Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[TOOL][Updated 5.9.12]viperMOD PrimeTime v4.6 | Auto Root/Unroot/Busybox/CMW Flash!

OP -viperboy-

4th January 2012, 06:22 PM   |  #31  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
52 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
I have not tried this, but this should work since it's what works with other devices.

Connect TP to a USB port.
In Windows, right click on the icon "Computer" and then left click on "Properties"
You should see the TP with a yellow exclamation mark indicating missing drivers.
Right click on it and left click "Update Driver Software." Chose browse computer and point it to where the drivers folder is located.
4th January 2012, 06:45 PM   |  #32  
Lock-N-Load's Avatar
Senior Member
Under Your Skin
Thanks Meter: 273
 
1,216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by faxmonkey

I have not tried this, but this should work since it's what works with other devices.

Connect TP to a USB port.
In Windows, right click on the icon "Computer" and then left click on "Properties"
You should see the TP with a yellow exclamation mark indicating missing drivers.
Right click on it and left click "Update Driver Software." Chose browse computer and point it to where the drivers folder is located.


Okay thanks.. it was not exactly like that, a little more convoluted in having to get it to bypass wanting to use the Wizard and asking for the Xp disk, but you set me on the right path.

For PC tards like me, here is what you need to do to install drivers and get root!!

-right click computer
-opens system properties and select Hardware tab
-select device manager tab
-double click the ? mark next to the Asus android devices
-select driver tab
-update driver
-when wizard opens select "no,not at this time" to bypass wizard wanting XP disk install from a specific location so you can manually choose location
-pick where you put the drivers by navigating to the provided drivers folder and pick Android directory in the drivers folder provided
-let them install
-reboot computer
-attach Asus tablet
-click the viperMod primer tool and viola...

Root bitches!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lock-N-Load For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th January 2012, 06:48 PM   |  #33  
Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
two questions
1. does this method leave any trace of a rooted tablet after you unroot?

2. has anyone tried using this method with firmware .29 then unrooting then installing .33 flawlessly?
4th January 2012, 06:50 PM   |  #34  
xperiax10.awesome's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 1,436
 
3,317 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
can this somehow be used for SONY TABLET S??
4th January 2012, 06:57 PM   |  #35  
Senior Member
MO
Thanks Meter: 14
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Awesome! Can't wait to get mine tomorrow! Great job! I hope to see a ViperROM coming soon to go with my evo 3d

Sent from my evo 3d running ViperROM redline
4th January 2012, 07:33 PM   |  #36  
Senior Member
Flag Nashua, NH
Thanks Meter: 58
 
348 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Thank you Viperboy. I can't wait to try this out. To bad I have to wait til I get home because of the stupid Asus data cable. I miss the micro usb.
4th January 2012, 07:40 PM   |  #37  
-viperboy-'s Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag PA
Thanks Meter: 12,910
 
7,699 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smurph82

You are correct I should have said is
Go to the folder where the Primer is extracted
Hold down the Shift key and Right Click in the white space in this open folder NOT ON THE APP
Then select "Open command window here"
Then type "adb devices" without the quotes.
After the adb server starts you should see the device ID of the transformer if not make sure the driver is installed.

I will update the tool to check for the device before it starts. Probably tonight.





Quote:
Originally Posted by rjscott2005

Thanks for the great work! I've sent a small token of my appreciation your way.

The paypal goes to jcase, not me. It's his exploit, I just made it easier for you guys. Please donate to him so he can get a Prime. I appreciate the gesture though





Quote:
Originally Posted by djsaad1

Can someone with root and the .33 firmware, see if they can find the .33 firmware zip file. There should be an ota folder somewhere, where I would guess asus downloads the firmware file to.

Some of us cant get the ota update, so we need the file to update.

Why cant you update? The ota .zip gets deleted once it installs. If you go to the Prime support page, they have the updates all there. You can update that way.





Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase

Dude GOOD JOB ROOTING THAT BOOTLOADER

Trollolol. Seriously tho thanks for all the help

Lmao! If no one saw this, Engadget said I cracked the bootloader lol good times this morning!





Quote:
Originally Posted by aqzgr8estballer1

1. does this method leave any trace of a rooted tablet after you unroot?

2. has anyone tried using this method with firmware .29 then unrooting then installing .33 flawlessly?

Leaves no traces. And no need to uninstall before the OTA or update. Being rooted won't affect that.





Quote:
Originally Posted by xperiax10.awesome

can this somehow be used for SONY TABLET S??



no, it wont. Root uses a files specific to this Tablet.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe-08

Awesome! Can't wait to get mine tomorrow! Great job! I hope to see a ViperROM coming soon to go with my evo 3d

Sent from my evo 3d running ViperROM redline

You will see viperROM here, don't worry

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -viperboy- For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th January 2012, 08:04 PM   |  #38  
leyvatron's Avatar
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 328
 
2,694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
viperboy has entered the Transformer Prime building.
I will try this tonight when I get home.

Question Viper:
my auto rotate and auto brightness stop working after the update. Do you think I should wait for a custom ROM and that will fix it or should I return it? Everything was working fine before the update.

Thanks.
4th January 2012, 08:07 PM   |  #39  
tyvar1's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Stockholm
Thanks Meter: 163
 
836 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Thx for this! i have never root and this will help me alot!
4th January 2012, 08:16 PM   |  #40  
orzech.miron's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Szczecin
Thanks Meter: 19
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Guys, it was my fault... TFP is my first android device (flashing android to my HD2 was in a different way :P) and i didn't know that i need ADB. Now everything is ok and rooted! Thanks! :]

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes