Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,156 Members 46,596 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] original At&t pta apn settings

Tip us?
 
JEANRIVERA
Old
(Last edited by JEANRIVERA; 29th December 2011 at 05:59 AM.) Reason: explanation
#1  
JEANRIVERA's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 311
Posts: 1,380
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CAROLINA

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] original At&t pta apn settings

could anyone with original shipped ROM post original AT&T APN steting on the VIVID that is named PTA

just in case any one is wondering why do i need this is because i just flashed a custom ROM on my VIVID and it does not connect to LTE and i know it s probably an apn setting issue
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JEANRIVERA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thecubed
Old
#2  
thecubed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4281
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Austin, TX

 
DONATE TO ME


There 'ya go! (From my soon-to-be-rooted Vivid)

After putting that in, does LTE work? I'm curious to see...
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to thecubed For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JEANRIVERA
Old
#3  
JEANRIVERA's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 311
Posts: 1,380
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CAROLINA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post


There 'ya go! (From my soon-to-be-rooted Vivid)

After putting that in, does LTE work? I'm curious to see...
Thanks my LTE is working now!!!!

Sent from my HTC Raider X710e using xda premium
 
jrodri29
Old
#4  
jrodri29's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 257
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Jupiter, FL
thanks! just what i needed!
 
borijess
Old
#5  
borijess's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 820
Posts: 5,449
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post


There 'ya go! (From my soon-to-be-rooted Vivid)

After putting that in, does LTE work? I'm curious to see...
I don't see mms protocol on my settings. I just updated my setting and significantly faster with these settings.
 
l2otten
Old
#6  
l2otten's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 46
Join Date: Apr 2006
I've used those strings and nothing works on my vivid except the same apn setting for my old HTC inspire
My vivid is rooted and I am running he ICS
But with those settings trying to use apps that use the internet like Facebook or myyearbook I get unexpected errors wont let me viewpeoples profiles

Sent from my HTC Vivid using xda premium
 
meatwad0222
Old
#7  
meatwad0222's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 271
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston TX
meatwad is very pleased keep up the good work
 
beaups
Old
#8  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 5507
Posts: 2,207
Join Date: Nov 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by l2otten View Post
I've used those strings and nothing works on my vivid except the same apn setting for my old HTC inspire
My vivid is rooted and I am running he ICS
But with those settings trying to use apps that use the internet like Facebook or myyearbook I get unexpected errors wont let me viewpeoples profiles

Sent from my HTC Vivid using xda premium
You need an LTE compatible sim to connect to PTA APN.
 
agentfusion
Old
#9  
agentfusion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 91
Posts: 366
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Baltimore
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post


There 'ya go! (From my soon-to-be-rooted Vivid)

After putting that in, does LTE work? I'm curious to see...
I couldn't, for the life of me, get LTE data connection or use visual voicemail until I saw a post in another thread suggesting the PTA APN, so I searched and your post came up. Same phone as me too! Thanks a lot. Visual Voicemail now works AND I am getting LTE data instead of 3g!

---------- Post added at 04:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:15 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by thecubed View Post


There 'ya go! (From my soon-to-be-rooted Vivid)

After putting that in, does LTE work? I'm curious to see...
H-holy CRRRAAAAAAAAP.

So, I ran a new speed test at mobilespeedtest to replace the test I ran with my SGS almost two years ago, and it was insane. But what gets me the most is that I decided to run the test through my desktop browser too, at the 7MB test.

My Vivid's LTE connection was FASTER than my desktop connection. I have a 25mbit/s connection for my server, with absolutely no data being transferred beyond the speed test, with a 1gbit/s connection between all of the machines connected to my router.

Desktop Results: 10256Kbps (Approx. 10mbit)
LTE Results: 11940Kbps (Approx. 11.6mbit)
Pre-PTA APN Results: 3925Kbps (Approx. 3.8mbit)

Thanks again for PTA APN settings!
Motorola StarTac->Panasonic GD30->Motorola C116->Sony Ericsson Z310->HTC Wizard->Samsung Blackjack->BlackBerry Curve 8310->BlackBerry Bold 9000->HTC Kaiser->Samsung Blackjack 2->HTC Dream->HTC Rhodium->HTC Aria->Samsung Captivate->iPhone 3GS->HTC Vivid->SGS3-> LG G2
Over 20 years of Cellphones, and I found a way to modify every single one!
LG G2
ROM: d3rp-g2 bareback m1
Carrier: Sprint
Amazon Kindle Fire 2
ROM: CM11
 
mg2195
Old
#10  
mg2195's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2604
Posts: 2,973
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: RSM

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by agentfusion View Post
I couldn't, for the life of me, get LTE data connection or use visual voicemail until I saw a post in another thread suggesting the PTA APN, so I searched and your post came up. Same phone as me too! Thanks a lot. Visual Voicemail now works AND I am getting LTE data instead of 3g!

---------- Post added at 04:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:15 PM ----------



H-holy CRRRAAAAAAAAP.

So, I ran a new speed test at mobilespeedtest to replace the test I ran with my SGS almost two years ago, and it was insane. But what gets me the most is that I decided to run the test through my desktop browser too, at the 7MB test.

My Vivid's LTE connection was FASTER than my desktop connection. I have a 25mbit/s connection for my server, with absolutely no data being transferred beyond the speed test, with a 1gbit/s connection between all of the machines connected to my router.

Desktop Results: 10256Kbps (Approx. 10mbit)
LTE Results: 11940Kbps (Approx. 11.6mbit)
Pre-PTA APN Results: 3925Kbps (Approx. 3.8mbit)

Thanks again for PTA APN settings!
Yeah...I get like 23MB down and 8MB up according to speedtest....only ran it once cause I'm on the 200mb plan and each test takes at least 20mb I think...my desktop got an average of 18mb down on speedtest and 3mb up

Sent from my HTC Vivid using Tapatalk 2
Wanna learn to develop/mod/do cool things? Check out this forum here on xda...its a great starting place full of helpful people! (its where i learned to compile from source :P)
Chef Central > Android

Tags
apn, att, lte, pta, settings
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more