Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,856 Members 46,758 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile(SMS/MMS/VOICE/3G)*WORKING!* UPDATED:2-19-2013

Tip us?
 
Shinydude100
Old
(Last edited by Shinydude100; 19th February 2013 at 08:03 AM.)
#1  
Shinydude100's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 458
Posts: 1,578
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile(SMS/MMS/VOICE/3G)*WORKING!* UPDATED:2-19-2013

DISCLAIMER: I'm not responsible if anything happens to your phone, yada yada yada thermo-nuclear war. wait what?
CDMA Workshop software is PAID software, you have to either find it yourself, have someone who has the licensed version, or buy it yourself.

Virgin Mobile on your Samsung Epic 4G- THE Tutorial 1.3

This guide uses the Virgin Mobile Intercept, there have been other threads spawned with their own tuts with different phones, as of now, this is the other phone:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1601869
Wildfire S

Are you better with looking at visuals? Another user re-made this tut with pictures.
http://www.groovypost.com/howto/epic...virgin-mobile/

What You'll Need:

Virgin Mobile Samsung Intercept [Owned]-Purpose: (This will be your Epic's new Identity. We'll need the HA and AAA keys.)
(Modifed Driver of PC Studio 3-Download Here)
Samsung Epic 4G [Owned]-Purpose: (Needed to Reprogram, so you can enjoy Sprint Prepaid.)
(Common Sense, but the corresponding Epic Drivers,)
Connectbot (Android Market) [Free]-Purpose: (For Intercept, only if you don't know Donor Phone's SPC/MSL, because you need to know it.)
Anycut.apk (Android Market) [Free]-Purpose: (For Intercept, This app will work half the magic needed to dump your Intercept's unique AAA key.)
CDMA 2.7+ (Find on your own) [Paid]-Purpose: (You'll need this to read your Epic's Settings, changing a few things that may not change in QPST)
QPST Build 355 (Download Here) [Free]-Purpose: (QPST is where you'll be programming your Epic.)
QXDM (Download Here) [Free]-Purpose: (EXCERSIZE WITH CAUTION! only needed if you have problems repairing your ESN with CDMA)
ADB Standalone (Download Here) [Free]-Purpose: (If you don't have ADB on your laptop/desktop, this is the best alternative, without needing SDK)


**WARNING!!** Updating your Epic's Modem will break your 3g settings, which will require you re-program with QPST!!**

Now that you understand what you need and you have obtained everything,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I will not tell you how to change your ESN however, if you bork your Epic's ESN, this link will show you what to do for repairing it. To each their own if you decide to mess around and change it.

#1 This needs to be done FIRST! if you save it for last (like i did) you'll have to re-enter all the M.I.P. Settings!! (Uses QPST and QXDM)
http://mobile5.in/forums/index.php?/...msung-epic-4g/
side-note, you can easily google the 16-digit Samsung Default code, also needed for Step 1.

You'll want to zero out your ESN as stated in that link above. To each their own, as I cannot endorse or encourage changing ESNs, it's ultimately up to YOU the end-user if you choose to modify it to the Intercept's ESN. If you feel that violates your privacy, your reading of this tutorial is over. If you understand, read on.
************************************************** ************************************************** ****
#2 You need to read the Donor-Phone's AAA keys if you want 3G service (these can't be google'd, it's specific to your serviced account when your donor phone is activated.

On your PC, download ADB Standalone, made by an XDA User. (No installation needed.) What we will need is PC Studio 3 for your Intercept, but DON'T plug in your Intercept just yet, if you do, you may get PC Studio 3 downloaded for your intercept from Windows Update we DONT WANT THAT ONE, use the link I provided of the modified version which is what is needed for ADB to logcat with your intercept.

Don't panic, the driver takes a while to install! Before you connect your Intercept, it's important to note that if any of you geeks google'd how to get it into PDA/Modem, you didn't have to, as we aren't taking that route, just for your knowledge, it's ##8778# on the Epic, and ##PORT# on the Intercept.

Make sure it's on PDA for USB. Make sure the Intercept's USB Debugging is on under Settings->Applications->Development->USB Debugging.

NOW. On Your Intercept, you should have downloaded both Connectbot and Anycut from the Android Market. IF you know your intercept's SPC/MSL, skip this, if not, open connectbot, choose whatever nickname like "android", select local, and type: "getprop ril.MSL" without quotes, case-sensitive. What comes up is your SPC/MSL code. Jot that down on Paper or Notepad, (or both.) It's important for your other app.

Now, after you've installed anycut on your Intercept, on your homescreen, press down and click on "shortcuts" select "anycut shortcuts" and then click on activity. You'll get a long list of things that you can access on your phone. Scroll down till you see "DATA" more than one work, but select the second "DATA" on that list. It will ask for the SPC/MSL code that you wrote down earlier. type that in, and you'll see view, edit. we want to hit edit, but DONT edit anything!!! from there, STOP. Go to your PC, and with adb open, type "adb >logcat" or simply "logcat" you'll get a mumbo jumbo of text going down, which is a log of your phone's current actions. Hit your Username and click to edit, but CANCEL and DONT save.

Congratulations!! You now have the AAA key unique to your Intercept dumped! Read through the log, you'll see "vmug33k" somewhere in there, that's the HA key, (needed) and the AAA key will show up multiple times near it. like "aaa pw:abcde12345"

Be sure to jot down both your HA key, and AAA key most importantly! Save it, write it, email it to yourself, make a song about it, whatever you have to do to not lose your AAA key.
************************************************** ************************************************** ****
#3 CDMA Workshop is needed for MIN and Direct Number writing, useful to write your prl. (be sure to have SPC)

Know what com port your Epic is connected to, select it from the cdma software, if you don't know, look for it under Device Manager--> COMs and Ports)

If you don't see it there, try disconnecting your epic, dialing ##8778# move your USB--Modem/PDA to PDA. Connect your epic to the PC, then dial ##8778# it SHOULD recognize now, I've done it about 30+ times, never fails, so if it is failing for you, make sure you don't have QPST open, as it could be making the com port busy. To avoid COM issues, don't have other USBs plugged in. Also be sure you have the CDMA Technologies and CDC Serial installed when you plug in your epic, as you do need your epic drivers.

Once you're connected, read from phone. Check the Nam tab, make sure the MIN and Directory number are right, not much you can do here unless you have the newest CDMA, which then means you can do all the QPST things from CDMA workshop without QPST. It still carries alot of good info. Plus, you'll need it for writing your PRL in it at least. Use the latest Sprint EVDO PRL under "www.corolada.com/prl" to each their own if you want to google your intercept's PRL and try and find it yourself, or the famous 01115.prl up to you.
************************************************** ************************************************** ****
#4 QPST is needed for programming, you need at least QPST 2.7 Build 355. IF your phone isn't recognized and it comes up as "unknown" and tells you to choose, you have the OLD/WRONG VERSION. For those who don't usually use QPST, install the setup, add a port, according to what you need, if you're on COM3, then you'd add new port... where it says com, you type "COM3" then save. If a phone pulls up under COM3 in this case, then that's your phone correctly recognized as a modem! On the Start Clients Tab, hit Programming Services. Another window will pop up, showing that you want to work with the phone on COM3 or whatever COM you're on. Your Epic should be recognized as: FFA6550-ZRF6500. Hit ok. Alright, now, under the M.I.P. Tab:

M.IP -
profile 0:
enabled:no, nai:blank,ha spi:3, aaa spi: 2,
rev tun: no, home:0.0.0.0, primary:dynamic
profile 1: (active)
enabled:yes, nai:MEID@mdata.vmobl.com,ha spi:21EF,
aaa spi:21EF, rev_tev tun: yes, home:0.0.0.0,
primary:not set

profile 2:
same as 1 with nai: meid@prov.vmobl.com

In the MIP tab, make sure you're: MOB IP Only!!!

Now go to the PPP Config Tab:

pppconfig:
rm,um same
an - userid is meid@mdata.vmobl.com
although password is blank, it is present.

Write to Phone. Don't Disconnect phone until it reboots to Samsung Boot Logo. That Should be it, you're done!!

As of January 21, 2012, this is the latest VM prl in my area, (Oregon, USA) 61007.prl
http://www.mediafire.com/?71uzq3z8zdzirlm
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MMS WORKS thanks to Brooksyx, be sure to throw him a thanks!

As of 2-19-2013, you're required to use CyanogenMod 9 or 10 if you want MMS. (10.1 still experimental)

MMS Thread below:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1491189

Troubleshooting:

Error 16? This can happen if you turn on the donor phone, (which you shouldn't!)

You'll need to get on VM Tech Support and have them reset your line, then call the Sprint Error 16 Department, they'll do the rest from their end. After this, turn BOTH cell-phones off for a few hours, do NOT turn on your donor phone on anymore unless it's a 911 emergency and your epic is dead. Proceed to turning on your epic from now on.

This is a security flag that goes off in rare cases, it has happened to me.

COM PORT ISSUES?
Make sure you don't have Diagnostic Ports only checked on QPST, and select the appropriate COM.

If all else fails, check your wire, your phone, and re-install drivers and software!

Thank you for all your input Qew! As a new member he was helpful in getting me to understand what all settings were important.

Quote:
Originally Posted by qew204 View Post
Shinydude100, have you tried manually putting the HA and AAA password in the phone in the ##3282# menu? When I first put the passwords on my phone it would get 1x then disconnect, even though the icon said 3G. I went to the menu opened each password and it was there so I clicked ok and rebooted the phone. Then it connect to real 3G.
Might not be necessary but optional check the following video by Msnuser111:


Differences I've noticed was that they wrote 2 NV Items, 1192 and 1194. Also, under nai, they also wrote down the meid for the tethered nai.

Even if you can't donate, I'd gladly accept your thanks.
Old Nokia Phone 6000 series< Blackberry8130<LG Imprint MN240<HTC HD2<Epic 4G<Galaxy S4 M919
Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile Tutorial|GSII Widgets for your Epic|
The Following 21 Users Say Thank You to Shinydude100 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jeanjacket812
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: brazil
i have an epic 4g and since yesterday a evo shift and an optimus v on my virgin mobile account . i get everything except mms.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
 
Shinydude100
Old
#3  
Shinydude100's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 458
Posts: 1,578
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanjacket812 View Post
i have an epic 4g and since yesterday a evo shift and an optimus v on my virgin mobile account . i get everything except mms.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
I think MMS is supposed to be the easiest thing to "fix" I'll link you to threads I've found, after I go eat in a sec. Lol. Do you know if the Virgin Mobile "Donor" phone has to be a certain one, or if it has to be a smartphone? I was planning on using a basic virgin mobile phone as the donor..

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Old Nokia Phone 6000 series< Blackberry8130<LG Imprint MN240<HTC HD2<Epic 4G<Galaxy S4 M919
Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile Tutorial|GSII Widgets for your Epic|
 
beezie42
Old
#4  
beezie42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 203
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Traverse City, MI
My epic 4g is threw my virgin mobile account. The only way I got it to work with data talk and text. was using a samsung intercept. I tried with the rumor touch but there locked down so you can't extract the aa/ha keys. I still can't figure out the mms tho.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
Shinydude100
Old
(Last edited by Shinydude100; 21st December 2011 at 11:53 PM.)
#5  
Shinydude100's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 458
Posts: 1,578
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by beezie42 View Post
My epic 4g is threw my virgin mobile account. The only way I got it to work with data talk and text. was using a samsung intercept. I tried with the rumor touch but there locked down so you can't extract the aa/ha keys. I still can't figure out the mms tho.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Hmm.. so if I try doing it through a Kyocera it may not work? Its got 3G, so while not a "smartphone" the general setup settings needed for input are widely available with google and within XDA forums.

I'm just tired of not being able to appreciate my Epic. I love my phone and the 3G radio is like-new. Never used it since I bought it brand new. Been roaming with 1x service using a prepaid carrier that *hint hint* doesn't exist in the state of Oregon, hence, I think its time I switch over to prepaid with Sprint.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Old Nokia Phone 6000 series< Blackberry8130<LG Imprint MN240<HTC HD2<Epic 4G<Galaxy S4 M919
Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile Tutorial|GSII Widgets for your Epic|
 
beezie42
Old
#6  
beezie42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 203
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Traverse City, MI
I tried it with the rumor touch (also 3g) and rumor 2. I wasn't able to extract the aa keys with either phone. Then I bought a very cheap samsung intercept and set up my old account on that phone and was easily able to extract the keys. My phone hasn't had any trouble with data loss or text not comming in either. I still have yet to get the mms set up right tho. Even copied the apn from the virgin mobile phone and nothing still.


Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
Shinydude100
Old
#7  
Shinydude100's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 458
Posts: 1,578
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by beezie42 View Post
I tried it with the rumor touch (also 3g) and rumor 2. I wasn't able to extract the aa keys with either phone. Then I bought a very cheap samsung intercept and set up my old account on that phone and was easily able to extract the keys. My phone hasn't had any trouble with data loss or text not comming in either. I still have yet to get the mms set up right tho. Even copied the apn from the virgin mobile phone and nothing still.


Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Thanks for the info guys. I'll get that Samsung Intercept, and then I'll hunt down an MMS fix and share it with everyone.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
Old Nokia Phone 6000 series< Blackberry8130<LG Imprint MN240<HTC HD2<Epic 4G<Galaxy S4 M919
Epic 4G to Virgin Mobile Tutorial|GSII Widgets for your Epic|
 
beezie42
Old
#8  
beezie42's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 203
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Traverse City, MI
good luck I switched over and never am looking back. 25 bucks for pretty much unlimited everything. Good luck with the mms fix I looked for awhile and had givin up

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
 
voteforcondit
Old
#9  
voteforcondit's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Leominster
i have been looking for instructions on doing such a task
any good links with a walk through on doing things?
 
qew204
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 91
Join Date: Dec 2011
Hi, I was also thinking about using an Epic 4G on VM but never got around to it.
Anyway, I think the MMS issue can be resolved if you use the mms.apk from a custom ROM for the LG Optimus V.

I can post one if you want.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes