FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Dual channel HSPA

863 posts
Thanks Meter: 138
 
By kr3w1337, Senior Member on 19th February 2012, 07:42 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Just wanted to share that using the Telus modem on the skyrocket leads to better speeds on HSPA for me. Reason being that the Telus modem has dual channel HSPA enabled so it should theoretically hit speeds of 42 mbps.

The modem can be found here. It is the Telus KJ3 modem.

This would work fine for both Rogers and AT&T users since Telus operates on the same frequencies. Share your experiences below if you try this please!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kr3w1337 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
19th February 2012, 08:21 AM |#2  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Princeton Tx
Thanks Meter: 411
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks! i will give it a go.

Is it just thst radio or other tmo radios as well? i have been using kj7 ...will try the other

Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA App
Last edited by 00mred00; 19th February 2012 at 08:23 AM.
19th February 2012, 08:22 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00mred00

Thanks! i will give it a go.

Is it just thst radio or other tmo radios as well?

Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA App

Only that one specific one.
19th February 2012, 08:37 AM |#4  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Princeton Tx
Thanks Meter: 411
 
Donate to Me
More
Well i didnt get far. it appears that i hit the magic 2gb number and was throttled just as I tried this :/



Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA App
19th February 2012, 08:45 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 00mred00

Well i didnt get far. it appears that i hit the magic 2gb number and was throttled just as I tried this :/



Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA App

Haha ****ty AT&T :/ ... Rogers doesn't have unlimited but at least they don't throttle ... I have 6 gb totally unthrottled which gets abused everyday hehe
19th February 2012, 08:53 AM |#6  
00mred00's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Princeton Tx
Thanks Meter: 411
 
Donate to Me
More
Yeah not sure what their deal is...all systems are currently down..web, ussd and phone in customer service

I will try again tomorrow eve. thanks again for posting!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by kr3w1337

Haha ****ty AT&T :/ ... Rogers doesn't have unlimited but at least they don't throttle ... I have 6 gb totally unthrottled which gets abused everyday hehe



Sent from my SGH-T989 using XDA App
19th February 2012, 01:12 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 257
 
More
Am interested to see the results of your testing. Rogers and at&t don't have dual channel hspa on their network. Bell telus and T-Mobile do.

I use this modem on my device because I am on bell with good results.

However, I also use it as there is no lte in my area. If you use this modem you will not have lte as its not in there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to y2whisper For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2012, 01:59 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 138
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2whisper

Am interested to see the results of your testing. Rogers and at&t don't have dual channel hspa on their network. Bell telus and T-Mobile do.

I use this modem on my device because I am on bell with good results.

However, I also use it as there is no lte in my area. If you use this modem you will not have lte as its not in there.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium

I don't have LTE in my area anyways so it doesn't matter. Rogers I think does have dual channel HSPA because the galaxy tab or some of the other stuff they sell uses it.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
19th February 2012, 03:14 PM |#9  
So does this modem support lte?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk
19th February 2012, 05:23 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 257
 
More
Nope they may use similar devices but have the functionality turned off since they dont support it.

I.e. the HTC raider (vivid) check out the specs of the rogers version vs bell both the same except the hspa speeds (21 vs 42)

At the same time. It doesn't hurt to instal it only when you venture into an lte are. For that I keep The rogers/att radios on my SD card so I can just flash them on.



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
19th February 2012, 05:39 PM |#11  
orlandoxpolice's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 242
 
More
this modem + APN bypass might make LTE unnecessary

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes