5,597,397 Members 31,298 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Help kindle fire not recognized

Tip us?
 
DropKickedMurphy
Old
(Last edited by DropKickedMurphy; 9th February 2012 at 06:32 PM.)
#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2011
I'm having the same issue. Rooted my KF couple weeks back using KFU, but didn't install TWRP or FFF. Found a rom I wanted to use, went to install TWRP, and the install failed. Ever since then, I can't get ADB and the KF to communicate. The KF works fine otherwise-- I still have my stock/rooted KF with Go Launcher. But I have no way of doing anything else with it right now. To sum up what I've done up to the point of the issue:

- Used KFU to get full root
- Still had free month of Amazon Prime, so I downloaded Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper to temporarily unroot to watch video
- OTA Rootkeeper failed to re-root once (after many times of going back and forth)
- Downloaded KFU 0.9.3, and went full root once again
- Tried to install TWRP, failed.
- Exited KFU with KF still plugged in
- Got caught in boot screen jail (normal KF boot screen- not FFF or triangle)
- Got back into KFU, reset normal boot- everything cool
And that is the last time KFU has been able to see my KF. Ever since that point, ADB does not recognize it.

So what have I done?

Reinstalled all drivers.
Deleted anything on my computer related to ADB, Android, or SDK
(restarting computer on every change)
Tried on Win7 laptop, tried on WinXP laptop.
[edit] changed the names in android_winusb file to anything I could think of, over and over as part of the above attempts
Used my fresh WinXP desktop(no android or ADB or SDK ever installed on it- just wiped and re-installed WinXP)
Same problem.
Hooked up my Samsung Fascinate to the laptops, reinstalled drivers for that, ADB works and recognizes it fine.
Thought maybe it was stuck in fastboot, tried the "fastboot -i 0x1949 oem idme bootmode 4000" because if it's stuck in fastboot, ADB won't see it
fastboot doesn't see it either - got hung at <waiting for device>- tried hard power off/unplug/replug to no avail

Have I missed anything? Is there a way to use a terminal emulator on the KF itself to do some of these commands?

Thanks everybody.
 
k4955
Old
#22  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Morristown, NJ
@DropKickedMurphy, @b63: @Vashypooh
I have also done all that you have done described below, but never got any help to fix. Randomly suggestions came to re-install drivers, do not use SDK, hold the power button for more than 20 seconds and repeat as many times as possible etc etc, but nothing helps change the status of the KF. I am willing to pay if any one could offer to give new life to my bricked KF instead of paying Amazon.

Reinstalled all drivers.
Deleted anything on my computer related to ADB, Android, or SDK
(restarting computer on every change)
Tried on Win7 laptop, tried on WinXP laptop.
Same problem.
Thought maybe it was stuck in fastboot, tried the "fastboot -i 0x1949 oem idme bootmode 4000" because if it's stuck in fastboot, ADB won't see it
fastboot doesn't see it either - got hung at <waiting for device>- tried hard power off/unplug/replug to no avail. My computer says to insert the disk in the removable drive.

Have I missed anything? Is there a way to use a terminal emulator on the KF itself to do some of these commands?
IPhone 4S iOS 6.1.1 untethered JB using Evasion 1.2
Kindle Fire [ROM][26-06-2012] gedeROM v1.7 Linaro-Swipe Controls
Google Nexus 7 wi-fi Rooted with MoDaCo CyanogenMod Custom ROM r7 (JDQ39-201302210
 
b63
Old
(Last edited by b63; 9th February 2012 at 08:52 PM.)
#23  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 1,615
Join Date: Dec 2011
allthrough i never tried it it should be possible to do the commands from a terminal on the kf - have terminal on mine but not with me - have downloaded it from the market

will try when i get home ...

update: my terminal prog is simply called "terminal emulator" and yes - i can change the bootmode with it - but what then ? how to switch back ?

i think the only long term solution is to get the drivers running

first thing to check is adb_usb.ini in the .android folder in your homepath
- i'm shure you'hv heard it hundred of times but now exactly this happened to me - the sdk overwrote it
- attached a fine one (rename from .txt to .ini)
- have written a quite long post regarding driver installation today:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...76&postcount=6

if you want to uninstall old drivers which you don't see:
xp: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315539/en-us
vista & win7: http://www.petri.co.il/removing-old-...d-windows7.htm

if you still have problems give me a pm ...

and there is nothing to pay - that's what xda is for - to help each other
Attached Files
File Type: txt adb_usb.txt - [Click for QR Code] (136 Bytes, 9498 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to b63 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
k4955
Old
#24  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Morristown, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by b63 View Post
allthrough i never tried it it should be possible to do the commands from a terminal on the kf - have terminal on mine but not with me - have downloaded it from the market

will try when i get home ...

update: my terminal prog is simply called "terminal emulator" and yes - i can change the bootmode with it - but what then ? how to switch back ?

i think the only long term solution is to get the drivers running

first thing to check is adb_usb.ini in the .android folder in your homepath
- i'm shure you'hv heard it hundred of times but now exactly this happened to me - the sdk overwrote it
- attached a fine one (rename from .txt to .ini)
- have written a quite long post regarding driver installation today:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...76&postcount=6

if you want to uninstall old drivers which you don't see:
xp: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315539/en-us
vista & win7: http://www.petri.co.il/removing-old-...d-windows7.htm

if you still have problems give me a pm ...

and there is nothing to pay - that's what xda is for - to help each other
@b63:
In my case Terminal Emulator is out of question, because KF does not boot, stuck in KF logo flashing. After renaming the .txt to .ini in .android folder, adb devices does not find KF at all.
It is encouraging to hear about about XDA willing to help me. How do I get back to adb to work. I tried renaming and did not work.

Thank you
IPhone 4S iOS 6.1.1 untethered JB using Evasion 1.2
Kindle Fire [ROM][26-06-2012] gedeROM v1.7 Linaro-Swipe Controls
Google Nexus 7 wi-fi Rooted with MoDaCo CyanogenMod Custom ROM r7 (JDQ39-201302210
 
b63
Old
(Last edited by b63; 9th February 2012 at 11:27 PM.)
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 1,615
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by k4955 View Post
@b63:
In my case Terminal Emulator is out of question, because KF does not boot, stuck in KF logo flashing. After renaming the .txt to .ini in .android folder, adb devices does not find KF at all.
It is encouraging to hear about about XDA willing to help me. How do I get back to adb to work. I tried renaming and did not work.

Thank you
if you'r on the kf logo "flashing" then the kf tries to start and cannot cause of defect rom or messed partitions
adb commands will not work
do you have fff (custom bootloader - yellow triangle) and/or twrp installed?
only if you have fff & twrp i would suggest to try to boot to recovery:
if you start the kf fastboot is available for some seconds provided by the bootloader hence you can issue a fastboot command to change the bootmode to recovery
would try to issue : "fastboot -i 0x1949 oem idme bootmode 5001"
and the pwr off/on thing - it should catch up the command and finish - another off/on should bring you to twrp
if you have only fff i would suggest to try to boot to fastboot to install twrp:
would try to issue : "fastboot -i 0x1949 oem idme bootmode 4002"
and the pwr off/on thing - it should catch up the command and finish - another off/on should bring you to fastboot (yellow triangle only)
if you have it not tell me ...
 
k4955
Old
#26  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Morristown, NJ
if you'r on the kf logo "flashing" then the kf tries to start and cannot cause of defect rom or messed partitions
adb commands will not work-That is exactly happening. No triangle. Is there any way to fix the defective Rom or messed Partitions?
IPhone 4S iOS 6.1.1 untethered JB using Evasion 1.2
Kindle Fire [ROM][26-06-2012] gedeROM v1.7 Linaro-Swipe Controls
Google Nexus 7 wi-fi Rooted with MoDaCo CyanogenMod Custom ROM r7 (JDQ39-201302210
 
b63
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 1,615
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by k4955 View Post
if you'r on the kf logo "flashing" then the kf tries to start and cannot cause of defect rom or messed partitions
adb commands will not work-That is exactly happening. No triangle. Is there any way to fix the defective Rom or messed Partitions?
yes - but you will need a factory cable to force the kf to fastboot mode
you can build or buy one:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1392693
 
k4955
Old
#28  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Morristown, NJ
@B63:
Thank you for the link. Just ordered the factory cable and will sit tight until the factory cable arrives to save my KF.
IPhone 4S iOS 6.1.1 untethered JB using Evasion 1.2
Kindle Fire [ROM][26-06-2012] gedeROM v1.7 Linaro-Swipe Controls
Google Nexus 7 wi-fi Rooted with MoDaCo CyanogenMod Custom ROM r7 (JDQ39-201302210
 
b63
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 453
Posts: 1,615
Join Date: Dec 2011
if you have your cable here is how to do:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2&postcount=38

You must insert cable, then switch off kindle by pressing button about
20sec and press once again, kindle will be in fastboot.
test with "fastboot devices" and "fastboot getvar product"

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more