34.7 Million Phones In 6 Months

2015 has been a phenomenal year for Xiaomi so far. With a stellar rise in 2014, 2015 saw … more

Sprint Reacts To Jab From T-Mobile

America’s cellular network space has always been a battle of the big four: Verizon, AT&T, … more

Floating Apps with Rovers – XDA App Review

There are a lot of great launchers to help customize your phone. Some Launchers allow … more

[G-Apps][GUIDE] Google Apps on the Kindle Fire -Getting Around the Update 11/30-

38 posts
Thanks Meter: 29
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th November 2011, 04:11 AM |#31  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
What permissions should the APK be set to?
 
 
17th November 2011, 04:15 AM |#32  
Bandage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tulsa, OK
Thanks Meter: 801
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigKenW

What permissions should the APK be set to?

same as the rest of the apps listed there
rw-r--r--
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Bandage For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2011, 04:25 AM |#33  
Jolleyboy's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rexburg
Thanks Meter: 29
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks Bandage for the guidance. I added your info to the start page and gave you credit. Thanks again!
The Following User Says Thank You to Jolleyboy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2011, 04:41 AM |#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Do you have to root to get the google market working?
17th November 2011, 05:06 AM |#35  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Boom! Worked...

Now the Market doesn't show up in the App drawer though...which makes it hard to get to to run...

---------- Post added at 11:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:48 PM ----------

How are you guys getting to the market after you install...as it is, I have it working, but I have to go back to root explorer and re-install it to run it b/c it doesn't create a shortcut in the app tray...
17th November 2011, 05:55 AM |#36  
Junior Member
Austin
Thanks Meter: 15
 
Donate to Me
More
Ok this might be a dumb question but how do i copy the market files to system once it is rooted? ES file explorer does not show the /system directory
17th November 2011, 06:26 AM |#37  
Member
Flag Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Just an FYI, ADW Launcher EX works and will launch Market just fine. The regular ADW Launcher doesnt show up in Market however...probably build.prop

blurry cam proof
http://db.tt/AxrmYb3E
Last edited by nismopunch; 17th November 2011 at 06:31 AM.
17th November 2011, 06:33 AM |#38  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Yeah, this is my wife's and she likes the kindle interface, so I am trying to figure out a way to keep it...but have the market icon with the other apps.

The other google apps (gmail, reader, calendar, etc) created icons in the App area, but the market didn't...
17th November 2011, 06:33 AM |#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
More
Market Opener
I wanted to be able to use the market via the Kindle UI, so I threw together an app that has a market icon and just launches the market. Since some others were wanting to do the same I figured I'd share:

http://munday.ws/kindlefire/MarketOpener.apk

This does not install the market or make it work, that's all up to you. It just launches the already installed market app. If you don't have the market installed, it will just tell you that it can't find the market.

Here's a screenshot to show what the icon looks like:
The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to munday For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th November 2011, 06:37 AM |#40  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I cannot seem to get any incarnation of the market to actually move to the system/app folder. Suggestions?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
apps, gapps, google, kindle fire, sideload
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes