FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

Linux and Android for Vogue [kernel thread]

2,365 posts
Thanks Meter: 4,827
 
By dzo, Senior Recognized Developer on 3rd April 2008, 10:28 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
12th April 2008, 12:43 PM |#141  
Senior Member
Metz
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dferreira

After hard reset, I have about 31MB free to play with... the problem is, when I copy Android to the device... I only have about 10MB free... meaning, we're screwed... damn it.

I have 40MB enough with android on my device what RAMSIZE and ramdisk_size do you use?

Thx in adavnce

@++
 
 
12th April 2008, 01:33 PM |#142  
dferreira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 61
 
Donate to Me
More
set RAMSIZE 0x01900000
set MTYPE 6666
set KERNEL "zImage" (zImage of linwizard)
#set initrd initrd.gz
set initrd "initrd-android" (initrd of android )
set CMDLINE "rootdelay=1 root=/dev/ram0 ramdisk_size=20504 init=/linuxrc rw quiet"
bootlinux

This is what I'm using. It boots the kernel, then android says that it can't write to FS. I think the problem now is on android initrd because if I use the one that comes with Linwizard, it works.
12th April 2008, 05:04 PM |#143  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Can anyone please post a video of this for those of us who are unable to get it running on our devices. I just want to see how it operates on a Touch.
12th April 2008, 06:00 PM |#144  
minty1978's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Gloucester, UK
Thanks Meter: 54
 
More
hi, well I got it working on my touch dual now, after some more digging, I found these files, and booted whilst connected to WMDC and it worked fine
Attached Files
File Type: zip zImage.zip - [Click for QR Code] (899.4 KB, 2547 views)
Last edited by minty1978; 12th April 2008 at 06:02 PM.
13th April 2008, 12:40 AM |#145  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Guys - top work as usual. I'm going to carry a story on this. Managed to get it working on the Touch Dual thanks to the previous post, although I did have to do a few reboots and I doubt I have the correct settings in default.txt.

Here's some YouTube videos I've just done...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bed6KIxZ6zI
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=4KWwv8aF-tI

I'm using these settings in default.txt and it's working every third or fourth attempt currently..

set RAMSIZE 0x07800000
set MTYPE 1667
set KERNEL zImage
#set initrd initrd.gz
set initrd initrd-android
set cmdline "rw quiet"
boot


---

Gears
www.coolsmartphone.com
Last edited by gears; 13th April 2008 at 02:19 AM. Reason: cocked up
13th April 2008, 09:23 AM |#146  
Senior Member
Flag Angers
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
WoW great, its a little bit buggy but, its boot Next step other device (Wizard Oh yhea).

Question: Where you find the Android Kernel Image ?
Last edited by c4software; 13th April 2008 at 10:23 AM.
13th April 2008, 11:40 AM |#147  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You can find the kernel here...

http://code.google.com/p/android-vnc/downloads/list
13th April 2008, 11:47 AM |#148  
Senior Member
Flag Angers
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks a lot
13th April 2008, 08:03 PM |#149  
Senior Member
Flag Angers
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I Try to boot Android image with haret on my wizard, but i get :

RAMDISK: Couldn't find valid RAM disk image starting at 0.
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(1,0)


Edit, with help of linwizard team, i boot the lastest version of Linwizard, now i don't get the error;

linux boot (ok)
Android Boot (Non Ok: Image Too large (2481856-23118181) - largest size is 2516584)
Last edited by c4software; 13th April 2008 at 09:55 PM.
13th April 2008, 10:05 PM |#150  
dferreira's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oulu
Thanks Meter: 61
 
Donate to Me
More
What are the settings you are using for Wizard?
Can you post the zImage you are using?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, linux, vogue
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes