FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

hardware keyboard setting question

9th February 2012, 06:31 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
So I'm running cyanogen7 and I've run across a weird issue that I'm sure is just a setting that I messed up somewhere. Anytime I try to use the hardware keyboard, weather in a text field or not, there are certain keys bound to certain applications. For example; if I hit 'b' it takes me to the browser, if I hit 'e' it takes me to email. Can anyone tell me where this setting is so I can turn it off? I just can't seem to find it.
 
 
9th February 2012, 06:53 PM |#2  
VICODAN's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 476
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cortcase

So I'm running cyanogen7 and I've run across a weird issue that I'm sure is just a setting that I messed up somewhere. Anytime I try to use the hardware keyboard, weather in a text field or not, there are certain keys bound to certain applications. For example; if I hit 'b' it takes me to the browser, if I hit 'e' it takes me to email. Can anyone tell me where this setting is so I can turn it off? I just can't seem to find it.

Yes this is a common bug that's supposed to be fixed on the last nightly 255 or UKE.

The settings are in settings -> quick launch.

Long press on each one and press delete.

Only way to get around the bug is to reboot without deleting all the shortcuts.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to VICODAN For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th February 2012, 10:16 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VICODAN

Yes this is a common bug that's supposed to be fixed on the last nightly 255 or UKE.

The settings are in settings -> quick launch.

Long press on each one and press delete.

Only way to get around the bug is to reboot without deleting all the shortcuts.

Thank you very much for showing the root of this issue. I had this problem since November and it always bugged me!
The Following User Says Thank You to NebraskaDan945 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th February 2012, 10:52 PM |#4  
VICODAN's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 476
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NebraskaDan945

Thank you very much for showing the root of this issue. I had this problem since November and it always bugged me!

It's always bugged me too. I told toastcfh to remove it by default from CM7. I will mention this to one_love_420 and ask him to remove this from UKE since toastcfh is usually too busy to respond.
10th February 2012, 05:40 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
That is a really annoying bug! But no big deal if a reboot is the fix.

Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk
10th February 2012, 06:16 PM |#6  
VICODAN's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Jose, CA
Thanks Meter: 476
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by travanx

That is a really annoying bug! But no big deal if a reboot is the fix.

Sent from my PG06100 using Tapatalk

Reboot is only a temporary fix. It constantly happens.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes