5,600,571 Members 33,005 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Moving apps to SD?

Tip us?
 
aaront1988
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leyland, Lancashire
Default Moving apps to SD?

Hi folks,

Does anyone know how to move apps over to the SD card without it freezing or rendering the app unusable?

I move the app and then the phone says "SD card removed, please insert new card" I try to start the app and it won't work.


Cheers
Aaron
 
Gis D. Phoenix
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaront1988 View Post
Hi folks,

Does anyone know how to move apps over to the SD card without it freezing or rendering the app unusable?

I move the app and then the phone says "SD card removed, please insert new card" I try to start the app and it won't work.


Cheers
Aaron
I have the same problem
 
whitealien
Old
#3  
whitealien's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 127
Posts: 968
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris

 
DONATE TO ME
What ROM, Radio, Kernel, formatted system (ext2 or ext4?)
REVIEW [09/01/12]: [REVIEW] Nokia Lumia 800 and Windows Phone 7.5 [update: 24.SEP.2012]
ROM [10/12/11]: [ROM][Sense 2.1] Heroine ++ WWE base 3.36.405.1
Radio: 63.18.55.06PU_6.35.15.14
Kernel:Flykernel-13 2.6.29

---------------------------
[18/12/11] NOKIA LUMIA 800
[27/11/09] HTC HERO [SOLD]
---------------------------
If you like my work then you can or click on THANKS
 
Gis D. Phoenix
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2011
2.6.25 kernel + casacristo's RLS18 ROM, radio 1.65
 
aaront1988
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leyland, Lancashire
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gis D. Phoenix View Post
2.6.25 kernel + casacristo's RLS18 ROM, radio 1.65
Running same setup, but on 1.59 radio. On POLA200.
 
miazza
Old
(Last edited by miazza; 23rd February 2012 at 12:09 PM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 316
Join Date: Apr 2009
I have the same issue and now I have corrupted my SD.
Nedded to full format and reistall the ROM from skratch

Do any of you tried apps2SK or link2SD ?

Thanks

miazza

Update

I have reinstalled the system from skratch and now installed link2sd on an external 8Gb SD.
I made first partition 7 Gb FAT 32 Primary and second partition 1 Gb Ext2 Primay (both shall be primary).
Copy all your SD data to the FAT32 one than insert it in the mobile and boot.
I everything goes well, now you should see your FAT32 partition.
Now install Link2SD from the market (it is free) and follow the instructions.
You need to reboot once more and the mobile is OK. All your apps will be stored in SD.

Enjoy.

miazza
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

TasGear: A Tasker Extension for the Samsung Galaxy Gear

With wearable technology taking center stage this year, one can only expect more … more

Intelligently Place Contacts on Your Home Screen with CallWho Widget

There are plenty of ways to get your contacts to show up on your … more

Control TWRP from within Android with TWRP Coordinator

You may recall that back when TWRP2 introduced a couple of years ago, it brought with … more

Keep Track of Everything Your Device Does with Event Logger

Regardless of their OS choice, computing power users generally share one common … more