5,814,981 Members 41,533 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Noob Guide: How to - from stock phone to custom ROM: includes Bali/Voodoo Lagfix

Tip us?
 
FixXxeR186
Old
#41  
FixXxeR186's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado
Default flashing a different rom

i have a noob question. seems like it's been answered in this guide, but i just want to be absolutely sure. never rooted a phone at all before i rooted my SK4G. thanks to this forum i didnt screw up.

i've been running smooth maximus gingerclone for several months now, and i don't think its bad, but id like to try a new ROM. Glorious Overdose specifically, and my noob question is: once i am ready, and have everything backed up, and before i copy the new ROM to the sd card, should i delete the smooth maximus zip file? or is it safe to leave on there and put on the new rom and install anyways?


thanks for bearing with a nub. and thanks for the developer's hard work for the sidekick!
 
JonathanBarca10
Old
#42  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 336
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: San Bernardino
Quote:
Originally Posted by FixXxeR186 View Post
i have a noob question. seems like it's been answered in this guide, but i just want to be absolutely sure. never rooted a phone at all before i rooted my SK4G. thanks to this forum i didnt screw up.

i've been running smooth maximus gingerclone for several months now, and i don't think its bad, but id like to try a new ROM. Glorious Overdose specifically, and my noob question is: once i am ready, and have everything backed up, and before i copy the new ROM to the sd card, should i delete the smooth maximus zip file? or is it safe to leave on there and put on the new rom and install anyways?


thanks for bearing with a nub. and thanks for the developer's hard work for the sidekick!
I think that it would be fine to just leave it on there, but I'm no expert. I say this because when u select to install from a zip, it does so only from the file that you select, which in this case would be glorious overdose. But if you want to be absolutely safe, then you should just delete it. I'm assuming its saved on your computer anyways, so if you want to return to gingerclone, you can always just copy it back and install from that zip.

Well I guess since I'm no expert, I would say just play it safe lol

sent from a mini computer-gloriously overdosed
The Following User Says Thank You to JonathanBarca10 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
yogi2010
Old
#43  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 320
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
it is safe to leave it on, any ROM on your sdcard won't affect anything. just choose the right one when you go to install and you'll be fine
The Following User Says Thank You to yogi2010 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
FixXxeR186
Old
#44  
FixXxeR186's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonathanBarca10 View Post
I think that it would be fine to just leave it on there, but I'm no expert. I say this because when u select to install from a zip, it does so only from the file that you select, which in this case would be glorious overdose. But if you want to be absolutely safe, then you should just delete it. I'm assuming its saved on your computer anyways, so if you want to return to gingerclone, you can always just copy it back and install from that zip.

Well I guess since I'm no expert, I would say just play it safe lol

sent from a mini computer-gloriously overdosed
I appreciate the reply man! makes sense, better safe than brickt.

took my time readin up on all i can, as everyone should do.
and i think im ready to flash some new awesomeness on my SK, and ill holler if i need anymore help thanks!

---------- Post added at 11:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:19 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi2010 View Post
it is safe to leave it on, any ROM on your sdcard won't affect anything. just choose the right one when you go to install and you'll be fine
ok cool! thanks!
 
slinkygn
Old
#45  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
The current ROM Manager version has a CWM recovery specifically for the SK4G... is that usable? The thread with the SK4G CWM recovery image did note that the device info had been submitted for inclusion in a later version, and that was the better part of a year ago; figuring there has to be a way to do this through ROM manager and save new folks a few treacherous steps.
 
Jax184
Old
#46  
Jax184's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 157
Posts: 284
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
I tried it a few days ago and it didn't work. It's possible that I did something wrong though.
 
slinkygn
Old
#47  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2007
It struck me that the automated install of CWM recovery that Rom Manager does probably doesn't take into account having to mount /system first, and that would probably have to be done before having ROM Manager flash the recovery (maybe by using Terminal Emulator to remount the /system partition). But without that, yeah, I'd think it might not work.

EDIT: That being said, even re-mounting in TE and then using ROM Manager is pretty straightforward... may be worth a try.
 
dsule8
Old
#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default Error rooting SK 4G

i have downloaded all the necessary installation and downloads, but when it comes too rooting my sidekick it stops at step # 3. I have the model SGH-T839 version UVKG2. it also says ./psneuter:not found. any help on rooting my phone ?
 
yogi2010
Old
#49  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 320
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dsule8 View Post
i have downloaded all the necessary installation and downloads, but when it comes too rooting my sidekick it stops at step # 3. I have the model SGH-T839 version UVKG2. it also says ./psneuter:not found. any help on rooting my phone ?
are you running an av program? it sounds like your antivirus program removed the critical piece of the rootkit, which it sees as a virus but will not harm your computer. try disabling your antivirus, and downloading and running SuperOneClick again.
 
dsule8
Old
#50  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi2010 View Post
are you running an av program? it sounds like your antivirus program removed the critical piece of the rootkit, which it sees as a virus but will not harm your computer. try disabling your antivirus, and downloading and running SuperOneClick again.
I turned my AV program off and disabled its firewall but this doesn't seem to be the case. I am still stuck on step 3. any other clues?

Tags
bali, custom rom, guide, how to, voodoo lagfix
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes