Post Reply

[Q] Flashing the Radio?

OP michelbites

20th February 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #1  
michelbites's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Bennington, VT
Thanks Meter: 7
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
If someone can be kind enough to explain:

What is the reason for flashing the radio hardware?
20th February 2012, 11:19 PM   |  #2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
5,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Well, the radio allows your phone to access and relay signal from carrier towers. From what I have learned, people install different radios in an attempt to boost signal reception and data connectivity in their respective area which in turn impacts battery life. No one radio is best for everyone because various contributing factors can impact your and my cellular reception. These factors include proximity to towers, environmental obstacles (mountains, forest areas), the makeup of the building your are in, number of users connecting to those same towers, etc. The less factors in your surroundings then the less time your phone's radio spends searching for a strong signal. The stronger your connection, the better your battery life should be. For most roms your accurate signal strength is displayed in:

Settings/About Phone/Network/Signal Strength

Edit: Also, the radios that users install is software although it affects the hardware radio of the phone.
Last edited by SlimSnoopOS; 20th February 2012 at 11:23 PM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2012, 03:42 AM   |  #3  
michelbites's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Bennington, VT
Thanks Meter: 7
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
Talking
Thank you so much. I was confused about it till now.
22nd February 2012, 05:20 PM   |  #4  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
5,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelbites

Thank you so much. I was confused about it till now.

My pleasure, feel free to ask away if you have any other questions/concerns.
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2012, 05:32 PM   |  #5  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,219
 
6,484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS

Well, the radio allows your phone to access and relay signal from carrier towers. From what I have learned, people install different radios in an attempt to boost signal reception and data connectivity in their respective area which in turn impacts battery life. No one radio is best for everyone because various contributing factors can impact your and my cellular reception. These factors include proximity to towers, environmental obstacles (mountains, forest areas), the makeup of the building your are in, number of users connecting to those same towers, etc. The less factors in your surroundings then the less time your phone's radio spends searching for a strong signal. The stronger your connection, the better your battery life should be. For most roms your accurate signal strength is displayed in:

Settings/About Phone/Network/Signal Strength

Edit: Also, the radios that users install is software although it affects the hardware radio of the phone.

Good explanation.
The Following User Says Thank You to synisterwolf For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd February 2012, 05:36 PM   |  #6  
normanx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lakeland Florida
Thanks Meter: 20
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Well said!

Sent from my ADR6300 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to normanx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2012, 04:04 AM   |  #7  
joeyz400's Avatar
Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 3
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Can you flash a new radio without being rooted?
28th March 2012, 04:22 AM   |  #8  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 923
 
3,138 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyz400

Can you flash a new radio without being rooted?

Yes but you can only reflash the current or a newer radio. Without s-off you cant downgrade to an older one. However this can only be done with an official signed ruu, which will also update the whole phone.
Last edited by cmlusco; 28th March 2012 at 04:25 AM.
30th March 2012, 03:50 PM   |  #9  
reeseman04's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Does HTC document what they are changing in the radio releases?
30th March 2012, 04:11 PM   |  #10  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,982
 
5,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeseman04

Does HTC document what they are changing in the radio releases?

The most documented info I've ever seen in relation to updated radios is when you read the pdf outlines on Verizonwireless.com for OS updates for Froyo and GB.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
flashing, radio
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes