How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Change display language

OP InvisibleKnight

16th February 2012, 10:47 AM   |  #1  
InvisibleKnight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Considering how much I enjoyed my dvp I decided to order two of them for a friend of mine. I made sure that they were carrier unlocked and I had them sent from the US. The dvps arrived with factory installed Mango and some t-mo stuff installed (?). I tried an Italian sim card to make sure they were unlocked and it worked perfectly so I just uninstalled the useless apps from t-mo and went in the settings panel to change the language of the device.

I'm able to change everything but the display language. From what I learnt on xda it needs a registry hack to fix this but considering the fact that we can't do that is there another way? My dvp can change the display language with no problem so I thought I could flash these dvps with the rom of my device but it seems a bit extreme to me...


(a cool thing about t-mo dvp is that it can set google as default search provider)
16th February 2012, 07:00 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
You do not necessarily need to mess with the registry to install additional languages. I was able to install the dutch language by using the Windows Phone update application from Microsoft after downloading the language pack and some other update packages from the Windows Update site. The links to these packages can be found here.

It may require an dev unlocked phone though, but I cannot be certain for that... I used ChevronWP7.
Last edited by Ascario; 16th February 2012 at 07:03 PM.
3rd April 2012, 06:30 PM   |  #3  
InvisibleKnight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
I successfully did the cab sender method but the display language is still "unclickable", any advice?
27th August 2012, 03:43 PM   |  #4  
InvisibleKnight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by InvisibleKnight

I successfully did the cab sender method but the display language is still "unclickable", any advice?

Anyone? I really need to change the language.
28th August 2012, 05:05 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
94 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Someone in the update cab thread was saying that the DVP only allows you to use the english language pack. I don't know if this is true, or whether having a developer unlocked phone would help.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=28064528

Ascario, did you install the Dutch language on a DVP, or was it another Windows Phone model?
28th August 2012, 04:42 PM   |  #6  
InvisibleKnight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technosquid

Someone in the update cab thread was saying that the DVP only allows you to use the english language pack. I don't know if this is true, or whether having a developer unlocked phone would help.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=28064528

Ascario, did you install the Dutch language on a DVP, or was it another Windows Phone model?

That could be true. My dvp is dev unlocked but my subscription is expired and I can't unlock the other devices. I guess I'll have to wait 'till someone finds the way to unlock the damn dvp.
31st August 2012, 01:00 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Technosquid

Someone in the update cab thread was saying that the DVP only allows you to use the english language pack. I don't know if this is true, or whether having a developer unlocked phone would help.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=28064528

Ascario, did you install the Dutch language on a DVP, or was it another Windows Phone model?

I did install the Dutch Language on my DVP. I have to admit I was surprised it actually worked and "Nederlands" became one of the options in the language menu. I have to add though that I have a German DVP, Italian was already one of the options. If I'm not mistaken, there is a difference between the US and European firmware. You basicly need a European DVP to add other European languages, except for Spanish perhaps.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ascario For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st September 2012, 06:38 PM   |  #8  
InvisibleKnight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 1
 
38 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
do we have the .ffu of the european firmware? if so, is it safe to flash that firmware on US DVPs?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes