Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,893 Members 43,099 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Get 5GB storage with box.net and any device

Tip us?
 
K Dotty
Old
(Last edited by paxChristos; 19th June 2012 at 03:36 PM.) Reason: Mod Edit
#1  
K Dotty's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 872
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Default [GUIDE] Get 5GB storage with box.net and any device

I've seen this guide in various places but i thought it would be most useful in here. I have searched to see if anyone has posted this here but found nothing.

MOD EDIT: Any app/guide that leads to defrauding a Company of money by spoofing their services is considered Warez.


Mounting Box.net on your Desktop
Linux Users

For those on linux theres a way to mount the box drive as webdavfs.
Original Link: http://www.thetechrepo.com/id=537 (Credit to alienmind for finding - say Thanks)

You can easily mount a WebDAV filesystem on Linux so that you can access the files just like they were on your local computer. One way to do is to install the davfs2 package (this is the Ubuntu/Debian package name, though it should be similar for other distros). Once you have installed it, add an entry to /etc/davfs2/secrets with your login credentials for the WebDAV account.
For box.net, the command would look like this:
Code:
sudo echo “https://www.box.net/dav username password” >> /etc/davfs2/secrets
You need to choose a mountpoint on your local filesystem for the WebDAV mount. In this example I am going to use /mnt/box.net, so go ahead and create the directory:
Code:
mkdir /media/box.net
Now add an entry to /etc/fstab for this filesystem, which will allow you to automatically mount it at boot time. If you want your normal user (instead of just root) to have write access, specify your uid (username) and gid (can be the same as your username) on the mount line along with your newly-created mountpoint:
Code:
https://www.box.net/dav /mnt/box.net    davfs   defaults,uid=username,gid=username  0       0
Save your changes to /etc/fstab and now try mounting your remote filesystem. It should mount successfully and now be accessible at your mountpoint. Note: if you have trouble writing files to the WebDAV filesystem, take a look at this article for a solution.

MAC & Window Users


To have box.net, Dropbox, Googl Docs, Sugar Sync, and others in one folder use otixo.com. Just sign up and add your accounts then click on the link at the bottom of the page that says 'otixo on your Desktop'. It will guide you on how to mount your cloud services as a network drive.


Visit otixo.com and sign up for free. I tried it and it works perfectly.





.................................................. .....................................

P.S
When I used root explorer it didn't work all the time, I used prop editor and I cleared the box.net app data before trying again and that seemed to do the trick

\/ Click thanks instead of posting it, Keep the thread clean \/:P
The Following 128 Users Say Thank You to K Dotty For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LlirasChosen
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 60
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York
As an aside, if you already have a 50gb box.net from either the HP Touchpad or Apple product special offers you can't get it. They don't stack on accounts, so you'll need to create multiple accounts to get all the free 50gb offers. They also do not work if you pay for a box.net account.
Phones:
HTC DNA - Stock
HTC Incredible - CM9 RC2
HTC Incredible - MIUI v4

Tabs:
HPTP - CM9
Acer Iconia A100 - CM10

“Programmers are in a race with the Universe to create bigger and better idiot-proof programs, while the Universe is trying to create bigger and better idiots. So far the Universe is winning.”[/CENTER]

Dropbox Referral Link: http://db.tt/fGuSsBh
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to LlirasChosen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
orntar
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 68
Join Date: Dec 2010
worked a charm, thank'd!

wish I could get this on dropbox.
The Following User Says Thank You to orntar For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PromaneX
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 78
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Manchester
Worked perfectly! nice one man!
 
denzel09
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 694
Posts: 3,220
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Venezia
Thanks so much buddy.

Inviato dal mio GT-S5570 usando Tapatalk
 
K Dotty
Old
#6  
K Dotty's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 872
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by orntar View Post
worked a charm, thank'd!

wish I could get this on dropbox.
Me too, dropbox is generally better but you can't complain after getting a free 50GB

Sent by wiggling my big toe

\/ Click thanks instead of posting it, Keep the thread clean \/:P
 
ech0
Old
#7  
ech0's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dublin
Excellent, worked a treat on SGS.

Thanks for sharing

ech0
 
FixedTheFernBack
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2010
When i edit my build.prop file and reboot, it just resets to the default HTC Desire settings. What am i doing wrong?
 
JDM Civic EG8
Old
#9  
JDM Civic EG8's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 329
Posts: 2,102
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Illinois...but where?
Thanks a lot man worked great. So now I have 5gb on dropbox(free) and 50gb on box lol.

Sent From my Verizon powered Evo 4G!
 
Zaiaku
Old
#10  
Zaiaku's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 504
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Missouri City, TX
thx it worked perfectly!
work too bad no easy free way to sync files with my computer.
now if anyone can help me get larger space for my dropbox, it will be better!
|||zaiaku|||
Samsung Galaxy Note II : SlimKat
Samsung Galaxy III : Zaiaku GS3 AOKP
RIP Devices : Motorola Xoom, Samsung Galaxy II, HTC Desire Z, Motorola Milstone, Mytouch 3G Slide, HTC Magic. Motorola Baccflip, HTC Rhodium/Touch Pro2. HTC Raphael/Fuze, HTC Kaiser/Tytn II, HTC Wizard, MPX 220

for sale : Motorola Droid 3 (XT860), Motorola Baccflip

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes