Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,966 Members 41,984 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Flashing the Radio?

Tip us?
 
michelbites
Old
#1  
michelbites's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 99
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bennington, VT

 
DONATE TO ME
Question [Q] Flashing the Radio?

If someone can be kind enough to explain:

What is the reason for flashing the radio hardware?
Yea I'm a n00b...
__________________
Device: Samsung Galaxy S III AT&T
Rom(s): AOKP (Kitkat) Task650 (3.30.2014) (AT&T)
Launcher: Google Launcher
Kernel: 3.4.84-cyanogenmod-g5447e5e
CWR: 6.0.4.7 Touch
Rooted With: ODIN
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
(Last edited by SlimSnoopOS; 20th February 2012 at 11:23 PM.)
#2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1914
Posts: 5,412
Join Date: Jan 2011
Well, the radio allows your phone to access and relay signal from carrier towers. From what I have learned, people install different radios in an attempt to boost signal reception and data connectivity in their respective area which in turn impacts battery life. No one radio is best for everyone because various contributing factors can impact your and my cellular reception. These factors include proximity to towers, environmental obstacles (mountains, forest areas), the makeup of the building your are in, number of users connecting to those same towers, etc. The less factors in your surroundings then the less time your phone's radio spends searching for a strong signal. The stronger your connection, the better your battery life should be. For most roms your accurate signal strength is displayed in:

Settings/About Phone/Network/Signal Strength

Edit: Also, the radios that users install is software although it affects the hardware radio of the phone.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
michelbites
Old
#3  
michelbites's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 99
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bennington, VT

 
DONATE TO ME
Thank you so much. I was confused about it till now.
Yea I'm a n00b...
__________________
Device: Samsung Galaxy S III AT&T
Rom(s): AOKP (Kitkat) Task650 (3.30.2014) (AT&T)
Launcher: Google Launcher
Kernel: 3.4.84-cyanogenmod-g5447e5e
CWR: 6.0.4.7 Touch
Rooted With: ODIN
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#4  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1914
Posts: 5,412
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by michelbites View Post
Thank you so much. I was confused about it till now.
My pleasure, feel free to ask away if you have any other questions/concerns.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following User Says Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
synisterwolf
Old
#5  
synisterwolf's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2125
Posts: 6,294
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS View Post
Well, the radio allows your phone to access and relay signal from carrier towers. From what I have learned, people install different radios in an attempt to boost signal reception and data connectivity in their respective area which in turn impacts battery life. No one radio is best for everyone because various contributing factors can impact your and my cellular reception. These factors include proximity to towers, environmental obstacles (mountains, forest areas), the makeup of the building your are in, number of users connecting to those same towers, etc. The less factors in your surroundings then the less time your phone's radio spends searching for a strong signal. The stronger your connection, the better your battery life should be. For most roms your accurate signal strength is displayed in:

Settings/About Phone/Network/Signal Strength

Edit: Also, the radios that users install is software although it affects the hardware radio of the phone.
Good explanation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Internet
You learn something new everyday. Unless you have a brain injury, then it's all pretty much yelling and coloring.
The Following User Says Thank You to synisterwolf For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
normanx
Old
#6  
normanx's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 247
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lakeland Florida
Well said!

Sent from my ADR6300 using xda premium
Samsung Galaxy Nexus Rooted
CM10.0, Tiny Kernel 4.3.0

https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NT...rrals_fb_post9
The Following User Says Thank You to normanx For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
joeyz400
Old
#7  
joeyz400's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 75
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New York
Can you flash a new radio without being rooted?
 
cmlusco
Old
(Last edited by cmlusco; 28th March 2012 at 04:25 AM.)
#8  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyz400 View Post
Can you flash a new radio without being rooted?
Yes but you can only reflash the current or a newer radio. Without s-off you cant downgrade to an older one. However this can only be done with an official signed ruu, which will also update the whole phone.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
reeseman04
Old
#9  
reeseman04's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 36
Join Date: Feb 2012
Does HTC document what they are changing in the radio releases?
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#10  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1914
Posts: 5,412
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeseman04 View Post
Does HTC document what they are changing in the radio releases?
The most documented info I've ever seen in relation to updated radios is when you read the pdf outlines on Verizonwireless.com for OS updates for Froyo and GB.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable

Tags
flashing, radio
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes