FORUMS

How Strong Is Your Connection? – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Everyone is always talking about their bars. How many bars of WiFi do they … more

OnePlus 2 Announced: Specs, Price and Details

The OnePlus 2 has just had its Virtual Reality Launch event, and at the XDA Office we all … more

A Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services

With the launch of Apple Music, music streaming services have recently gained a lot of … more

An Inside Look at the Redesign of Business Calendar

The much-acclaimed calendar app, Business Calendar, underwent a major design … more

 View Poll Results: Are you facing this issue?

Yes (details/solution described below)
 
26 Vote(s)
70.27%
No, you must be really unlucky!
 
11 Vote(s)
29.73%

"Android OS" suspend process battery drain bug!

1,099 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,721
 
By shardul_seth, Senior Member on 20th December 2011, 05:48 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
23rd December 2011, 03:38 PM |#11  
supergaijin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Honolulu
Thanks Meter: 268
 
More
I never had issues on froyo or stock GB, nor on cranium 3.1 (kph) or cranium 5.1 (kpq). I only had it on cm7. thanks to this thread, I discovered I forgot to uncheck background data, and just to be sure, I also deleted the backup transport. I then recharged my phone and reset it to clear the current stats. my stats at the moment are:

95% battery remaning after 4 hours

39% used by cell standby (1.95%)
30% used by android OS (1.5%)
16% used by phone idle (0.8%)
9% used by display (0.45%)
5% used by voice calls (0.25%)
3% used by andrpid system (0.15%)

so OS is still being a hog at the moment.
 
 
23rd December 2011, 04:21 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag Margao
Thanks Meter: 119
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemistry01

So why would you take it out? Isnt that bad?

Sent from my GT-I9003 using xda premium

its not required unless you use google backup feature. atleast whenever i flash stuff, i just backup data using apps.
23rd December 2011, 05:05 PM |#13  
shardul_seth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,721
 
More
because it drains your battery!! and data restore does not work for many people, including me, so it is just a waste of battery.
23rd December 2011, 10:51 PM |#14  
drajax's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CHENNAI
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shardul_seth

because it drains your battery!! and data restore does not work for many people, including me, so it is just a waste of battery.

Agreed, I've never seen my data being restored by Google anytime I've flashed my phone. Has anyone ever got it working?

☞★sent from drajax's Galaxy SL!!! *♂ツ
24th December 2011, 07:43 AM |#15  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Google backup feature doesn't work for me either. Used other apps like MyBackPro for contacts and sms and Titanim for apps.
Anyway I deleted google backup transport. will update the feedback soon.
thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to SikanderKeynes For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 01:48 PM |#16  
shardul_seth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,721
 
More
Talking
Final update:
I have isolated the bug to
1. Google backup transport
2. Organizer widget

I have removed them both, and now my standby drain is as low as 2-6 mA!

Also, I have re-enabled background data and the drain has not come back, so it is excluded.
The Following User Says Thank You to shardul_seth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 02:53 PM |#17  
kemistry01's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag North Caloocan
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shardul_seth

Final update:
I have isolated the bug to
1. Google backup transport
2. Organizer widget

I have removed them both, and now my standby drain is as low as 2-6 mA!

Also, I have re-enabled background data and the drain has not come back, so it is excluded.

Where to find it and how to remove it?

Edit: ow okay.i thought it cant be found in system/app. I removed it via root explorer.

Sent from my GT-I9003 using xda premium
Last edited by kemistry01; 26th December 2011 at 03:17 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to kemistry01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th December 2011, 04:11 PM |#18  
shardul_seth's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,721
 
More
yes, that is correct.
7th June 2012, 10:09 AM |#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
I have the same problem
I have same problem on Droid 3.
Android OS alway drain many battery used percent.

please help me,
Thanks.
25th November 2012, 04:58 AM |#20  
Account currently disabled
Flag gujarat
Thanks Meter: 432
 
More
Thanx for posting it

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:56 AM ----------

Couldn't find Google backup transport lg optimus 2x phone bro and there's no such file in system app I searched with root explorer this file is not in phone also but I'm having this problem ..bought new battery also still my battery sucks in standby mode same as I'm using it like 10% per hour any solution bro..suspend sucks battery but there's no application running
25th November 2012, 12:44 PM |#21  
cheeyeen's Avatar
Senior Member
Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Mine. Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1353847291611.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	54.3 KB
ID:	1509628
Google Backup Transport was frozen with TitBkup (but not removed) since 2 hr 52 min ago.

ROM: RemICS-JB v3.0
Kernel: Revolution Kernel v1.5FIX; SIO, SmartAssV2, 300 - 1000 MHz
V6 supercharger applied.

EDIT: The % of Android OS is gradually dropping and it's now only 12% vs screen on at 30%... Probably because I was having screen on.

UPDATE: New cycle drained 5% after 1 hr plus. And android OS took 51% of it, it hit 60% the other day. O_O

So I tried googling and found a very simple suggestion, which is to wipe cache in recovery mode. So i did that and rebooted. The Android OS took only 12% instead of 50% now. I'm leaving it on for some time and will report back if it recurs.
Last edited by cheeyeen; 28th November 2012 at 04:48 AM.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes