Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,780,028 Members 37,753 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[TOOL][Updated 5.9.12]viperMOD PrimeTime v4.6 | Auto Root/Unroot/Busybox/CMW Flash!

Tip us?
 
faxmonkey
Old
#31  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2007
I have not tried this, but this should work since it's what works with other devices.

Connect TP to a USB port.
In Windows, right click on the icon "Computer" and then left click on "Properties"
You should see the TP with a yellow exclamation mark indicating missing drivers.
Right click on it and left click "Update Driver Software." Chose browse computer and point it to where the drivers folder is located.
 
Lock-N-Load
Old
#32  
Lock-N-Load's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 268
Posts: 1,184
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Under Your Skin
Quote:
Originally Posted by faxmonkey View Post
I have not tried this, but this should work since it's what works with other devices.

Connect TP to a USB port.
In Windows, right click on the icon "Computer" and then left click on "Properties"
You should see the TP with a yellow exclamation mark indicating missing drivers.
Right click on it and left click "Update Driver Software." Chose browse computer and point it to where the drivers folder is located.

Okay thanks.. it was not exactly like that, a little more convoluted in having to get it to bypass wanting to use the Wizard and asking for the Xp disk, but you set me on the right path.

For PC tards like me, here is what you need to do to install drivers and get root!!

-right click computer
-opens system properties and select Hardware tab
-select device manager tab
-double click the ? mark next to the Asus android devices
-select driver tab
-update driver
-when wizard opens select "no,not at this time" to bypass wizard wanting XP disk install from a specific location so you can manually choose location
-pick where you put the drivers by navigating to the provided drivers folder and pick Android directory in the drivers folder provided
-let them install
-reboot computer
-attach Asus tablet
-click the viperMod primer tool and viola...

Root bitches!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lock-N-Load For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aqzgr8estballer1
Old
#33  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Default two questions

1. does this method leave any trace of a rooted tablet after you unroot?

2. has anyone tried using this method with firmware .29 then unrooting then installing .33 flawlessly?
 
xperiax10.awesome
Old
#34  
xperiax10.awesome's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,424
Posts: 3,289
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Singapore

 
DONATE TO ME
can this somehow be used for SONY TABLET S??
do not forget to hit THANKS..


Some Useful Threads..
Must Have Apps for: Xperia Z/ZL, Nexus 5
Themes: WidgetLocker Theme Collection
Icons: Xperia Z Like Icons - Sony Style

Devices Used so far:
SONY K310i, K790i, Xperia X10,Arc,Play,Ray,S, Z,Z1,Xperia Z2
SONY Tablet S,Tablet P,Xperia Tablet Z
SONY VAIO Duo 11, Duo 13, PS VITA
SAMSUNG Galaxy S,S3,Note,Note 2,Note 8,Nexus 10
MICROSOFT Surface RT, Surface Pro
MOTOROLA Moto G
NOKIA 3100, Lumia 920
HTC Desire
LG Nexus 4,Nexus 5, LG G3
ASUS Transformer Book T100
ACER Aspire V5 Touch
ARCHOS Gamepad
APPLE iPhone 4s,iphone 5,iphone 5S,iPad 2,3,ipad Mini,MacBook Air, iPad Air
 
Axe-08
Old
#35  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 262
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MO
Awesome! Can't wait to get mine tomorrow! Great job! I hope to see a ViperROM coming soon to go with my evo 3d

Sent from my evo 3d running ViperROM redline
 
krispy521
Old
#36  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 345
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashua, NH
Thank you Viperboy. I can't wait to try this out. To bad I have to wait til I get home because of the stupid Asus data cable. I miss the micro usb.
Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Asus Transformer Infinity
 
-viperboy-
Old
#37  
-viperboy-'s Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12,837
Posts: 7,684
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smurph82 View Post
You are correct I should have said is
Go to the folder where the Primer is extracted
Hold down the Shift key and Right Click in the white space in this open folder NOT ON THE APP
Then select "Open command window here"
Then type "adb devices" without the quotes.
After the adb server starts you should see the device ID of the transformer if not make sure the driver is installed.
I will update the tool to check for the device before it starts. Probably tonight.





Quote:
Originally Posted by rjscott2005 View Post
Thanks for the great work! I've sent a small token of my appreciation your way.
The paypal goes to jcase, not me. It's his exploit, I just made it easier for you guys. Please donate to him so he can get a Prime. I appreciate the gesture though





Quote:
Originally Posted by djsaad1 View Post
Can someone with root and the .33 firmware, see if they can find the .33 firmware zip file. There should be an ota folder somewhere, where I would guess asus downloads the firmware file to.

Some of us cant get the ota update, so we need the file to update.
Why cant you update? The ota .zip gets deleted once it installs. If you go to the Prime support page, they have the updates all there. You can update that way.





Quote:
Originally Posted by jcase View Post
Dude GOOD JOB ROOTING THAT BOOTLOADER

Trollolol. Seriously tho thanks for all the help

Lmao! If no one saw this, Engadget said I cracked the bootloader lol good times this morning!





Quote:
Originally Posted by aqzgr8estballer1 View Post
1. does this method leave any trace of a rooted tablet after you unroot?

2. has anyone tried using this method with firmware .29 then unrooting then installing .33 flawlessly?
Leaves no traces. And no need to uninstall before the OTA or update. Being rooted won't affect that.





Quote:
Originally Posted by xperiax10.awesome View Post
can this somehow be used for SONY TABLET S??


no, it wont. Root uses a files specific to this Tablet.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe-08 View Post
Awesome! Can't wait to get mine tomorrow! Great job! I hope to see a ViperROM coming soon to go with my evo 3d

Sent from my evo 3d running ViperROM redline
You will see viperROM here, don't worry

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to -viperboy- For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
leyvatron
Old
#38  
leyvatron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 2,555
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles
viperboy has entered the Transformer Prime building.
I will try this tonight when I get home.

Question Viper:
my auto rotate and auto brightness stop working after the update. Do you think I should wait for a custom ROM and that will fix it or should I return it? Everything was working fine before the update.

Thanks.
Follow me and my Android videos on YouTube if you want. Remember to click Thanks and Subscribe.
Join my Facebook group - Everybody is welcome

Google+ Add me
 
tyvar1
Old
#39  
tyvar1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 101
Posts: 551
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Stockholm

 
DONATE TO ME
Thx for this! i have never root and this will help me alot!
 
orzech.miron
Old
#40  
orzech.miron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 125
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Szczecin
Guys, it was my fault... TFP is my first android device (flashing android to my HD2 was in a different way :P) and i didn't know that i need ADB. Now everything is ok and rooted! Thanks! :]

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes