Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
View Poll Results: Are you facing this issue?
Yes (details/solution described below) 25 69.44%
No, you must be really unlucky! 11 30.56%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply

"Android OS" suspend process battery drain bug!

OP shardul_seth

23rd December 2011, 04:38 PM   |  #11  
supergaijin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tamuning
Thanks Meter: 225
 
1,010 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
I never had issues on froyo or stock GB, nor on cranium 3.1 (kph) or cranium 5.1 (kpq). I only had it on cm7. thanks to this thread, I discovered I forgot to uncheck background data, and just to be sure, I also deleted the backup transport. I then recharged my phone and reset it to clear the current stats. my stats at the moment are:

95% battery remaning after 4 hours

39% used by cell standby (1.95%)
30% used by android OS (1.5%)
16% used by phone idle (0.8%)
9% used by display (0.45%)
5% used by voice calls (0.25%)
3% used by andrpid system (0.15%)

so OS is still being a hog at the moment.
23rd December 2011, 05:21 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Flag Margao
Thanks Meter: 105
 
355 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemistry01

So why would you take it out? Isnt that bad?

Sent from my GT-I9003 using xda premium

its not required unless you use google backup feature. atleast whenever i flash stuff, i just backup data using apps.
23rd December 2011, 06:05 PM   |  #13  
shardul_seth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,707
 
1,098 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
because it drains your battery!! and data restore does not work for many people, including me, so it is just a waste of battery.
23rd December 2011, 11:51 PM   |  #14  
drajax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CHENNAI
Thanks Meter: 50
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shardul_seth

because it drains your battery!! and data restore does not work for many people, including me, so it is just a waste of battery.

Agreed, I've never seen my data being restored by Google anytime I've flashed my phone. Has anyone ever got it working?

☞★sent from drajax's Galaxy SL!!! *♂ツ
24th December 2011, 08:43 AM   |  #15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
65 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Google backup feature doesn't work for me either. Used other apps like MyBackPro for contacts and sms and Titanim for apps.
Anyway I deleted google backup transport. will update the feedback soon.
thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to SikanderKeynes For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 02:48 PM   |  #16  
shardul_seth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,707
 
1,098 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Talking
Final update:
I have isolated the bug to
1. Google backup transport
2. Organizer widget

I have removed them both, and now my standby drain is as low as 2-6 mA!

Also, I have re-enabled background data and the drain has not come back, so it is excluded.
The Following User Says Thank You to shardul_seth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 03:53 PM   |  #17  
kemistry01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Caloocan
Thanks Meter: 33
 
251 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shardul_seth

Final update:
I have isolated the bug to
1. Google backup transport
2. Organizer widget

I have removed them both, and now my standby drain is as low as 2-6 mA!

Also, I have re-enabled background data and the drain has not come back, so it is excluded.

Where to find it and how to remove it?

Edit: ow okay.i thought it cant be found in system/app. I removed it via root explorer.

Sent from my GT-I9003 using xda premium
Last edited by kemistry01; 26th December 2011 at 04:17 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kemistry01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 05:11 PM   |  #18  
shardul_seth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,707
 
1,098 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
yes, that is correct.
7th June 2012, 11:09 AM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
I have the same problem
I have same problem on Droid 3.
Android OS alway drain many battery used percent.

please help me,
Thanks.
25th November 2012, 05:58 AM   |  #20  
Account currently disabled
Flag gujarat
Thanks Meter: 432
 
1,425 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Thanx for posting it

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:56 AM ----------

Couldn't find Google backup transport lg optimus 2x phone bro and there's no such file in system app I searched with root explorer this file is not in phone also but I'm having this problem ..bought new battery also still my battery sucks in standby mode same as I'm using it like 10% per hour any solution bro..suspend sucks battery but there's no application running

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes