FORUMS

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

What Do You Think About Fingerprint Scanners?

More and more phones are featuring fingerprint scanners, and with many promising … more

[Q] Difference between GT-S5830 and GT-S5830I

269 posts
Thanks Meter: 49
 
By situ1962, Senior Member on 22nd January 2012, 11:43 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Friends,I came across an official firmware update for indian galaxy ace GT-S5830I.My phone is GT-S5830.Are these two variants of ace or the same phone?Also will the rom for GT-S5830I work on my GT-S5830?Please somebody clarify?
 
 
23rd January 2012, 03:41 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Hamilton
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Perhaps the I represents "Indian" ?
Anyhow if the latest firmware you're referring to is 2.3.6, I'm currently running that on my S5830 and it works fine.
23rd January 2012, 06:54 AM |#3  
manan001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ahmedabad
Thanks Meter: 332
 
More
can anyone tell the diffrence
23rd January 2012, 06:56 AM |#4  
tj_droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Navi Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,508
 
More
The 'I' refers to an upgraded model. Maybe, the new hugo ace edition or galaxy ace plus. Our phone model is GT-S5830

Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
23rd January 2012, 06:58 AM |#5  
tj_droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Navi Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,508
 
More
No, the ROM from GT-S5830I will not work on our ace if the S5830I refers to Galaxy Ace Plus

Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
23rd January 2012, 07:34 AM |#6  
CallMeVentus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 2,874
 
Donate to Me
More
It's not the Plus , the Plus will have a different code number and NOT GT-S5830

Herpderp Adreno + Tegra.
23rd January 2012, 09:36 AM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bofu

Perhaps the I represents "Indian" ?
Anyhow if the latest firmware you're referring to is 2.3.6, I'm currently running that on my S5830 and it works fine.

Can you please tell which earlier version you were using before upgrading to 2.3.6 latest version. I am currently running DDKQ6 and want to know if i can upgrade it to 2.3.6 also.
23rd January 2012, 09:44 AM |#8  
tj_droid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Navi Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,508
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemini23gm

Can you please tell which earlier version you were using before upgrading to 2.3.6 latest version. I am currently running DDKQ6 and want to know if i can upgrade it to 2.3.6 also.

You can upgrade to 2.3.6 without caring about your baseband version if your phone isn't operator specific.

Sent from my GT-S5830 using xda premium
24th January 2012, 06:53 AM |#9  
manan001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ahmedabad
Thanks Meter: 332
 
More
guys i have checked it galaxy ace plus mode number is diffrent

i downloaded the firmware 2.3.6 from samfirmware but when i select the tar file in odin the odin application close . so i think there is some problem with the tar file if anyone has the correct source file with them please post ... waiting .


and important thing there is no such model like s5830i on samsung website or gsmarena sites ... i think its fake firmware as even odin does not accept it...

can download and check yourself will know what i mean to say...

http://www.hotfile.com/dl/142847523/...1_INU.zip.html
Last edited by manan001; 24th January 2012 at 06:57 AM.
31st January 2012, 03:39 PM |#10  
caronaakk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ahmedabad
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
yes there is s5830i in INDIA
i have recently verify with samsung in ahmedabad that there is update of 2.3.6. for the MODEL NO S5830i ..... but not for s5830....
there are two different model and there are different chipsets ....

there is no update for s5830 of 2.3.5. or later .....
The Following User Says Thank You to caronaakk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 05:49 PM |#11  
caronaakk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ahmedabad
Thanks Meter: 34
 
More
Just find that what's yr phone model no is ?
Go to setting-about phone see yr model no.....

Whether it is s5830 or s5830i ???

Now this two model are different.
So stock ROM of s5830i will not work on s5830.
Odin will be crashed when you try to install s5830i on s5830...
So use only those ROMa which are for s5830 any???
I am using Singapore's ROM works perfectly . And it's official .
you can upgrade any updates through kies if any available....

Sent from my GT-S5830 using XDA App

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes